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Disclaimer:

The creation and production of this 2022 Tool Kit for Attorneys Representing Parents and
Children in Child Welfare Cases is funded by the Children’s Commission through the federal
Court Improvement Program. The materials in this tool kit should not be construed as an
advisory or ruling by or from the Supreme Court of Texas or any other court on specific cases
or legal issues. These materials are solely intended to address the improvement of the law,
the legal system, and the administration of justice. The information included in this tool kit
was originally released in August 2020 and updated in March 2022.
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As part of the ongoing commitment to elevate the practice of law in child welfare cases, the
Children’s Commission is pleased to share this Tool Kit for Attorneys Representing Parents
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Please note that while this tool kit is designed for those representing parents and children, it
1s among the many resources which the Children’s Commission has developed, supported, and
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Overview: Child Welfare Case Flow Chart

Removal/Start of Case

Emergency Adversary Hearing

N/ A\

Ex Parte Hearing

Status Hearing

No later than 60 days alter
CPS granted TMC, court must
review efforts to locate and
serve parents, contents of child’s

* Before Removal
+ After Removal

Within 14 Days service plan, and related issues.
Within 14 days of Ex Parte
Hearing, court adjudicates V

CPS petition for Temporary
Managing Conservatorship

1°** Permanency Hearing
(TMC) of the child.*

Before Final Order Within 180 Days

*Subject to extension
for good cause.

Monitored
Return
The dismissal date can
be extended as part of
a monitored return.
Please see the expanded
chart in the Dismissal
Date section (page 75).

New Trial/Mistrial
or Remand

Court must set dismissal
date no later than 180 days
after new trial/mistrial
granted or remand ordered
and set new trial date.

No later than 180 days after CPS
granted TMC, court conducts
comprehensive review of child’s status
and permanency plan.

\4

Subsequent Permanency Hearing
Before Final Order Within 120 Days

Extension of Time

Dismissal date extended
180 days if court finds that
extraordinary circumstances
& best interest necessilate
child remaining in TMC.

Final Order

Court adjudicates termination of
parental rights and/or Appointment
of Permanent Managing
Conservatorship (PMC).

V

Permanency Hearing
After Final Order

No later than 90 days after final order

entered if CPS named PMC & parental

righls terminaled; otherwise, 6 months
after final order. Court must review

permanency elforts every 6 months until

CPS no longer has conservatorship.

Automatic
Dismissal

No later than first
Monday following one
vear anniversary of CPS
appointment as TMC, a case
is dismissed by operation
ol law, UNLESS the courl
commences Lrial, grants a
single extension, OR orders
monitored return. Court
must give notice of dismissal
60 days before.

Appeals
Rules of Accelerated Appeals
apply. Notice of appeal must be
filed within 20 days alter the
order of judgment is signed.

S[erpuassy [es9o]
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Duties of Parents’ and Children’s Attorneys

In addition to the duties that every attorney owes their client under the Texas Disciplinary
Rules of Professional Conduct, there are specific statutory duties for attorneys appointed to
represent parents and children in child welfare cases.

Duties of parents’ and children’s attorneys apply equally to COS/MTP cases as they do to cases
where DFPS has Temporary Managing Conservatorship (TMC). Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(g)-

(h).
Duties for Both Parents’ and Children’s Attorneys

Interview the client after initial appointment within a reasonable amount of time unless the
client’s location is unknown (for child client, applies to age four or older). Tex. Fam. Code §§
107.0131(a)(1)(A)(1), 107.003(a)(1)(A)@).

Interview each person who has significant knowledge of the case. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)
(1)(A)(@1), 107.003(a)(1)(A)(G1).

Interview the parties to the suit. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(A)(i11), 107.003(a)(1)(A)(@11).

Conduct an independent investigation into the facts of the case. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)
(1)(B), 107.003(a)(1)(D).

Obtain and review copies of all court files in the suit during the attorney’s course of representation.
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(C)(1), 107.003(a)(1)(E).

Conduct formal discovery under the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure or a local discovery control
plan. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(C)(i1), 107.003(a)(1)(F).

Take any action consistent with the client’s interests that the attorney considers necessary to
expedite the proceedings. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(D), 107.003(a)(1)(G).

Encourage settlement and the use of alternative forms of dispute resolution. Tex. Fam. Code §§
107.0131(a)(1)(E), 107.003(a)(1)(H).

Review and sign, or decline to sign, a proposed or agreed order affecting the client. Tex. Fam.
Code § 107.0131(a)(1)(F), 107.003(a)(1)(I).

Meet before each court hearing with the client (for child client, applies to age four or older).Tex.
Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(G), 107.004(d)(1).

Abide by the client’s objectives for representation (for child client, child must be competent to
form an attorney-client relationship and form that relationship). Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)
(1)(H), 107.004(a)(2).

Become familiar with the American Bar Association’s standards of practice for attorneys in abuse
and neglect cases. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.0131(a)(1)(I), 107.004(a)(3).

Complete at least three hours of continuing legal education relating to representing parents
and at least three hours of continuing legal education relating to representing children in child
protection cases as soon as practicable after the attorney ad litem is appointed, unless the court
finds that the attorney ad litem has experience equivalent to that education. Tex. Fam. Code §§
107.0131(a)(1)(J), 107.004(Db).



Additional Duties for a Child’s Attorney

Interview and interact with the child in a developmentally appropriate manner. Tex. Fam. Code
§§ 107.003(a)(1)(A)(1), 107.004(a).

Elicit in a developmentally appropriate manner the name of any adult, particularly an adult
residing in the child’s community, who could be a relative or designated caregiver. Tex. Fam.
Code § 107.003(b)(4).

Advise the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(a)(1).

Meet with the child or meet with the person whom the child ordinarily resides if the child is
younger than four years of age, with sufficient time before the hearing to allow the attorney to
prepare in accordance with the child’s expressed objectives and meet in a private setting that
allows for confidential communication. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.004(d)(1)(B), 107.004(d-1).

Exceptions — If the court:

e Findsatthat hearingthatthe attorney has shown good cause why the attorney’s compliance
1s not feasible or, in the case of a child, not in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code
§107.004(e); or

e Onashowing of good cause, authorizes the attorney to comply by conferring with the parent
or child, as appropriate, by telephone or video conference. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(e).

Report to the court whether the attorney met with the child prior to each hearing, and if not,
request the court to find that compliance was not feasible or not in the best interest of the child.
Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(d)(2).

Consider the impact on the child in formulating the attorney’s presentation of the child’s expressed
objectives of representation to the court. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(a)(1)(C).

Determine whether the child’s educational needs and goals have been identified and addressed.
Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(d-2).

Review periodically the child’s safety and well-being, including any effects of trauma to the
child, and take appropriate action including requesting a review hearing when necessary to
address issues of concern. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(d-3).

Complete a training program regarding trauma-informed care and the effect of trauma on
children in the conservatorship of DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004(b-1)(1).

Obtain and review copies of relevant records relating to the child, including school, law
enforcement, social services, medical and mental health records. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.003(a)
(1)(E), 107.006.

Review the medical care provided to the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(1).

Elicit, in a developmentally appropriate manner, the child’s opinion on the medical care provided.
Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(2).

DUTIES FOR CHILDREN AT LEAST 16 YEARS OF AGE

e Advise the child of the child’s right to request the court to authorize the child to consent to
their own medical care. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3)(A).

e Ascertain whether the child has received a certified copy of their birth certificate, social
security card or replacement card, driver’s license (DL) or state identification card, or any
other document DFPS determines appropriate. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3)(B).

S[erpuassy [es9o]

11



Legal Essentials

12

SUBSTITUTED JUDGMENT

In limited circumstances, a child’s attorney may decline to follow their client’s direction and
instead present to the court a position the attorney determines will serve the best interest of the
child. If a guardian ad litem has been appointed, the attorney must consult with the guardian
ad litem for the child but is not bound by the guardian ad litem’s opinion or recommendation.
However, the attorney for the child must ensure that the guardian’s opinion and recommendation
regarding the best interest of the child is presented to the court.

The attorney may only substitute their judgment for their child client’s direction if the attorney
determines that the child cannot meaningfully formulate the child’s objectives of representation
because the child:

e Lacks sufficient maturity to understand and form the attorney-client relationship;

e Despite appropriate legal counseling continues to express objectives of representationthat
would be seriously injurious to the child; or

e For any other reason is incapable of making reasonable judgments and engaging in
meaningful communication. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.008.

Duties of a Child’s Attorney Appointed in the Dual Role

Conduct an investigation to determine the best interests of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.002(a)
(1).

Consider the child’s expressed objectives without being bound by those objectives. Tex. Fam.
Code § 107.002(b)(3).

Interview each person who has significant knowledge of the case including educators and child
welfare service providers. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.002(b)(1)(B).

If substituting judgment, the attorney may present to the court a position the attorney determines
will serve the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.008.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: In some Texas jurisdictions, long-standing practice
has been to appoint an attorney serving in the dual role of attorney and guardian
litem to every child in a child welfare case. However, an attorney who serves in the
dual role may face an ethical dilemma when representing a child who is capable of
forming an attorney-client relationship and directing representation, if the child’s
objectives are incompatible with the attorney’s assessment of the child’s best interest,
but the child’s objectives do not meet the standard required to substitute judgment.
The dilemma can be resolved by requesting appointment of another person to serve
in the role of guardian ad litem for the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.0125.

Duties for an Attorney Appointed to an Alleged Father

Conduct an investigation regarding the petitioner’s due diligence in locating the alleged father,
including verifying that the petitioner has obtained a certificate of the results of a search of the
paternity registry.

Interview any party or other person with significant knowledge of the case who may have
information relating to the identity or location of the alleged father.

Conduct an independent investigation to identify or locate the alleged father, as applicable.



If the alleged father is identified and located, the attorney ad litem shall:
e Provide to each party and the court the alleged father’s name and address and any other
locating information; and

e If appropriate, request the court’s approval for the attorney ad litem to assist the
alleged father in establishing paternity.

If the alleged father is adjudicated to be a parent of the child and is determined by the court
to be indigent, and opposes the termination, the court may appoint the attorney ad litem to
continue to represent the father’s interests pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 107.013.

If unable to identify or locate the alleged father, the attorney ad litem must submit to the court
a written summary of the attorney ad litem’s efforts to identify or locate the alleged father with
a statement that the attorney ad litem was unable to identify or locate the alleged father. Tex.
Fam. Code § 107.0132.

Duties for an Attorney Appointed to Represent An Unknown Parent,
Unlocated Parent, or Parent Who Has Been Served by Publication

Conduct an investigation regarding the petitioner’s due diligence in locating the parent.

Interview any party or other person with significant knowledge of the case who may have
information relating to the identity or location of the parent.

Conduct an independent investigation to identify or locate the parent, as applicable.

If the attorney identifies and locates the parent, the attorney must:

e Provide to each party and the court the parent’s name and address and any other
available locating information unless the court finds that:

o disclosure of a parent’s address is likely to cause that parent harassment,
serious harm, or injury; or

o the parent has been a victim of family violence; and

e If appropriate, assist the parent in making a claim of indigence for the appointment of an
attorney.

If unable to identify or locate the parent, the attorney ad litem must submit to the court a written
summary of the attorney ad litem’s efforts to identify or locate the parent with a statement that
the attorney ad litem was unable to identify or locate the parent. On receipt of the summary, the
court must discharge the attorney from the appointment. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.014.

S[erpuassy [es9o]
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Burden of Proof

Sufficient to Satisfy a Person of Ordinary Prudence and Caution

Ordinary Prudence and Caution is similar to the Probable Cause standard required for a search
warrant. Ordinary Prudence and Caution requires a minimal showing of evidence, less than a
preponderance, but enough to persuade a reasonable person. Applies to:

e Initial Hearing in a COS/MTP petition. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(m).

e Ex Parte Removal Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.101;

e Taking Possession of a Child in Emergency Without a Court Order. Tex. Fam. Code §
262.104; and

e Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201.

Preponderance of the Evidence

Preponderance is evidence that is of greater weight or is more convincing than the evidence
that is offered in opposition to it. A metaphor to illustrate the concept of preponderance is
the scales of justice rising slightly higher on one side; that is enough to meet the standard of
Preponderance of the Evidence. It is the standard of proof generally used in civil cases. Applies
to:

e 60-Day Status Review Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005;

e Permanency Hearing before Final Order. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005;

e Final Order Awarding Permanent Managing Conservatorship (PMC) (without termination).
Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005;

e Permanency Hearing after Final Order. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005; and
e Adoption Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005.

Clear and Convincing

Clear and Convincing is the measure or degree of proof that will produce in the mind of the trier
of fact a firm belief or conviction as to the truth of the allegations sought to be established. It is
greater than a Preponderance of the Evidence but not as much as Beyond a Reasonable Doubt.

Applies to:

e Termination of Parental Rights when Indian Child Welfare Act ICWA) does not apply.Tex.
Fam. Code § 161.001; and

e An order placing a child in foster care under ICWA; 25 U.S.C.§ 1912(e).

Beyond a Reasonable Doubt

The Beyond a Reasonable Doubt standard is met when the trier of fact is fully satisfied, or
entirely convinced that something occurred. Applies to:

e Termination cases subject to ICWA. 25 U.S.C. §1912(f).

Required Burden of Proof

Sufficient to

. Clear and Beyond a
satisfy a person of
ordinary prudence << Preponderance << gg?(;f;zg;ng << r((e)elllsl;)tnable

and caution



Best Interest of the Child

Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship,
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

Factors Determining Best Interest

The “Holley factors” below are a non-exclusive list of factors to consider:

e Desires of the child;

e Emotional and physical danger to child now and in future;

e Parental abilities;

e Programs available to assist parents;

e Plans for the child by individuals or agency seeking custody;

e Stability of home or proposed placement;

e Any acts or omissions of a parent indicating the relationship is not proper; and

e Any excuse for the acts or omissions of a parent. Holley v. Adams, 544 S. W. 2d 367 (Tex.
1976).

Additional factors to consider in determining a child’s best interest are outlined in Tex. Fam.
Code § 263.307 and are included but not limited to:

e Child’s age and physical and mental vulnerabilities;
e Frequency and nature of out-of-home placements;

e History of abusive or assaultive conduct by the child’s family or others with access to
home;

e History of substance abuse by child’s family or others with access to home;
e Whether the perpetrator of the harm to child has been identified; and
e Special considerations for children 16 years of age or older. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.307.

Court Hearings That Can Require a Best Interest Determination
THE ADVERSARY HEARING

When considering placement with relative.

If the court does not order possession of the child by a parent, the court shall place a child with
a relative unless placement is not in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(n).

PERMANENCY HEARINGS BEFORE A FINAL ORDER

When determining whether to meet a child.

The court shall consult with the child if the child is four years of age or older and if the court
determines it is in the child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.302.

When determining whether to send a child home.

At each Permanency Hearing before a final hearing, the court shall make a finding onwhether
the child’s parents are willing and able to provide the child with a safe environment and whether
the return of the child is in the child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1)(6). But see
also Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(c).
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Court Decisions That Require a Best Interest Determination
TRANSFERRING A CASE TO THE COURT OF CONTINUING EXCLUSIVE
JURISDICTION (CCEJ)

The court shall order transfer to the CCEJ if the court finds the transfer is necessary for the
convenience of the parties and is the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.203.

DENYING A PARENT VISITATION

If the court finds that visitation between a child and a parent is not in the child’s best interest,
the court shall render an order that:
e States the reasons for finding that visitation is not in the child’s best interest; and
e Outlines specific steps the parent must take to be allowed to have visitation with the child.
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.109(b).

WHEN CONSIDERING UNSUPERVISED VISITATION IN THE CONTEXT OF
FAMILY VIOLENCE

It is a rebuttable presumption that it is not in the best interest of a child for a parent to have
unsupervised visitation with a child if credible evidence is presented of a history or pattern of
past or present child neglect or abuse or family violence by that parent or any person the parent
permitted to have unsupervised access to the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.004(e).

EXTENDING THE DISMISSAL DATE

The court finds that extraordinary circumstances necessitate the child remaining in the
Temporary Managing Conservatorship (TMC) of DFPS and that continuing TMC is in the best
interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).

ORDERING A MONITORED RETURN

The court finds that retaining jurisdiction is in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code §
263.403(a)(1).

DFPS Decisions That Must Consider Best Interest
WHEN CONSIDERING PLACEMENT

DFPS shall consider whether the placement is in the child’s best interest. In determining
whether a placement is in a child’s best interest, DFPS shall consider whether the placement:
Is the least restrictive setting for the child;

Is the closest in geographic proximity to the child’s home;

Is the most able to meet the identified needs of the child; and

Satisfies any expressed interests of the child relating to placement, when developmentally
appropriate. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.107(c).

WHEN ASSESSING A RELATIVE OR DESIGNATED PLACEMENT

DFPS must conduct an assessment to determine whether the proposed placement is in the
child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.754(b).



Eliciting Evidence Regarding Best Interest

A parent or child’s attorney should be comfortable eliciting information regarding a child’s best
interest regardless of the position being advocated. Below are sources and topics for soliciting
evidence regarding best interest at a trial or contested hearing.

PARENT/CONSERVATOR TESTIMONY

Memories of the child’s birth or the day the child came into their life;
The child’s unique role in the family;

The bonds the child has with family members;

The bonds the child has with the family’s community;
Training/classes the parent has attended; and/or

Knowledge the parent or caregiver has gained about the child’s needs and how they plan
to meet those needs in the child’s home.

PSYCHOLOGIST/THERAPIST TESTIMONY

The number of and type of placements the child has experienced in DFPS care;
The progress or lack of progress the child has made in DFPS care;
Clinical research regarding the effects of removal or separation;

Clinical research regarding life outcomes of children who experience foster care or family
separation;

The child’s desires to remain/return home;
What permanency means for this child;
Behaviors of the child now and in the future; and/or

Psychological effect of “closure” on the healing process.

SUBSTITUTE CAREGIVER TESTIMONY

Typical day with the child (meetings/appointments they attend with or for the child);
Training/classes they have attended;

Any special needs of the child and how those needs have been met;

How the child was when they first entered substitute care and how they are now; and/or

Future plans for child (e.g. Does the caregiver plan to stay involved with the child and if
so, how? Is the caregiver considering adoption?).
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Pleading Practice

While DFPS may plead multiple grounds for termination in petition, a Suit Affecting the
Parent Child Relationship filed by a governmental entity is subject to Tex. R. Civ. P. 13, which
prohibits groundless pleadings brought in bad faith or to harass, as well as Tex. Civ. Prac. &
Rem. Code § 10, which requires that each allegation or other factual contention in the pleading
has evidentiary support or is likely to have evidentiary support after a reasonable opportunity
for further investigation or discovery. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.101(b).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: DFPS may plead in the alternative, but if DFPS
has pleaded a “laundry list” of all termination grounds or has included termination
grounds that are not supported by affidavit, consider setting a meeting to discuss
this further. Other options include serving discovery or a Request for Admission to
ascertain the evidence that DFPS has on each ground, and if no evidence is provided,
consider filing a Motion for No Evidence Summary Judgment to eliminate the grounds
for which there is no evidence.

Common Pleadings

Answer: Attorneys for parents and children should always file an Answer after their client has
been served.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If a parent client is unlocated, has not been
served, and has not appeared before the court, do not file an Answer. An Answer or
participation in the suit generally waives any defects in the previously issued service
or notice. Appear at the hearing and make clear to the Court that your client has not
been served and you are there strictly to ascertain information as to how the client
can be located.

Special Appearance: If your client has never submitted to the jurisdiction of the Court (i.e.,
your client has never been to Texas) then a special appearance may be necessary.

Affirmative Defenses: These should be filed with the Answer if they are applicable. All
affirmative defenses that are applicable to any civil case apply; however, if the parent client has
failed to complete one or more services ordered as part of the Court-Ordered Service Plan, an
attorney may file the specific defense under Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d) prior to the amended
pleading deadline.

Counter-Petition: If a client is seeking relief from the court, it is important to file a Counter-
Petition. This can be combined with the Answer. If a client has a preferred relative placement,
consider including a request for the relative to be named managing conservator of the child,
whether or not that relative has intervened.

Petition for Writ of Mandamus: If a client requests to contest the outcome of the Adversary
Hearing order rendered by a District Court or County Court at Law, an attorney may file a
Petition for Writ of Mandamus to the appropriate appellate court. The standard of review for a
Writ of Mandamus is abuse of discretion. An order of an associate judge can only be subject to
Mandamus if the referring court has adopted the order.

Request for De Novo Hearing: If a client requests a de novo review of a ruling made by an
associate judge, a written request for a De Novo Hearing must be filed within three working
days, and the matter must be heard by the referring court within 30 days. Parties must specify
the issues that will be presented to the referring court and may present witnesses on the specific
issues raised on de novo.



Pleading Considerations for a Child’s Attorney

A child’s attorney shall participate in the conduct of the litigation to the same extent as an
attorney for a party. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(1)(F). Accordingly, a child’s attorney should
file any necessary pleadings to further their representation of the child. Attorneys should only
file pleadings that their clients have directed them to unless the attorney ad litem is using
substituted judgment (see discussion above).

CHILD CLIENT’S ANSWER

A child’s attorney should file an Answer and require the state (or other parties who cross-
claimed) to meet the burden of proof. A general denial is an appropriate pleading. Tex. R. Civ.
P. 83 and 85.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: An Answer of the child’s attorney who is serving in
the dual role should also include an assertion that the court should consider the best
interest factors specified in Holley v. Adams in rendering judgment. 544 S.W. 2d 367
(Tex. 1976). This response may be considered a “special plea” under Tex. R. Civ.
P. 85. Including the specific factors in a pleading puts these factors at issue in the
case, supports discovery reasonably related to the discovery of admissible evidence,
and establishes relevance for purposes of determining admissibility of evidence.

RESPONDING TO NONSUIT

The State cannot nonsuit a suit to terminate parental rights without court approval. Tex. Fam.
Code § 161.203. If the State seeks to nonsuit, the child’s attorney should consider the child’s
position. If appointed in the dual role, the attorney should also consider whether the nonsuit
1s in the child’s best interest, and file a response contesting the nonsuit if appropriate. Given
that the State may not be very enthusiastic about pursing a Petition it has been prevented from
nonsuiting, the child’s attorney should also consider filing a Cross-Petition on behalf of the child
client.

CHILD’S CROSS-PETITION

The child’s attorney can file a Cross-Petition that can seek an outcome not pleaded by another
party, but that meets the child’s desires and/or best interest. Tex. R. Civ. P. 85 and 60.

e Even if the relief sought in the Cross-Petition seeks relief already sought by another
party, the Cross-Petition preserves the client’s right to pursue the claim if the other party
abandons or does not vigorously pursue that claim.

e Cross-petition may allow the parties to pursue relief that the state is restricted from
pursuing by DFPS policy or otherwise, e.g., if an out of state relative has surfaced too late
in the proceeding to permit the state to seek an Interstate Compact on the Placement of
Children (ICPC) placement. The child’s attorney can use a cross-petition to continue to
seek placement with that relative as being in the best interest of the child.

CROSS-PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE

A name change may be needed due to inconsistencies or issues with the child’s legal name, such
as a birth certificate listing the first name as “Infant,” or a listing of a last name different than
the surname used throughout child’s life and in records.

Name changes are somewhat less complex before the child reaches the age of majority. If the child
is 10 years of age or older, the child’s written consent to the name change must be attached to the
Petition. Tex. Fam. Code § 45.002(b).

S[erpuassy [es9o]

19



Legal Essentials

20

Motion Practice

A motion is a pleading seeking some specific relief. There are certain motions that are specifically
defined in the Texas Family Code or Texas Rules of Procedure that have precise elements to be
included and demonstrated, but an attorney for a parent or a child is not limited to pursuing
only those motions delineated in the Codes and Rules. A motion can be filed to pursue the relief
a party needs and can merely state the grounds for the relief and set forth the relief or order
requested. See Tex. R. Civ. P. 21.

Potential Motions for Parents’ and Children’s Attorneys

Objection to Proposed Service Plan/Motion to Modify Service Plan: If the parent or
child client needs additional services, or requests to eliminate services from the service plan, an
attorney may file an Objection/Motion and seek relief from the court.

Motion to Increase Visitation: This motion can be filed by either parents’ or children’s
attorneys when seeking to increase visitation or to obtain unsupervised visitation.

Motion to Change Placement or to Conduct a Home Study: This motion can be filed by
either a parent’s attorney or child’s attorney, but the child’s attorney is specifically obligated to
elicit “the name of any adult . . . who could be a relative or designated caregiver for the child.”
Tex. Fam. Code 107.003(b)(4). If after providing the name to DFPS, and DFPS does not pursue
the potential placement, the attorney can bring the issue to the attention of the court by motion.
Even if it is not a licensed or approved home, the judge may order a change of placement.

Practice Tip: Evaluate if DFPS is excluding the proposed placement for reasons
that might be unrelated to safety. Look at the length of time since last criminal
history, changed circumstances of the proposed placement, relationship to child, and
review any home study denial closely.

Motion for Expedited Home Study: DFPS needs an order to request an expedited home study.
To resolve the issue of placement as quickly as possible, an attorney can file this motion as soon
as the need for a home study is identified.

Motion for a Monitored Return: If a parent has completed most of their services, but DFPS
will not agree to return the child and dismiss the case, an attorney for a parent or a child may
file a motion for the child to be returned home while the court retains jurisdiction, either through
a standard monitored return or transitionmonitored return. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.403(a)(2)

(A)-(B).

Motion for Travel Costs: Depending on the jurisdiction’s policy toward travel reimbursement,
this motion may be appropriate.

Motion for Paternity/DNA/Genetic Testing: May be necessary if the alleged father does
notacknowledge paternity, or when there is more than one alleged father. Tex. Fam. Code §§
160.608, 160.621.

Motion for Continuance: An attorney may file a written and sworn Motion for Continuance
if good cause exits to delay the trial and there is still time for the court to grant the motion and
still commence trial on the merits before the statutory deadline. If denied, error is preserved for
appeal. Tex. R. Civ. P. 251.

Motion for Extension: If a parent has completed most services but will not be able to complete
the service plan prior to the statutory deadline, an attorney for a parent or a child may file a
motion asserting that there are extraordinary circumstances sufficient to extend the case 180
days beyond the original statutory deadline. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).



Potential Motions For a Parent’s Attorney

Motion to Exclude Drug Test Results: DFPS may attempt to admit drug test results through
a business records affidavit. Drug tests require expert testimony as outlined in the Evidentiary
Issues section of this tool kit. “Because of the more stringent clear and convincing standard for
a parental termination case as opposed to other civil cases, the Texarkana court held that it
1s inappropriate to apply the more relaxed civil standard in determining the admissibility of
business records.” See Inre K.C.P., 142 S.W.3d 574, 580 (Tex. App.-Texarkana 2004, no pet.). See
also Philpot v. State, 897 S.W.2d 848, 852 (Tex. App.-Dallas 1995, pet. ref'd).

Motion for Daubert Hearing: If a party attempts to elicit expert testimony from a witness
who is not qualified to give an expert opinion, an attorney may move for a Daubert Hearing to
challenge the witness’s status as an expert. It will be necessary to voir dire the proposed expert
on the qualifications, data relied on, and scientific procedure as outlined in the Evidentiary
Issues section of this tool kit. An attorney can consider following up with a motion to exclude
expert witness if appropriate.

Motion for No Evidence Summary Judgment: After an adequate time for discovery, this
dispositive motion can be filed to strike any termination ground alleged in the pleadings for
which DFPS has provided no evidence.

Motion to Strike Intervention: If relatives or foster parents file an intervention over the
objection of a client, the intervention may be struck if the intervening party lacks standing, or if
placement with them is not in the best interest of the child. A motion to strike the intervention
should be specific in the reasoning as to why the intervention should be struck.

Motion for Funds for an Expert Witness: This motion may be most relevant in medical abuse
cases when there are differing opinions as to how certain injuries occurred, although it could be
used for any expert, including those for drug testing and psychological/psychiatric issues.

Motion to Appoint Temporary Possessory Conservator: This can be filed when the order
granting TMC to DFPS does not specify that the parents are temporary possessory conservators
with specific rights and duties.

Motion to Compel Discovery Responses: Consider filing if DFPS has not complied timely
with discovery requests. However, it is important to weigh the costs and benefits of such a
motion depending on evidence requested as evidence that is not produced in accordance with
discovery is not admissible at trial.

Motion to Remove Guardian/Attorney Ad Litem: This motion should only be considered if
there is serious misconduct by the child’s attorney which is prejudicial to a client. Talking to the
child’s ad litem first regarding concerns might alleviate the need to file the motion.

Request to Disclose Information: Must be served to DFPS, prior to the Adversary Hearing,
requesting that they turn over the names of non-DFPS witnesses who will testify to the
allegations, copies of offense reports that will be used, and any photo, video, or recording that
may be used at that Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.014.

Motion for Participation by Other Means: Parents have a constitutional right to attend not
only their trial, but any ancillary hearings in the case. If a parent client is in jail, or otherwise
indisposed and cannot attend trial, the attorney may file a motion requesting the parent to
attend by telephone, television, Skype, Zoom, or other video conferencing method. If the motion
1s denied, then error is preserved for appeal.

21
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Potential Motions for a Child’s Attorney

Motion for Sibling Visitation/Access: If a client is not getting enough contact with their
siblings, whether face-to-face or otherwise, the child’s attorney can file a motion to seek such
access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.551.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Review the child’s plan of service; it often
recommends more frequent sibling access than is being provided. Consider filing a
motion to request that the court order the amount of sibling access recommended by
the child’s plan of service.

MotiontoModify Parental Visitation: File if a client desires, and/or it is in the client’s interest
for the child to receive more or a different type of visitation with a parent, e.g., unsupervised
visitation if appropriate. For example, if DFPS has set visitation for an inconvenient day/time
for the parent or the child, and the child consistently misses class and would like to have visit
days/ or times vary, the child’s attorney may file a motion to accommodate child and/or parent’s
needs.

Motion to Modify Services for the Child: If the child needs a special medical service (such as
a cranial helmet) or if the child would benefit from therapy by a different provider or specialist,
file a motion to request the court order the service. This motion can also be used to pursue
normalcy issues such as allowing the child to participate in an extracurricular activity and/or if
the child needs financial support for the same.

Motion for Child to Attend the Hearing/Confer with the Court: The Texas Family Code
states that children shall attend each Permanency Hearing unless excused by the court, but a
motion may be necessary if the child client wishes to attend a non-permanency hearing, or if
local judicial practice excuses children from Permanency Hearings by default. Consider utilizing

a Motion to Interview Child in Chambers. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.009.

Motion for Second Opinion on Psychotropic Medications: Tex. Fam. Code § 107.002(a)(2)
provides for the attorney ad litem for a child to have access and review medical records and Tex.
Fam. Code § 107.004(d-3) requires an attorney ad litem “to review the child’s safety and well-
being . . . and take appropriate action, including requesting a review hearing when necessary to
address an issue of concern.”



Termination Grounds

For a full list of the statutory grounds for Involuntary Termination of Parent-Child Relationship,
seeTex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1). The non-exhaustive list below contains grounds often pleaded
in DFPS cases.

Abandonment
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(N)

Has the parent:

e Constructively abandoned the child who has been in the PMC or TMC of DFPS for not less
than six months; AND

o Not regularly visited or maintained significant contact with the child;
o Demonstrated an inability to provide the child with a safe environment; and
o Has DFPS made reasonable efforts to return the child to the parent.

Endangerment: Conditions or Surroundings
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(D)

Has the parent:

e Knowingly placed the child or knowingly allowed the child to remain in conditions or
surroundings which endangers the physical or emotional well-being of the child.

Endangerment: Course of Conduct
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(E)

Has the parent:

e KEngaged in conduct or knowingly placed the child with persons who engaged in conduct
which endangers the physical or emotional well-being of the child.

Affidavit of Relinquishment of Parental Rights
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(K)

Has the parent:

e Kxecuted before or after the suit is filed an unrevoked or irrevocable affidavit of
relinquishment of parental rights. Note: A parent who signs an affidavit of relinquishment
1s also required to compete a medical history report. Tex. Fam. Code §161.1031.

Criminal Conviction-Death or Serious Injury
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(L)

Has the parent been convicted or been placed on community supervision, including deferred
adjudication community supervision:

e For being criminally responsible for the death or serious injury of a child, under any of
the following crimes: (murder; capital murder; manslaughter; indecency w/ child; assault;
sexual assault; aggravated assault; aggravated sexual assault; injury to child, an elderly
individual or disabled individual; abandoning or endangering child; prohibited sexual
conduct; sexual performance by child; possession or promotion of child pornography;
continuous sexual abuse of child or disabled individual; human trafficking; or compelling
prostitution). Note: this ground also applies to out of state convictions for crimes with
elements similar to those listed above.
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If DFPS only offers judgments of convictions
without charging instruments or any other evidence of the underlying facts that
support the conviction, a parent’s attorney may want to challenge the sufficiency of
the evidence.

Prior Termination on Endangerment Grounds
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(M)

Has the parent:

e Had their parent-child relationship terminated with respect to another child based on a
finding that the parent’s conduct was in violation of Paragraph (D) or (E) or substantially
equivalent provisions of the law of another state. Note: the court may not order termination
under this ground unless the petition was filed within one year of DFPS being named

managing conservator of a child in the prior case that resulted in the termination. Tex.
Fam. Code § 161.001(d-1).

Failure to Complete Services
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(O)

Has the parent failed to comply with:

e Provisions of court order that specifically established the actions necessary for the
parent to obtain the return of the child;

e Who has been in the PMC or TMC of DFPS for not less than nine months; and
e As a result of the child’s removal for the abuse or neglect of the child.

Note: A court may not order termination under (O) grounds based on the failure by the parent
to comply with a specific provision of a court order if a parent proves by a preponderance of
evidence that: the parent was unable to comply with specific provisions of the court order, and
the parent made a good faith effort to comply with the order, and the failure to comply with the
order is not attributable to any fault of the parent. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Though an affirmative pleading may not be
required by Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d), it is a best practice to plead inability to
complete services as an affirmative defense if there is evidence to support it. If the
defense is raised at a jury trial, an attorney should ensure the defense is included the
jury charge.

Drug Treatment or Relapse
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(P)
Has the parent:
e Used a controlled substance, as defined by Tex. Health & Safety Code Ch. 481, in a
manner that endangered the health or safety of the child; and
e Failed to complete a court-ordered substance abuse treatment program; or

e After completion of a court-ordered substance abuse treatment program, continued to
abuse a controlled substance.



Incarceration and Inability to Care
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(1)(Q)

Has the parent:

e Knowingly engaged in criminal conduct that has resulted in the parent’s conviction of an
offense; and

e Confinement or imprisonment; and

e Inability to care for the child for not less than two years from the date of filing the
petition.

Note: The confinement or imprisonment for not less than two years is prospective from the date of
the filing of the petition rather than retrospective. In re A.V., 113 S.W.3d 355 (Tex. 2003).

Termination of Rights of Alleged Biological Father
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002

If an alleged father has been served with citation, his rights can be terminated if he does not
timely file an admission of paternity or a counterclaim for paternity under Tex. Fam. Code Ch.
160. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(1).

An alleged father’s rights can be terminated without personal service of citation or citation by
publication if:

e The child is over one year of age at the time the petition was filed, and the alleged father
has failed to register with the paternity registry, and after the exercise of due diligence by
the petitioner:

o his identity and location are unknown; or
o his identity is known, but he cannot be located; Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(2).

e The child is under one year old at the time petition was filed, and the alleged father has
not registered with the paternity registry. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(3).

Petitioner’s due diligence to locate and identify the alleged father is required for the above
sections including obtaining a certificate of the results of the paternity registry search from the
Texas Department of State Health Services Vital Statistics Unit indicating that no man has
registered intent to claim paternity. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(e).

If an alleged father has registered with the paternity registry, citation by publication is not
required, but DFPS must still exercise due diligence to locate alleged father, including a sworn
affidavit describing their efforts to obtain personal service of citation at the address provided to
the registry and any other address known to DFPS. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(b)(4). The court
must enter specific findings regarding the exercise of due diligence by DFPS when rendering an
order terminating parental rights under this section. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.002(f).
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Discovery

Overview

Discovery rules in DFPS cases are the same as in other civil cases and are governed by the Texas
Rules of Civil Procedure. A Suit Affecting the Parent-Child Relationship (SAPCR) is usually
subject to Level 2 Discovery. Please note that many courts who hear child welfare cases have
Level 3 Discovery Control Plans in place as part of their local rules and may modify the
dateby which responses are due and require court approval to go outside of the parameters
of the Discovery Control Plan. For more information, see Texas L.aw Help Discovery in Texas:

Investigate and Prepare for Trial.

It is important to respond to all discovery requests within 30 days after the discovery is served or
in accordance with deadlines set forth in a court-ordered Discovery Control Plan. Note: Failure
to answer discovery in a timely manner may limit the evidence and testimony which can be

presented at trial. Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.6(a).

Types of Discovery in Texas Rules of Civil Procedure

Requests for Disclosure: Tex. R. Civ. P. 194
Interrogatories: Tex. R. Civ. P. 197
Requests for Production of Documents: Tex. R. Civ. P. 196

o must be served at least 30 days before the end of the discovery period.

o can include a request for entry upon property. Tex. R. Civ. P. 196.7
Requests for Admissions: Tex. R. Civ. P. 198

o failure to respond timely will result in requests being deemed admitted.
Depositions: Tex. R. Civ. P. 199-200

o any objection to the time and place of the deposition must be made by filing a
Motion for Protective Order or a Motion to Quash.

Requests for Physical and Mental Examinations: Tex. R. Civ. P. 204

o in a DFPS suit (among others), on motion by a party or the court’s own initiative,
the court may appoint:

one or more psychologists or psychiatrists to examine a child or other party to the
suit, and/or

+ a qualified expert to test and determine paternity.

Practice Tip: If an attorney for the party served with discovery responds with an
objection that the request is vague or not applicable, the proponent of the discovery
request can consider filing a Motion to Compel Discovery and request a hearing to
address the validity of the objection. When there is a partial answer, if it is preceded
by an objection, the objection should be addressed in this manner to ensure that a full
answer is given.

Practice Tip: Some attorneys representing DFPS may offer “informal discovery”
such as providing a redacted copy of the agency case file. However, without a formal
discovery request, the receiving party lacks recourse if DFPS fails to provide items
or information. Formal discovery requested of DFPS in accordance with the rules of
procedure provides the requesting party with greatest access to the information on
the client.



https://texaslawhelp.org/article/discovery-in-texas-investigate-and-prepare-for-trial
https://texaslawhelp.org/article/discovery-in-texas-investigate-and-prepare-for-trial

Practice Tip: Some courts limit depositions or require that a motion be filed to
request a court order for depositions to be taken. Parents’ and children’s attorneys
should learn in advance the court’s procedures for depositions and for the payment of
court reporters taking depositions.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Before agreeing to the return of a child to the parent,
a child’s attorney may want to see where the child will be living and ensure that the
home is safe and suitable. If the child’s attorney is unable to secure the agreement of
the parent’s attorney to allow inspection of the home, the child’s attorney can serve a
request for inspection under Tex. R. Civ. P. 196.7.

Notable Discovery Issues in DFPS Cases
DISCOVERY PRIOR TO THE ADVERSARY HEARING

Prior to the Adversary Hearing, a party may send a written request to the attorney representing
DFPS asking that they turn over the names of non-DFPS employee witnesses who will testify to
the allegations, copies of offense reports that will be used, and any photo, video, or recording that
may be used at that Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.014. Items produced prior to an
Adversary Hearing may need to be redacted by the attorney representing DFPS.

CONFIDENTIALITY WITH THE DFPS CASE FILE

DFPS files contain information that is confidential by law and may only be disclosed for purposes
consistent with the Texas Family Code and applicable federal and state law. Tex. Fam. Code §
261.201; See also 40 Tex. Admin. Code, §§ 745.8481 - 745.8493.

Practice Tip: Redaction of the record in accordance with DFPS rules and guidelines
takes time. When production of the record is needed urgently, consider asking the court
to order DFPS to produce the record with only the reporter’s name and confidential
identifiers redacted.

DISCOVERY FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY

Children’s attorneys are entitled to seek discovery even though their client is not a party
tothe litigation because the child’s attorney is directed to “. . . participate in the conduct of the
litigation to the same extent as an attorney for a party.” Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(a)(1)(F).
Another party may also request discovery from the child’s attorney; however, like any attorney,
the child’s attorney can object to producing specific materials on the basis of attorney-client
privilege, attorney work product, or general confidentiality.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The “quasi-party” status of the child’s attorney
can cause some confusion regarding discovery; local practice may vary as to whether
attorneys for children are served with discovery. If not served with discovery, the
child’s attorney may submit evidence that another party bound by discovery would
not be allowed to present. Parent’s attorneys might consider filing a motion to ask the
court to order the attorney for the child to disclose all witnesses that they may seek
to call, and to produce all exhibits that they may seek to admit.
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EXPERTS

Special rules govern the exchange of information about expert witnesses in the discovery process.
Note that the scope of discovery is different when cases involve testifying experts or consulting
experts (those experts whose work has been reviewed by a testifying expert). Tex. R. Civ. P. 195.

PRIVILEGES
Commonly invoked privileges in child abuse litigation include those related to:

Mental health records;
Drug and alcohol abuse records;

Attorney-client communication; and
e Work product.

SUBPOENAS

A person served with a subpoena can request a protective order if the subpoena seeks information
that is privileged or otherwise objectionable. Tex. R. Civ. P. 176.6(e). DFPS has adopted detailed
policy governing procedures for handling subpoenas served on individual staff or the agency.
The DFPS subpoena policy is available on the DFPS website.

Practice Tip: In addition to serving a subpoena on individual staff or the agency
in accordance with DFPS policy, parents’ and children’s attorneys might consider
serving a copy on the attorney representing DFPS.

BUSINESS RECORDS

The Texas Rules of Evidence allow an exception to the hearsay rule for business records as long
as they meet the requirements of Tex. R. Evid. 803(6) and they can be submitted without the
testimony of the custodian of records or other qualified witness if accompanied by an affidavit
that meets the requirements of Tex. R. Evid. 902(10).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: When seeking documents by subpoena from
a third party, such as a hospital or other medical provider, consider including a
business records affidavit along with the subpoena so that the documents may be
authenticated without live testimony. Be aware that the proponent of the documents
must serve the documents and the accompanying affidavit pursuant to Tex. R. Civ.
P. 21a on each party to the case at least 14 days before trial.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Some medical providers may file motions to
quash subpoenas, so it may be necessary to have the court rule on the validity of the
subpoena in order to obtain the records. If the requested records are those of a client
or of the child of the client, consider having the client execute a release of information
to obtain those records.

MOTION FOR ENFORCEMENT AND/OR TO COMPEL

Sanctions for abuse of the discovery process include orders denying discovery, imposing costs,
finding facts established, limiting claims or defenses, striking pleadings, or dismissing an action
and/or a contempt order for failure to comply with any order except orders to submit to a physical
or mental examination.


https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/ handbooks/Subpoena/default.asp

Practice Tip: A remedy to the Motion for Enforcement or Contempt is usually the
production of the discovery. The movant can wait until trial and then ask the Court
to grant sanctions for failure to respond to discovery. If requested information is
confidential, a hearing is necessary for such information to be released. Tex. Fam.
Code § 261.201(b) sets out the procedural mechanism to request the disclosure of
confidential material.

Caselaw on Admitting Discovery FEven If It Was Not Properly
Produced

Requests for Admissions were intended to “eliminat[e] matters about which there is no
real controversy” and were “never intended to be used as a demand upon a plaintiff or
defendant to admit that he had no cause of action or ground of defense.” Stelly v. Papania,
927 S.W.2d 620, 622 (Tex. 1996) (per curiam). Requests should be used as “a tool, not a
trapdoor.” Marino v. King, 355 S.W.3d 629, 632 (Tex. 2011). When a party uses deemed
admissions to try to preclude presentation of the merits of a case, due process concerns
arise. See TransAmerican Nat. Gas Corp. v. Powell, 811 S.W.2d 913, 917-18 (Tex. 1991).
“Constitutional imperatives favor the determination of cases on their merits rather than
on harmless procedural defaults.” Marino, 355 S.W.3d at 634. Absent flagrant bad faith or
callous disregard for the rules, due process bars preclusive sanctions for discovery abuses.
Wheeler v. Green, 157 S.W.3d 439, 443 (Tex. 2005).

Parties can testify even if the parties were not disclosed as witnesses in discovery. In re
J.L.J., 352 S.W.3d 536 (Tex. App.—El Paso 2011, no pet.) (mother who signed affidavit of
relinquishment prior to final judgment was still a party to the suit and allowed to testify
at trial against father). Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.6(a) expressly exempts parties from exclusion if
not disclosed as a potential witness in discovery. In re M.J.M., 406 S.W.3d 292, 299 (Tex.
App.—San Antonio 2013, no pet.) (holding the trial court erred in assessing death penalty
sanctions, and noting, “Rule 193.6 expressly states that it does not apply to the testimony
of named parties.”).

The failure to timely make, amend, or supplement the discovery response did not unfairly
surprise or unfairly prejudice the other parties. Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.6(a)(2).In re M.F.D.,
No. 01-16-00295-CV (Tex. App.—Houston [1st Dist.] Dec. 8, 2016, no pet.) (mem. op.) (The
trial court did not abuse its discretion in finding that there wasa lack of unfair surprise
or unfair prejudice when DFPS’ petition, a Status Hearing order, and service plan put the
parent on notice that DFPS would seek termination if reunification could not be achieved.).

Because the best interest of a child is of primary importance, the Third Court of Appeals
has held that witnesses in a termination should be allowed to testify even if they were not
disclosed in discovery. Spurck v. Tex. Dep’t of Family and Protective Servs., 396 S.W.3d
205, 215 (Tex. App.—Austin 2013, no pet.).

Practice Tip: If a parent’s or child’s attorney did not timely make, amend, or supplement
a discovery response, this may result in evidence being excluded. However, the following
arguments are available under Tex. R. Civ. P. 193.6 to advocate for admitting the
evidence:

e Move for continuance and ask the court to allow more time to respond;
e Try to prove good cause for a failure to respond (i.e., clerical accident, mistake);

e Try to prove lack of unfair surprise and prejudice (no actual delay caused); and/
or

e Argue that sanctions are not to be used as a tool to preclude presentation of the
merits.

29
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Evidentiary Issues

Predicates
OVERVIEW

Like procedural rules, evidentiary rules in DFPS cases also are the same as in other civil cases
and are governed by the Texas Rules of Evidence. Tex. R. Evid. 901 provides, “to satisfy the
requirement of authenticating or identifying an item of evidence, the proponent must produce
evidence sufficient to support a finding that the item is what a proponent claims it is.”

AUTHENTIFICATION QUESTIONS

Evidence Business/Medical Records

Are you a custodian of the records or are you otherwise familiar with the manner in
which the records contained in the Exhibit are maintained by virtue of your duties and
responsibilities?

Are the records originals or exact duplicates?

Is it the regular practice of the business to make the records?

Are records by persons with personal knowledge (or from information transmitted bythem)?
Are records at or near the time of the occurrence? See Tex. R. Evid. 902(10)(B).

Diagrams/Charts/Drawings/Timelines

Did you participate in the preparation of the Exhibit? (if applicable)
Are you familiar with the information as it is presented in the Exhibit? How?

Does it contain information generally used and relied upon by persons in your profession
or occupation? (if applicable)

Is this a fair and accurate representation of the underlying information?

e Will the Exhibit assist the judge/jury to comprehend the evidence?
Photographs
e Are you familiar with the person/location/objects shown in the Exhibit? How?

Is this a fair and accurate depiction?

Note: the person admitting the photograph does not have to be the person who took it, as
long as they can testify the photo was an accurate depiction at the time it was taken.

Videotapes/Audiotapes/Voicemail

Are you familiar with what is shown/heard in the Exhibit? How?
Was the recording device capable of making an accurate recording?
Was the operator of the device competent?

Have there been any changes, additions, or deletions made?

Who is shown and/or speaking in the Exhibit?

Is it a fair and accurate recording?

Physical Evidence/Tangible Objects

Are you familiar with the Exhibit? How?
Are there any identifying or distinguishing marks on it?
Is the Exhibit in the same condition as it was when you previously observed it?

Describe where the Exhibit has been since last in your custody.
Who has had access to the Exhibit?



Signatures/Writings/Drawings
e Are you familiar with Jane Doe’s handwriting/signature? How?
e Do you recognize the handwriting/signature contained in the Exhibit?
e Were you present when the Exhibit was made?
e Whose handwriting/signature is it?

X-Rays
e Are you familiar with this Exhibit or what is shown in the Exhibit? How?
e Was the Exhibit made by a qualified technician or physician? Who? When? Where?
e What proof is there that this Exhibit is Jane Doe’s x-ray?

e Does this Exhibit fairly and accurately show the condition of Jane Doe’s (insert name of
body part in x-ray) at the time the x-ray was made?

Email or Text Message
e Do you recognize the sender’s e-mail address? How?
e Do you recognize the name at the end of this email?
e Do you recognize the sender of the text message? How?
e Do the contents refer to any previous communication you had with this person?

e Are the contents of this email/text known to the sender?

Social Media
e Do you use Facebook/Twitter/Instagram/Snapchat/etc.?
e Do you have an account on Facebook, etc.?
e Did you create your own page on Facebook, etc.?
e Are you familiar with (defendant/respondent/opposing party)?
e How do you know them?
e Areyou friends with the sender on any social media networks/do you follow the sender?
e Isthat how you can see their page?
e Are you familiar with their Facebook page? Is it currently active?
e Would you recognize it if it were presented to you today in court?
e (Hand copy of social media page to witness) Do you recognize what I just handed you?
e Isthis a screen shot of the sender’s page/post/picture?
e Isthis a fair and accurate depiction of the sender’s page?
e Does it appear to be altered in any manner?
e How did you access this page?
e So since you and sender were friends on Facebook, you could see their page?
e And you could post things on each other’s walls/pages?
e What was their username?
e Has anyone else ever sent you a message/posted on your wall from Jane Doe’s account?

e How did you know that it was sent from this sender and not someone pretending tobehim/
her?

e Do you have any reason to doubt that the person you were talking to on social mediawas
this sender?
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e Has anyone else ever sent you a message/posted on your wall from Jane Doe’s account?

e How did you know that it was sent from this sender and not someone pretending tobehim/
her?

e Do you have any reason to doubt that the person you were talking to on social mediawas
this sender?

Practice Tip: Remember that “likes,” “loves,” or “dislikes” responses to social media
postings might fall into a hearsay exception, such as admission against interest.

Establishing a Child’s Competence to Testify
PRESUMPTION OF COMPETENCE

The Texas Rules of Evidence provide that every person is competent to be a witness unless the
rules provide otherwise. Generally, a child is presumed to be competent to testify. However,
“persons lacking sufficient intellect” are incompetent to testify. A child may be one such witness,
but a procedure must be followed to challenge the child’s competence. Accordingly, the burden

is on the party challenging the child’s competence. Tex. R. Evid. 601(a).

The issue of the child’s competence must be raised by a party opposing the child’s testimony.
At that point, the court must examine the child to assess whether the child “does not possess
sufficient intellect to relate transactions about which he will testify.” In doing so, the court
considers:

e The competence of the child to observe intelligently the events in question at the time of
the occurrence;

e The child’s capacity to recollect the events;

e The child’s capacity to narrate the facts; and

e Whether the child lacks the capacity to understand the obligation of the oath. Pipkin v.
Kroger Tex., L.P., 383 S.W.3d 655, 668 (Tex. App. — Houston [14th Dist.], pet denied). See
also In Re RM.T., 352 S.W.3d 12 (Tex. App. — Texarkana 2011, no pet.).

Practice Tip: To establish that a child has the capacity to understand the oath, the
attorney needs to show that the child knows the difference between the truth and a
lie (not that the child understands perjury). Rather than asking the child to define
“truth” and “lie,” it is most developmentally effective to provide the child with simple
examples of truth and lies. For example, “Sam, if someone told you that the judge’s
robe is pink, would that be the truth or a lie?”




Objections

General Objections
Authentication Insufficient
Best Evidence

Bolstering

Cumulative

Confuses the Issue

Improper Predicate

Inconsistent with Pleadings
Irrelevant

Misleading

Probative vs. Prejudice
Privileged

Hearsay

Statement made outside of Court, offered to prove the truth of the matter asserted.

Not Hearsay

Prior Inconsistent Statements
Admission by Party Opponent
Deposition

Objections to the Form of the Question
Ambiguous/Vague

Asked & Answered
Argumentative

Assumes Facts Not Evidence
Calls for Narrative

Calls for Speculation
Compound

Confusing

Creates Undue Delay
Harassing Wilness
Leading/Suggestive
Misleading

Misquoting Witness
Overbroad

Unfairly Prejudicial
Unintelligible

Code

TRE 901

TRE 1002, 1003
TRE 607-610
TRE 403

TRE 403

TRE 602-3, 701, 701-2,

901-2

TRE 66, 67
TRE 401, 402
TRE 403
TRE 403
TRE 503

Code

TRE 801(e)(1)
TRE 801(e)(2)
TRE 801(3)

Code

TRE 611(a)
TRE 403; 611
TRE 611(a)
TRE 403; 611
TRE 403; 611(a)
TRE 403; 611(a)
TRE 611(a)
TRE 611(a)
TRE 403; 611(a)
TRE 103; 611(a)
TRIE 403; 611(c)
TRE 403; 611(a)
TRE 403; 611(a)
TRE 403; 611(a)
TRE 403

TRE 403; 611(a)
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Objections, continued

Objections to the Form of the Answer
Narrative

Nonresponsive

Lack of Personal Knowledge

Volunteered

Exceptions to Hearsay: Availability

Code
TRE 611(a)
TRE 611
TRE 602

TRE 403; 611(a)

of Declarant Immaterial Code
Present Sense Impression TRE 803(1)
Existing Mental/Emotional/Physical Condition TRE 803(3)
Recoded Recollection TRE (5)
Absence of Entry of Record TRE 803(7)
Records of Vital Statistics TRE 803(9)
Records of Religious Organizations TRE 803(11)
Family Records TRE 803(13)
Statements of Property Documents TRE 803(15)
Market Reports, Commercial Pubs TRE 803(17)
Reputation - Family/Personal History TRE 803(19)
Reputation as to Character TRE 803(21)
Judgment re: Pers/Fam/Hist/Boundaries TRE 803(23)
Excited Utterance TRE 803(2)
Medical Diagnosis/Treatment TRE 801(4)
Business/Medical Records TRE 803(6)
Public Records/Reports TRE 803(8)
Absence of Public Record/Entry TRE 803(10)
Marriages/Baptisms & Similar TRE 803(12)
Property Records TRE 803(14)
Statements in Ancient Docs TRE 803(16)
Learned Treatises TRE 803(18)
Reputation - Boundaries/History TRE 805(20)
Previous Conviction TRE 803(22)
Statement Against Interest TRE 803(24)
Exceptions to Hearsay: Declarant Unavailable Code
Former Testimony TRE 804(b)(1)
Personal Testimony TRE 804(b)(3)

Dying Declaration TRE 804(b)(2)



Exceptions to Hearsay for Children’s Statements

The exceptions to the hearsay rule for children’s statements are found in the Rules of Evidence
and the Texas Family Code.

RULES OF EVIDENCE

Exceptions to the Rule Against Hearsay Regardless of Whether the Declarant is Available as a
Witness. Tex. R. Evid. 803.

Present Sense Impression Tex. R. Evid. 803(1)

e A statement describing or explaining an event or condition, made while or immediately
after the declarant perceived it.

Excited Utterance Tex. R. Evid. 803(2)

e A statement relating to a startling event or condition, made while or immediately after the
declarant perceived it.

Then-Existing Mental, Emotional, or Physical Condition Tex. R. Evid. 803(3)

e A statement of the declarant’s then-existing state of mind (such as motive, intent, or
plan) or emotional, sensory, or physical condition (such as mental feeling, pain, or bodily
health), but not including a statement of memory or belief to prove the fact remembered
or believed.

TEXAS FAMILY CODE
Pre-recorded Statement of a Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.002

If a child 12 years of age or younger is alleged in a suit under this title to have been abused, the
recording of an oral statement of the child recorded prior to the proceeding is admissible into
evidence if:

e No attorney for a party was present when the statement was made;

The recording is both visual and aural and is recorded on film or videotape or by other
electronic means;

e The recording equipment was capable of making an accurate recording, the operator was
competent, and the recording is accurate and has not been altered;

The statement was not made in response to questioning calculated to lead the child tomake
a particular statement;

e Each voice on the recording is identified;

e The person conducting the interview of the child in the recording is present at the
proceeding and available to testify or be cross-examined by either party; and
e Kach party is afforded an opportunity to view the recording before it is offered into

evidence.

Pre-recorded Videotaped Testimony of Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.003

e The court may, on the motion of a party to the proceeding, order that the testimony of the
child be taken outside the courtroom and be recorded for showing in the courtroom before
the court, the finder of fact, and the parties to the proceeding.

e Only an attorney for each party, an attorney ad litem for the child or other person whose
presence would contribute to the welfare and well-being of the child, and persons necessary
to operate the equipment may be present in the room with the child during the child’s
testimony.
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Only the attorneys for the parties may question the child.

The persons operating the equipment shall be placed in a manner that prevents the child
from seeing or hearing them.

The court shall ensure that:

o the recording is both visual and aural and is recorded on film or videotape or by
other electronic means;

o the recording equipment was capable of making an accurate recording, the
operator was competent, and the recording is accurate and is not altered;

o each voice on the recording is identified; and

o each party to the proceeding is afforded an opportunity to view the recording
before it is shown in the courtroom.

Remote Televised Broadcast of Testimony of Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.004

If in a suit a child 12 years of age or younger is alleged to have been abused, the court may,
on the motion of a party to the proceeding, order that the testimony of the child be taken
In a room other than the courtroom and be televised by closed-circuit equipment in the
courtroom to be viewed by the court and the parties.

The procedures that apply to prerecorded videotaped testimony of a child apply to the
remote broadcast of testimony of a child.

Substitution for In-Court Testimony of Child Tex. Fam. Code §104.005

If the testimony of a child is taken as provided by this chapter, the child may not be
compelled to testify in court during the proceeding.

The court may allow the testimony of a child of any age to be taken in any manner provided
by this chapter if the child, because of a medical condition, is incapable of testifying in
open court.

Hearsay Statement of Child Abuse Victim (“Outcry” statements) Tex. Fam. Code
§104.006

In a suit affecting the parent-child relationship, a statement made by a child 12 years of
age or younger that describes alleged abuse against the child, without regard to whether
the statement is otherwise inadmissible as hearsay, is admissible as evidence if, in a
hearing conducted outside the presence of the jury, the court finds that the time, content,
and circumstances of the statement provide sufficient indications of the statement’s
reliability; and

The child testifies or is available to testify at the proceeding in court or in any other
manner provided for by law; or

The court determines that the use of the statement in lieu of the child’s testimony is
necessary to protect the welfare of the child.

See, e.g., In the Interest of E.M., 494 S.W.3d 209 (App. Waco 2015)(focus is on the outcry
statement itself, not the abuse; therapist testified outcry statements regarding domestic
violence between the parents were credible because they were expressed in a manner
consistent with what the therapist would expect, were made in age-appropriate language,
were consistent through different placements, and were not of the type this aged child
would make up.)

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Note the age restrictions in some of the above rules
and that some exceptions require a motion to be filed by the child’s attorney.




Preservation of Error
AT TRIAL OR IN A HEARING

Timely Objections Tex. R. App. P. 33.1

To preserve error, the party objecting to the admission of evidence must make a timely objection,
a motion to strike from the record, and obtain a ruling on the record. Similarly, the proponent of
excluded evidence must make an offer of proof setting forth the substance of the evidence.

Objections must be timely:

e Improper question: must object before an answer is given.

e Improper answer: objection must be made as soon as that fact becomes apparent. Although
1t is proper to object to a completed answer (and necessary in order to protect the record),
this is not the most desirable solution. If the objection is sustained, ask that the answer be
struck and that the jury be instructed to disregard it.

Practice Tip: Listen for possible leading questions on direct examination, questions
that call for a narrative response, or that solicit irrelevant information. After
objecting, clearly but respectfully request to get a ruling on the record, especially if
the Court does not respond directly to the request and instead says something like,
“move along, Counsel,” etc. Without a ruling on the objection, the error may not be
preserved for appeal.

Offer of Proof Tex. R. Evid. 103(a)(2)

An offer of proof preserves an argument regarding evidence by informing the appellate court
what evidence was excluded by the trial court. Through an offer of proof, counsel can memorialize
testimony excluded by the trial court. Exhibits not admitted into evidence should be marked
and handed to the court’s reporter for inclusion in the record.

Practice Tip: Request to make an offer of proof outside the presence of the jury. On
the record, state what the evidence is, and why it should be admitted; then ask the
court to admit for the limited purpose of appeal. Evidence can be physical evidence or
testimony that was objected to and excluded because the court sustained the objection.

Bill of Exception Tex. R. App. P. 33.2

Informs appellate court of evidence that was excluded at trial and therefore is not reflected in
the record.

e Must obtain the trial court’s signature and must be filed with the trial court no later than
30 days after notice of appeal is filed.

e The document must be specific enough to make the trial judge aware of the rulings or
actions which are the subject of the complaint, and which will be asserted on appeal.

e Must be presented to trial judge and opposing counsel.
e (Can be agreed to by all parties or a hearing held to determine issues.

Practice Tip: A Bill of Exception is less common than an Offer of Proof but remains
a method for obtaining review of a matter which is not reflected in the record.
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Accelerated Appeals Tex. R. App. P. 28.1

Appeals in parental termination and child welfare cases (SAPCR filed by DFPS requesting
managing conservatorship) are governed by rules of appellate procedure for accelerated appeals
except as otherwise provided by Tex. R. App. P. 28.4.

e In an accelerated appeal, the notice of appeal must be filed within 20 days after the order
of judgment is signed. Tex. R. App. P. 26.1(b).

e To perfect an accelerated appeal, the notice of the appeal must be filed in compliance with
Tex. R. App. P. 25.1 within the time allowed by Tex. R. App. P. 26.1(b). Tex. R. App. P.
28.1(b). Filing a motion for new trial, or other post-trial motion, or findings of fact will not
extend the time to perfect an accelerated appeal.

Practice Tip: When arguing on the record, avoid using terms of art and acronyms
(FBSS, OV, “dad was positive,” etc.). Avoid terms like “ruled out” and “unable to
determine” etc., unless an explanation for what those terms mean is provided.
Attorneys should always strive to make the record very clear.

Expert Witnesses
ADMISSIBILITY

For expert testimony to be admissible, the court must be satisfied that three conditions are met:

e The witness qualifies as an expert;

e The subject matter of the testimony is an appropriate one for the expert’s testimony; and

e Admitting the expert testimony will assist the factfinder in deciding the case.
Even if the expert is qualified and the topic is a proper one for expert testimony, the proposed
testimony must also be reliable and relevant. E.I. du Pont de Nemours v. Robinson, 923 S.W.2d
549 (Tex. 1995).
EVIDENTIARY RULES ON EXPERT WITNESSES

e Must be relevant. Tex. R. Evid. 401.

e Relevant evidence is generally admissible; irrelevant evidence is not. Tex. R. Evid. 402.

e Testimony by experts is specialized knowledge that will assist the trier of fact to determine
a fact at issue. Expert testimony can be based upon knowledge, skill, training,or education
and expert can testify in the form of an opinion. Tex. R. Evid. 702.

e Basis of opinion by expert must be underlying data or facts that are basis of opinion
givento other party at or before hearing. Data must be of a type reasonably relied upon by
experts in that particular field. Tex. R. Evid. 703.

e Qualified experts can testify to their opinion as to the ultimate issue (i.e., should
parental rights be terminated?). Tex. R. Evid. 704.

e The court acts as a gatekeeper to determine if underlying facts or data are sufficiently
reliable as the basis for the opinion testimony (must request a hearing). Tex. R. Evid.
705(c).

“DAUBERT CHALLENGE”

Hearing to determine if expert’s opinion is based upon reliable facts. Burden of proof is
preponderance of the evidence. Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579, 113
S.Ct. 2786 (1993); E.I. du Pont de Nemours v. Robinson, 923 S.W.2d 549 (Tex. 1995).



The court must determine that:

The expert’s field of expertise employs sound principles and methods;
The expert’s opinion is based on sufficient facts or data; and
The expert has applied the principles and methods in a reliable manner.

ROBINSON RELIABILITY FACTORS

The extent to which the theory has been or can be tested,;

The extent to which the technique relies upon the subjective interpretation of the
expert;

Whether the theory has been subjected to peer review and/or publication;
The technique’s potential rate of error;

Whether the underlying theory or technique has been generally accepted as valid by the
relevant scientific community; and

The non-judicial uses which have been made of the theory or technique.

These factors are not exclusive factors, and the trial courts may consider other factors which
are helpful to determining the reliability of the scientific evidence. E.I. du Pont de Nemours v.
Robinson, 923 S.W.2d 549 (Tex. 1995).

SAMPLE QUESTIONS ON EXPERT QUALIFICATION

What is your occupation/profession?
What is your educational background?
What degrees, certificates, or licenses do you have?

Have you attended or conducted continuing education seminars, conferences and
related training?

Are you a member in any professional organizations/societies?
Have you received any awards or other professional recognition?
Have you published articles in your field?

How many cases involving [subject matter] have you handled?

How many years have you worked in this field?

SAMPLE QUESTIONS ON NEED FOR EXPERT OPINION

What is it about a brain injury/a burn injury/bite marks that requires an expert to explain?

What is it about this case that a lay person with no background in this field might not
understand?

What are the key principles that a person without education or experience in this field
would need to grasp in order to understand this case?

Can you explain the research/theoretical basis/scientific principles involved in this field of
study to a non-expert?

Do you believe your testimony will aid the judge or jury in understanding the facts in this
case? How?

Practice Tip: Review criminal court cases for new law and/or science, as they tend
to be reviewed more often than family law cases — i.e., arson and bite mark science
has changed significantly over time.
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SAMPLE QUESTIONS ON BASIS FOR OPINION
e Have you examined or interviewed the child/parent/other person?

e Have you administered any medical or psychological tests to the child/parent/other
person?

e Have you reviewed medical records/documents/police reports?
e Have you made a diagnosis/made a conclusion/formed an opinion?

e Did you rely on any other source of information in forming your opinion other than the
medical records/documents/police reports that we have discussed?

e If so, what other sources did you rely on?

e If the facts were [supply hypothetical] could you render an oplnlon regarding cause of
injury; whether the injury was intentional; whether the injury is consistent with the
parent’s report of the incident?

CROSS-EXAMINATION QUESTIONS OF THE OPPOSING EXPERT

e Has your theory been tested, or can it be tested?

Does your technique rely on subjective interpretation?
Has your theory been peer reviewed or publicized?
What is the rate of error?

Has your theory been generally accepted as valid by the relevant scientific community?

e Have there been any other non-judicial uses of your theory?

Drug Testing

Drug tests are commonly admitted into evidence through a parent (party) admission. Otherwise,
for proper admission of drug test results, the source of the testing, the method used, and/or the
circumstances or preparation of the test must indicate trustworthiness.

Error can be committed unless:

e The qualifications of the person conducting the test are admitted;
e There is testimony as to the type of test; and

e The expert shows that the test is standard and accepted for the substance tested.

Laying the proper foundation typically requires the testimony of three different people: a chain of
custody witness, an expert to establish the reliability and proper techniques and testing protocol,
and an expert to testify to the results.

Attempts to admit drug test results using a business records affidavit are subject to a hearsay
objection. An expert witness must be present to prove up not only the testing protocol and chain
of custody, but also the test results. See In re K.C.P., 142 S.'W.3d 574, 580 (Tex. App.-Texarkana
2004, no pet.). See also Philpot v. State, 897 S.W.2d 848, 852 (Tex. App.-Dallas 1995, pet. ref d).

Practice Tip: Consider filing a Motion to Exclude the drug test results if the proper
foundation is not laid.




Practice Tip: Drug testing results admitted without proper foundation are not
reversible error if the drug testing results come into evidence through other means
(i.e., the parents testify to the use/admit to the probable results). DFPS may confront
a parent with a positive test result, and if the parent admits to the use of the drugs
confirmed in the test, then the fact of usage may not be an issue, but the specific drug
and/or the amount used may still be at issue.

Practice Tip: In some circumstances, a client may fear being held criminally liable
for admitting to drug use and may wish to assert their Fifth Amendment privilege
against self-incrimination. However, there are important limitations on the privilege
when it is asserted in a civil case and it is prudent to counsel the client regarding the
benefits and drawbacks of asserting the Fifth Amendment prior to testimony. See
the Parents with an Open Criminal Case section of this tool kit for more information.

COMMON OBJECTIONS TO DRUG TESTING RESULTS

Chain of custody;
Hearsay; and
Lack of proper foundation.
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Investigations & Alternatives to Removal of a Child

Federal law requires that the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) make
reasonable efforts consistent with child safety to prevent or eliminate the need for removing a
child from a family’s home. Not all investigations and interactions with families lead to removal
of children. Below are examples of alternative interventions in lieu of removal. The best legal
alternative will depend on the facts of each case.

The Investigation Cannot Be Completed
COURT ORDER IN AID OF INVESTIGATION

If a person interferes with an investigation of a family, or DFPS cannot access the child or the
child’s records, DFPS may petition a court to order the following on a showing of good cause:

e Access to a home, school, or any place where a child may be;

e A medical, psychological, or psychiatric exam (or to obtain the records of such an exam).Tex.
Fam. Code §§ 261.303, 261.3031.

There is a Safety Issue, but the Family is Compliant

SAFETY PLANS

A Safety Plan is defined by DFPS as a voluntary written agreement between DFPS and adult
family members to address a specific threat to a child in the immediate or foreseeable future.
The plan must be created with the family and be written in a practical, action-oriented manner
and acknowledge a family’s network of support. A petition for legal intervention is not filed
with the court, and no court orders are entered in association with a Safety Plan, and as a
result the plan is not legally binding. Safety plans are voluntary agreements, and a parent can
revoke their agreement at any time. However, DFPS policy states if the family is unwilling to
participate in a safety plan to address dangers to the child, the caseworker must determine if it
is necessary to remove the child from the home. CPS Policy Handbook § 12651.

In a Safety Plan, a parent may agree to:

e Place a child in a short-term placement outside the home, (sometimes referred to as
a Parent-Child Safety Placement (PCSP), until the safety concern in the home can be
adequately addressed;

e Temporarily suspend or restrict visitation; and/or

e Submit to random drug testing requests.

ALTERNATIVE RESPONSE (AR)

The AR program was created to help families with low to moderate risk cases. In order to be
considered for the program, all alleged child victims must be over the age of 6 and the intake
must have received a designation of Priority 2 (P2). In an AR case, no final disposition, no
alleged perpetrator, and no entry are made into the Central Registry. The goal is to provide a
collaborative and non-judgmental environment to work with the family whose children are not in
the managing conservatorship of DFPS to address concerns through protective services in order
to prevent the need for further official intervention.

For more information, see the DFPS Alternative Response Resource Guide.

FAMILY-BASED SAFETY SERVICES (FBSS)

FBSS offers protective services to a family whose children are not in the managing conservatorship
of DFPS in order to prevent the need to remove a child from the home. Participation in FBSS
bya family is voluntary and is accompanied by a Safety Plan meant to sufficiently address the
danger indicators or risk factors present that cause concern for child safety. Parents do not have
to engage in or comply with the voluntary services. However, DFPS has the option of initiating
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further legal intervention if it determines that the lack of compliance constitutes a danger to
the child.

There is a Safety Issue, but the Family is not Compliant

COURT ORDER FOR PARTICIPATION IN SERVICES/MOTION TO
PARTICIPATE (COS/MTP)

If a family has refused services or is not voluntarily cooperating with services provided or funded
by DFPS, DFPS can seek a court order to require a parent to participate in services designed
to alleviate the effects of abuse or neglect or to reduce the reasonable likelihood of abuse or
neglect in the immediate or foreseeable future. The services ordered by the court are provided
by FBSS. A parent’s failure to comply with court-ordered services may lead to DFPS filing a
petition to remove a child and may be offered as evidence. See CPS Policy Handbook § 2400 for
more information on the relationship between FBSS and COS/MTP. See also, the Court-Ordered
Services section of this tool Kkit.

There is a Need for an Alternative Placement
PARENTAL CHILD SAFETY PLACEMENT (PCSP)

A Parental Child Safety Placement (PCSP) is an agreed temporary out-of-home placement
approved by DFPS made by a parent with a caregiver who is either related to the child or has a
long-standing and significant relationship with the child or family. With a proper authorization
agreement, a parent can give an adult caregiver of a child placed under a PCSP the authority
to take action, including but not limited to medical consent, school enrollment, consent for
participation in school and sport events, applying for public benefits, and related authority. Tex.
Fam. Code §§ 34.002, 34.0021. The PCSP expires in 60 days unless it is renewed by all parties.

For more information, see the DFPS PCSP Resource Guide found online.

The Parent Is a Victim Of Family Violence

ORDER FOR REMOVAL OF AN ALLEGED PERPETRATOR (“KICK-OUT
ORDER”)

It is well established that separating a child from their home and caregiver can be traumatizing.
If an alleged perpetrator will not voluntarily leave the home and if the remaining parent or
caretaker of the child will make a reasonable effort to monitor and report any attempt by the
alleged perpetrator to return to the home, a temporary restraining order could be used to remove
the alleged perpetrator. It is a Class A Misdemeanor to violate this temporary restraining order.
This order lasts for 14 days. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.1015. This timing allows a protective parent
time to initiate a custody suit or seek a protective order.

Practice Tip: If the protection of the child requires an order lasting longer than
14 days, a protective order can be requested. (See section immediately below.) This
requires a separate application to be filed instead of, or in addition to, the Kick-Out
Order.



http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/cps/Resource_Guides/PCSP_Resource_Guide.pdf

Practice Tip: If a client is uncertain whether to seek a protective order or a temporary
restraining order, consider filing for both the temporary restraining order and the
protective order at the same time in order to only have to complete service on the
alleged perpetrator once. The protective order hearing can always be passed if it is
not necessary, and the temporary restraining order expires in 14 days. Current law
allows the temporary Ex Parte Protective Order to last up to 20 days with the ability
to extend its duration for an additional 20 days at a time. Tex. Fam. Code § 83.002.

PROTECTIVE ORDERS

Domestic violence is often a presenting issue in child welfare cases. If a parent is a victim
of domestic violence, parents’ attorneys may want to consider filing for a protective order on
behalf of their client to help demonstrate their protective capacity. Children’s attorneys may
also consider filing for a protective order if the child is a victim.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The prosecuting attorney of the county (criminal
district attorney or county attorney) will file the application for protective order at no
cost on behalf of the applicant. If the prosecuting attorney is representing DFPS in a
suit against the applicant, the prosecutor is not prohibited from filing the application,
subject to the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct. However, the
prosecutor’s office is not required to file the protective order if they find it to be a
conflict or it does not meet their qualifications for filing. Advise a client to exercise
caution in sharing information in applying for a protective order that might be used
against them in a child welfare case.

Filing
Any adult, including a parent or guardian, who is acting on behalf of a victim of an offense
under Texas Penal Code §§ 20A.02, 20A.03, 21.02, 21.11, 22.011, 22.012, 42.072, or 43.05 may

file an application for a protective order if the victim is younger than 18 years of age. Tex. Code
of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.001.

Required Findings

A victim of family violence may be issued a protective order upon a finding that family violence
has occurred and is likely to occur again in the future. Tex. Fam. Code §85.001. Except as
otherwise provided by statute, a protective order is effective for the period stated in the order,
not to exceed two years or, if not stated in the order, until the second anniversary of the date
the order was issued. Tex. Fam. Code § 85.025.

Upon a finding that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant is the victim of
sexual assault or abuse, indecent assault, stalking, or trafficking, a court shall issue a protective
order including a statement of the required findings. Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.003. An
offender’s conviction of or placement on deferred adjudication community supervision for any of
the above offenses constitutes reasonable grounds. Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.003.

Obtaining a protective order does not require proof of any visible marks or bruises and, in a
hearing for a protective order, a statement made by a child 12 years old or younger describing
alleged family violence is admissible in the same manner as provided by Tex. Fam. Code §
104.006. Tex. Fam. Code § 84.006.
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In a hearing on application for a protective order under Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Ch. 7B, a
statement that is made by a child younger than 14 years of age who is the victim of an offense
under Tex. Penal Code §§ 21.02, 21.11, 22.011, 22.012, or 22.021 that describes the offense
committed against the child is admissible as evidence in the same manner that a child’s
statement regarding the abuse against the child is admissible under Tex. Fam. Code § 104.006.
Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.004.

Ex Parte Orders

While awaiting a protective order hearing, temporary ex parte orders issued prohibit a
respondent from doing certain acts (such as causing emotional and physical abuse of the child)
or going near the child or residence. DFPS can file such orders alone or jointly with another
protective person.

Duration

The temporary ex parte protective order may be issued for up to 20 days and may be extended
for additional 20-day periods. Tex. Fam. Code § 83.002. After notice and hearing, a court may
issue a protective order. A court may render a protective order sufficient to protect the applicant
and members of the applicant’s family or household that is effective for more than two years if
the court makes certain findings about the person who is the subject of the protective order. See
Tex. Fam. Code § 85.025(a-1). Additionally, an application for protective order may be renewed.
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 82.008, 82.0085.

A protective order issued under Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.003, may be effective for the
duration of the lives of the offender and victim or for any shorter period stated in the order. A
parent or guardian may not file an application to rescind the protective order if the parent or
guardian is the alleged offender subject to the protective order. Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art.
7B.007.

The court shall issue a lifetime protective order if the offender is:

e Convicted of or placed on deferred adjudication community supervision for an offense
listed in Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art 7B.001(a)(1); and

e Required to register for life as a sex offender under Tex. Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 62. Tex.
Code of Crim. Pro. Art. 7B.007(a-1).

Enforcement

A violation of a protective order is a criminal offense. Tex. Fam. Code § 85.026; Tex. Code Crim.
Pro. Art. 7B.006.



Court-Ordered Services

Court-Ordered Services is also referred to as Required Participation or Motion to Participate.

Requirements for Filing a Petition

DFPS may file a suit in the county in which the child is located requesting the court to render a
temporary order requiring the parent, managing conservator, guardian, or other member of the
child’s household to participate in services for:

e Alleviating the effects of the abuse or neglect that has occurred;

e Reducing a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child or reducing
a substantial risk of abuse or neglect caused by an act or failure to act of the parent,
managing conservator, guardian, or other member of the child’s household; and

e Permitting the child and any siblings of the child to receive services. Tex. Fam. Code §
264.203(a).

The petition must be supported by a sworn affidavit by a person based on personal knowledge
and stating facts sufficient to support a finding that:

e The child has been a victim of abuse or neglect or is at substantial risk of abuse or neglect;
and

e There is a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child caused by an
act or failure to act of the parent, managing conservator, guardian, or other member of
the child’s household unless that person participates in services requested by DFPS. Tex.
Fam. Code § 264.203(d).

Appointment of Counsel

Immediately after the filing of a petition for court-ordered services but before the 14-day
hearing, the court must appoint counsel for the child(ren) and counsel for a parent for whom
participation in services is requested. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(g) and (h).

A parent who is indigent and appears in opposition to the motion has a right to a court-appointed
attorney. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(1)(2). The court is not required to appoint an attorney for a
parent who is not asked to participate in services or any non-parent who is asked to participate
in services. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(h).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Attorneys should review and complete the affidavit
of indigency with their client prior to the initial hearing. A completed affidavit can
help avoid continuances or other delays in the client’s case.

In court-ordered services cases, court-appointed attorneys for children have the powers and
duties under Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.003 and 107.004 and court-appointed attorneys for parents
have the powers and duties under Tex. Fam. Code § 107.0131.

If a parent is found indigent, the court-appointed attorney may continue to represent the
parent. If the court determines that a parent is not indigent the court must discharge the
attorney ad litem after the hearing and must order the parent to pay the cost of the attorney
ad litem’s representation. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(j). The court may postpone any subsequent
proceeding for up to seven days after discharge to allow the parent time to hire counsel. Tex.
Fam. Code § 264.203(k).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Pursuant to Tex. R. Civ. P. 131, if the client
prevails at the temporary orders hearing, court-appointed attorneys for parents who
are determined not to be indigent might consider asking for a judgment against the
Department in the amount of the cost for their court-appointed representation.
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Ex Parte Orders Prohibited

An order for required participation can be entered only after notice and a hearing. Tex. Fam.
Code § 264.203(1).
14 Day Hearing

The court must set a hearing no later than 14 days after the date the petition was filed unless
the court finds good cause to extend that date for not more than 14 days.

STATUTE
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(f), (m), and (n)

PURPOSE

To determine whether the family is in need of services to address allegations of abuse and
neglect and alleviate a continuing danger to the child.

STANDARD OF PROOF

Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution. Tex. Fam. Code §
264.203(m).

REQUIRED SHOWING

At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must deny the petition unless the court finds:

e An act or failure to act of the parent, managing conservator, guardian, or other member of
the child’s household resulted in:

o abuse or neglect of the child; or
o a substantial risk of abuse or neglect to the child; or

o continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child; and

e Services are necessary to ensure the physical health or safety of the child. Tex. Fam. Code
§ 264.203(m).

COURT ACTION

Before the hearing begins, the court must inform each parent of their right to an attorney and
to a court-appointed attorney, if indigent. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(1).

If DFPS meets their required showing, the court must:

e State its findings in the order;

e Make appropriate temporary orders under Chapter 105 necessary to ensure the safety of
the child; and

e Order the participation in specific services narrowly tailored to address the findings made
by the court. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(n).

The court may not require a parent to participate in services if that parent/party did not cause
the alleged abuse or neglect, the substantial risk of abuse or neglect, or the continuing danger
to the child.

Once services are ordered, a parent may obtain services from a qualified service provider of
their own selection. After obtaining verification of completion of the service from the provider
selected by the parent, DFPS must accept the verification as proof of successful completion of
the service. However, if the parent selects their own provider, the parent is responsible for the
cost of the services. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.2031.



An order for required participation expires on the 180th day after the date the order is signed
unless extended as provided by Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(r) or (s).

Safety Plans

A family in in a court-ordered services case may already have a Safety Plan with DFPS as
part of the investigation or ongoing FBSS case and the status of the Safety Plan may become
an issue in the court-ordered services case. (See the Investigations & Alternatives to Removal
section of this tool kit for more information on DFPS Safety Plans.)

The court is not authorized to incorporate compliance with a safety plan in its orders, but
the court may make its own orders regarding the child’s safety. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(n)
provides that if a court renders an order granting the Department’s petition the court shall
“make appropriate temporary orders under Chapter 105 necessary to ensure the safety of the
child....”

Texas Family Code §105.001 provides that a court may make a temporary order, including the
modification of a prior temporary order, for the safety and welfare of the child, including an
order:

e For the temporary conservatorship of the child;

e For the temporary support of the child;

e Restraining a party from disturbing the peace of the child or another party;

e Prohibiting a person from removing the child beyond a geographical area identified by the

Court; or

e For payment of reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses.

Practice Tip: With proper notice and pleadings, courts may temporarily place a
child with another party and/or make other appropriate orders pursuant to Chapter
105, provided the Court’s orders are necessary to ensure the safety of the child. These
orders would be limited to 180 days pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(q) unless
extended pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(r) or (s).

Review Hearings

The court must review the status of each person required to participate in services within 90
days after the date the court renders the order. The court shall set subsequent review hearings
every 90 days to review the continued need for the order.

STATUTE
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(p)
PURPOSE

To review the continued need for the order.

STANDARD OF PROOF
Preponderance of the evidence. Tex. Fam. Code § 105.005

REQUIRED SHOWING

No statutory requirements.

COURT ACTION

No statutory requirements.
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Once a client has completed services, a motion
for dismissal can be filed immediately rather than waiting to address the issue at the
next statutorily required review hearing.

Extension

A court-ordered services case may be extended up to an additional 180 days from the original
expiration date upon a showing by DFPS of a continuing need for the order, after notice and
hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203(r).

The Court may extend an order up to an additional 180 days only if the extension is requested
by the person required to participate in services or that person’s attorney and the Court finds:

o The extension is necessary to allow the person time to complete ordered services; and

e The department made a good faith effort to timely provide the services to the person; and

e The person made a good faith effort to complete the services; and

e The completion of the services is necessary to ensure the physical health and safety of the
child; and

o The ext(el;sion 1s requested by the person or the person’s attorney. Tex. Fam. Code §
264.203(s).



Hearings at a Glance

AT A GLANCE

Permanency Permanency
Adversary Status Hearing Before Hearing After Final
Final Order Order
. . 1st at 180 days 180 days, except 1st
H Set Timel 4 days 60 days : g, o
SAESHE Seb Sy I sleys 0 days therealter, 120 days atl 90 days il TPR
Court of Exclusive, :
Continuing Jurisdietion Yes No Yes No
Child AAL and GAL No later than 14-day | Required before 14-
. . . Yes Yes
Appointed Hearing day Hearing
Parent Attorney Yes Yes Yes No
Notice of Hearing Yes Yes Yes Yes
Court Report Filed . - . .
and Provided Yes Yes Yes Yes
Identify All Parties . . . e
and Swear Witnesses Not Required Not Required Yes Yes
glqu.] re About Absent Yes Yes Yes Yes
arties
]IEII};’I(;I;:Q = Aborrk Riligent Yes Yes Yes Yes
?ddljesa SRR E Yes Yes, il outstanding Yes. il outstanding No
arties
Address Parentage Issues Yes Yes, il outstanding Yes, il outstanding No
gsu? L e Yes Yes, il outstanding Yes, il outstanding No
ervice
Admonish Parents of - -
Right to Attorney Yes Yes Yes No
Admonish Parents of TPR Yes Yes Yes No
“ésgmv“"ed Yes No No No
lircumstances
Inquire About Indian Yes Yos Yos No, unless new
Heritage and Document S 8 o8 information
Indian Child Welfare Act Clear and
,ean LA SIEAES S2ES convincing, expert Active efforts Active efforts No
if applicable .
testimony
Child Placefnent Yes Yes, if outstanding No No
Resources Form
Child £}skcd about Yos Yes Yos Yes
potential placements
h}lt—lal Home Studies on e T S il
File
Child Present No No Yes Yes
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A1 A GLANCE

Permanency Hearing

Permanency Hearing

Adversary Status Before Final Order After Final Order

LFAAL ]:msn't seen client, Yos Yes Yeos Yos

etermine good cause
Review Current and
Alternative Placement Yes Yes Yes Yes
Determine if able to
place with relative, cite Yes Yes Yes No
evidence
itl‘):r:‘;;l}lgj:twe. inform Yes Yes Yes Yes
Temporary Visitation " .
Plan on File Yes No No No
Review Visitation Plan No Yes Yes Yes
Service Plan Development No Yes No No
Review Service Plan No Yes Review Compliance | Review Compliance
Review Permanency Goal No No Yes Yes
Review Education Goals, . .
e No Il needed Yes Yes
Education Decision-Maker . o
Identified No Yes Yes Yes
Review Medical Care No Yes Yes Yes
Medical Consenter . o 7o .
Identified Yes Yes Yes Yes
Child’s Opinion on . "
Medical Care Known No No Yes Yes
Normaley Activities No No Yes Yes

Reasonable Efforts
Findings Required

Yes, to determine evidence
sufficient for TMC to

Yes, as relates to Service
Plan Requirements

Yes, as relates to
execution of

Yes, as relates to
execution of

DFPS Permanency Plan Permanency Plan
Determine Dismissal Date Yes Yes Yes No
Transitional Living Plan on
File if Child is 16 or Older No No No Yes
Dept. has conducted
Independent Living Skills No No Yos Ye
Assessment if required
Rewvi Extended

eview mxtende No No No Yes

Jurisdietion
Set Next Hearing Yes Yes Yes Yes
Issue Order and

Yes Yes Yes Yes

Provide to Parties




Judicial Hearing Check Lists

As part of the Texas Child Protection Law Bench Book and Bench Cards, the Children’s
Commission includes check lists for judges presiding over DFPS cases to utilize at each statutorily
required hearing to ensure the court is meeting statutory requirements and implementing best
practices. It may be useful for attorneys representing parents and children to become familiar

with the check lists to better understand the obligations and expectations of the court.

Adversary Hearing Checklist

15 Minules; up lo 25 suggesied besl praclice

Statutory

Prior to the Hearing:
Hearing within 14 days of removal unless
temporary order extended
Child’s GAI/AAL appointed

At the Hearing:

[dentify parties present and served

Inform parents of right to attorney

Determine indigence

DEPS provided notice to relatives

Need for language interpretation

= Child Placement Resources Form/efforts to
identify/locate parties not present

Child provided opportunity to provide information
about possible relative or other caregiver

I Parties served

CCEJ identilied

Determine if child can be placed with relative
and note evidence

I CPS and criminal background checks conducted

and home studies initiated

I If ¢hild with relative, inform about Permanency

Care Assistance

Indian/Native American IHeritage

Temporary Family Visitation Plan

Determine good cause il AAL has not seen child

Court Findings

At the End of the Hearing:

Determine sufficient evidence regarding the
parent from whom the child was removed to
grant DIFPS TMC of child; il not, return child to
that parent.

Document. danger to child to return to home
or remain in home and remaining in home
is contrary to welfare; reasonable efforts to
prevent removal and to return child home

I[f TMC to DFPS, inform parents that rights
may be terminated or limited

Il cite by pub needed, may render temporary
order anyway

Determine aggravated circumstances alleged or
exist

[ family violence, protective order necessary
or available

I child vietim of human tralficking, placement.
in secure agency foster or group home

Place the child with a pareni not involved in
the removal unless there is evidence that the
parent cannot be located or is unwilling to take
possession of the child or possession of the child
by the parent conslitules a continuing danger
to the child despite reasonable efforts to enable
possession.

Place child with a relative unless not in best
interest

Determine whether DIFPS is able to place child
with relative or other designated caregiver;
note evidence supporting finding either way
ISSUE COURT ORDER

e Service

Notice of removal

Parentage or DNA testing

Dismissal date

.
.
.
e Transfer CCEJ, if applicable

Best Practices

7 Engage parties with direct questions
~ Review services with parents

Set Status Hearing date

Open court notice

Ask the following questions:

Well-being Issues at Status Hearing

e What is preventing this child from returning
home today?

o How is my decision specific to this child and
this family?

e Are there cultural issues we need to
understand?

School stability, education goals, progress, and
issues, and education decision-maker

7 Medieal care and behavioral or psychiatric care

Young adult presence at hearing or opinion
about education or medical care

Updated March 2022
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Status Hearing Checklist

15 Minutes; up to 25 suggesied best practice

Statutory

Prior to the Hearing:

~ Hearing 60 days after DFPS appointed TMC,
unless aggravated circumstances

~ Persons given 10 days’ notice of hearing
Visitation Plan filed least 10 days before

Statutory Hearings

Family Plan of Service [iled no later than 415th
day after DFPS appointed TMC

~ lducation decision-maker form filed

At the Hearing:

T ldentily parties present and served

DIPS due diligence to locate parties

DFPS provided notice to relatives

Need for language interpretation

Inform parents of right to attorney

If AAL hasn’t seen client, determine good cause

Child Placement Resources Form filed

T Child  provided opportunity to provide
information about possible relative or other
aregiver
If child with relative, inform about Permanency
Care Assistance

Family Plan of Service (SP)

Determine if:

e SP developed jointly with parents

e Each term reviewed/discussed with parents;
parents understand

e Parents informed of rights with SP process

e Noted if parent not able or willing to
participate in development of SP

Visitation Plan (VP)
1 Review VI

e Age and salety of child at/during visitation
Desires of each parent regarding visitation
Location of each parent and child
Transportation to/from visits
DEFPS/other resources available to support
visitation

* o 0 o
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~ Medical eonsent form filed

If parent is unrepresented, inform of right to
counsel, determine indigency, and appoint
attorney

Dismissal date set

Child “3 in 30" exam trio performed no later
than 30th day after child entered TMC of DFPS.

Paternily issues/Paternity Registry

Mome studies initiated

Review current and alternative placements
Review conservatorship and substitute care of
the child

Indian/Native American Heritage

DEPS held or plans to hold Permanency
Planning Meeting

Address citizenship issues, consulate notified
Review child’s medical care

e Plan has primary and concurrent goal
e [’lan is signed by parents and DFPS
Parent has opportunity to comment on SP
Court can modily SP at any time

Court may modify VP at any time

If find visitation not in child’s best interest,
include in order reasons and specific steps
parent must take to have visitation
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Status Hearing Checklist

continued

Court Findings

At the End of the Hearing:

H £L10)Nnje)g

Determine whether SP narrowly tailored for
specific issues identified by DFPS

Determine whether any SP  with goal of
reunification adequately ensures thal reasonable
elforts made to enable parents to provide sale
environment for child

Advise/warn parents & parties:

e Progress under SP reviewed at all hearings,
including review ol newly acquired knowledge
or skills

Incorporate SIP into court order and render

additional, appropriate orders (o require

compliance with or implement. SP

ISSUE COURT ORDER:

sgurIeo

e Dismissal date
& May transfer to court of continuing, exclusive
jurisdiction, if CCEJ exists

¢ Custodial rights and duties subject to
restrictionor termination orchild not returned
unless parent demonstrates willingness and
ability to provide child with sale environment

Best Practices

Ask the following questions:

o Whal is preventing this child from relurning
home today?

o [low is my decision specific to this child and

= Set first Permanency Hearing Before Final
Order and announce in open court
Engage parties with direct questions
e Do you understand the purpose of the Service

Plan? this famly?
= Ask direct and specific questions of the o Are there cultural issues we need to
understand?

Department about reasonable efforts

o What about this plan s narrowly tatlored to
address specific issues present in Ms, Smith’s
case?

Well-being Issues at Status Hearing

Review psychiatric care, especially if child or
youth prescribed psychotropic medication
Young adult presence at hearing or opinion
about education or medical care

School stability, education goals, progress, and
issues, and education decision-maker

71 Medical Consenter may need to be identified or
updated

_Updated March 2022



15 Minutes; up to 25 suggested best practice

Statutory
Prior to the Permanency Hearing (PH):

O If first PH, scheduled within 180 days after
DFPS named TMC

| If subsequent PH, scheduled within 120 days of
last PH

10 days’ notice provided

DFPS Permanency Progress Report filed at
least 10 days before PII and includes:

At the Hearing:

[dentify those present

Statutory Hearings

Child in attendance

DFPS due diligence to locate and serve parties
not present

Parent, alleged father or relative provided
locating information for absent parents, alleged
fathers, or relatives

= Child provided opportunity to provide
information about possible relative or other
caregiver

Il child with relative, inform about Permanency
Care Assistance

Paternity issues/Paternity Registry

Need for language interpretation

If parent unrepresented, inform of right to
counsel, determine indigency, and appoint
altorney

Indian/Native American Heritage

Citizenship issues, consulate notified
Compliance with orders/Service Plan and
progress made

Parties and those present heard and provided
opportunity to present evidence

Ifcaregiveris present, must be given opportunity
to provide information about the child.

If AAL has not seen child, determine good cause

Review Permanency Progress Report:

Salety and well-being of child

e Child’s needs (medical/special)

e Child’s placement

e lividence as to whether DFPS is able to place
with relative

e Child’s primary and alternative permanency
goals

e DI'PS reasonable efforts to [linalize
permanency plan

¢ Child provided opportunity to express
opinion about medical care

56

Permanency Hearing Before Final Order Checklist

e Child’s Permanency Plan
e Summary of Medical Care

"1 The court file includes:

e Notification of consent for medical care
e liducation Decision-Maker FForm 2085-12
e Visitation Plan

e [or child receiving psychotropic medication,
whether child has:

° been provided non-pharmacological
interventions.

o seen prescribing physician every 90 days
for review

e Child's education decision-maker identified,
education needs and goals identified and
addressed, and major changes in school
performance or disciplinary events

e If 14 or older, transition services to assist
from care o independent living

e For child with goal ol APPLA:

o child’s desired permanency outcome; and

o whether APPLA best permanency plan; if
so, provide compelling reasons why not in
child’s best interest. to:
= return home,
= adoption,

* placed with legal guardian, or
* placed with a fit and willing relative

o whether DFPS has conducted an
Independent Living Skills (ILS)
assessment for all youth 16 and older in
T™MC

> whether DFPS has addressed the goals
identified in the youth’s permanency plan.

o For youth 16 years ol age or older, whether
DFPS has provided documents required
by Section 264.121(e)

o For youth 18 years or older, or has had
disabilities of minority removed, whether
DFPS has provided youth with documents
and information listed in Section
264.121(c-1)

Child receiving appropriate medical care

Child has regular, ongoing opportunities for

age-appropriate normaley activities, including
those not in child’s service plan

Updated March 2022



Permanency Hearing Before Final Order Checklist

continued

Court Findings

At the End of the Hearing

Return the child to the parent or parents
unless, with respect to each parent, there is a
continuing danger to the health and safety of
the child and returning home is contrary to the
welfare of the child.

Advise/warn custodial rights and duties subject
to restriction or termination

Best Practices

71 If lack of notice, consider resetting hearing to

secure attendance

IEngage parties with direct questions

Engage youth

| Ask DFPS direct, child-specific questions about
primary and concurrent goal

If not moving to positive permanency, sel
timelines and tasks to be completed prior to
next hearing

I AAL knowledgeable about child’s needs and
legal objectives

I Set next PH 90 instead of 120 days

71 I'or Older Youth:

e [Family group decision-making

Well-being Issues
Medical Care and Mental Health

Summary of medical care:

e Nalure of emergency medical care

e All medical and mental health treatment
receiving and progress

e Any medication prescribed/progress

e Carcgiver compliance with treatment plan

Education and Educational Decisions

Enrolled and in appropriate grade

| Remain in current school, even if placement

changes

I If change placement, determine:

o Where child wants to attend school

e Whether transportation is available

e Whether change coordinated with grading
and testing periods

e Whether records/credits transferred

Incorporate changes or modifications to Service
Plan into order

Likely date child returned home, placed for
adoption, or placed in PMC

Set next PH within 120 days or sooner

Announce dismissal date and any upcoming
hearings

e Preparation for Adult Living (PAL)
e [fwill turn 18 while in foster care:
¢ discuss extended foster care and (rial
independence
¢ ensure referrals to Texas Workforce
Commission
¢ ensure appropriate  documents in
possession before leave care
Ask the following questions:
o What is preventing this child from returning
home today?
o How i1s my decision specific to this child and
this family?
e Are there cultural issues we need lo
understand?

e Adverse reaction or side effects

e Diagnosis or diagnostic tests

e Activity to avoid that affect effectiveness of
treatment

e Other info required

It 0-3, child assessed for developmential
milestones through ECI

If 0-5, enrolled in Early Head Start, Head Start,
or Pre-Kindergarten

Education Decision-Maker Form 2085E on file
School supports and disciplinary issues
Extracurricular activitiesmormaley

Evaluated for/receiving special education

[1 If 14 or older, postsecondary education plan

Updated March 2022
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Statutory

Prior to the Final Hearing:
71 Notice provided to parties within 45 days of trial
71 All parties served

At the Hearing:
71 Note appearances of all parties present

Statutory Hearings

Take announcements about readiness to proceed
to trial
Rule on any pending pretrial motions
Opening Statements, unless waived
Presentation of evidence
Closing arguments, unless waived
Evidence
¢ Grounds for termination
e [olley v. Adams Best Interest:
o desires of the child
o emotional and physical needs of child now
and in future

Final Hearing Checklist for Non-Jury Trial

T Legal relief properly plead
7 Compliance with Indian Child Wellare Act, il

apphcable

o emotional and physical danger to child
now and in future

o parental abilities of individuals seeking
custody

o programs available to assist those
individuals to promote best interest of
child

o plans for child by these individuals or by
agency secking custody

o stability of home or proposed placement

o acls or omissions ol pareni which may
indicate  that  existing  parent-child
relationship not a proper one

o any excuse [or acls or omissions of the
parent

Court Findings

At the End of the Hearing:

7 Determine if met burden of proof:

e Termination of Parental Rights: Clear and
Convineing Evidence

o [ ICWA applies: Beyond a Reasonable Doubt

e (Conservatorship: Preponderance of the
Evidence

If termination, appoint DFPS or individual as

managing conservator (MC)

71 If no termination and DFPS awarded MC, find
that:

e Appointment of parent not in child's
best interest because would significantly
impair child’s physical health or emotional
development; and

e Nol in child’s best interest (o appoint relative
of child or another person as managing
conservator

7 If no termination and DFPS awarded MC,

consider whether:

e The child will turn 18 in not less than 3 years;

e The child is at least 12 years old or has
continuously expressed a strong desire
against being adopted: and

e Needs and desires of child

Advise parties of right to appeal

Set Permanency Hearing After Final Order

(PHAFO) within 90 days if MC granted to DFPS

with termination

Set PHAKFO within 180 days if MC granted to

DEPS without termination

Continue appointment of child’s attorney ad

litem (AAL), or guardian ad litem (GAL), or

altorney in the dual role as long as the child is

in the conservatorship of DFPS

Best Practices

Remind Parent Attorney of appellate duties

58

Set initial hearings sooner than statutorily
required to ensure progress toward child's
permanency goal
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Permanency Hearing After Final Order Checklist

15 Minutes; up to 25 suggested best practice

Statutory

Prior to Permanency Hearing (PH)

If parental rights terminated, first PIT within 90
days of final order

If parent rights not terminated, first PH within
180 days of final order

7 10 days’ notice of hearing

At the Hearing:
Identify those present

Child in attendance

Review DIFPS elforts to notily of hearing

If AAL has not seen client, form filed

Review Permanency Progress Report:

L ]
L
L

Child’s salety and well-being

Child’s needs (medical/special)

Child’s placement, noting evidence as to

whether DIFPS can place child with relative

If in institutional care, efforts to ensure least

restrictive environment

Primary/alternative permanency goals

DFPS reasonable efforts to finalize the

permanency plan:

o duediligence to place for adoption il rights
terminated and child eligible; or

o APPLA. including appointing relative
as PMC or returning the child to parent,
appropriate for child

For child with APPLA goal:

o desired permanency outcome; and

o whether APPLA best permanency plan; if

so, compelling reasons why not in child’s
best interest to:
= return home,
= be placed for adoption,
* be placed with legal guardian, or

Be placed with [il and willing relative

e whether DFPS has conducted an
Independent, Living  Skills (11.8)
assessment for all youth 16 and older in
TMC or PMC

o whether DFPS has conducted an ILS for
all youth 14 and older in PMC

o whether DFPS has addressed the goals
identified in the youth’s permanency plan

o for youth 16 years of age or older, whether
DFPS has provided documents required
by Section 264.121(¢e)

I DFPS Permanency Progress Report filed 10

days belore hearing; includes
e Summary of Medical Care

| The court file includes:

o Notification of consent for medical care
e [iducation Decision-Maker Form 2085E

o for youth 18 years or older, or has had
disabilities of minority removed, whether
DFPS has provided youth with documents
and information listed in  Section
264.121(e-1)

o I[f14orolder, servicestoassistintransitioning
from care to independent living in community

o Receiving appropriate medical care and
provided opportunity to express opinion on
medical care

e [f receiving psychotropic medication:

o provided appropriate non-pharmacological
interventions, therapies, or strategies to
meet needs; or

= seen by prescribing physician, physician
assistant, or advanced practice nurse al
least once every 90 days

e [ducation Decision-Maker and education
needs and goals identified, major changes in
school performance or serious disciplinary
eventls

e For child in PMC without termination,
whether DIFPS to provide services to parent
for up to 6 months after PI if:

o child not placed with relative or other
individual, including foster parent,
seeking PMC; and

o court determines [urther efforts at
reunification with parent:

= in best interest of child; and
= likely to result in child’s safe return to
parent

e DIPS identified family or other caring adult
with permanent commitment to child

e Child provided opportunity (o provide
information about possible relative or other
caregiver

e If child with vrelative, inform about
Permanency Care Assistance

Updated March 2022
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Permanency Hearing After Final Order Checklist
Continued

1 Review DFPS’s efforts to ensure the child has 7 Ensure those present given opportunity to

Statutory Hearings

60

regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in
age-appropriate normaley activities, including
activities not listed in the child’s service plan.

I Address citizenship issues, consulate notified,

SIS

Court Findings

At the End of the Hearing:

Issue court order

Best Practices

T If inadequate notice, consider resetting hearing

to secure attendance

Engage parties with direct questions

Engage youth

Ask DIFPS direct, child-specific questions about
both primary and concurrent goal

Next PH by 90 or 120 instead of 180 days

FFor youth who will turn 18 while in care:

e Discuss extended foster care and trial
independence

e Ensure vreferrals to Texas Workforce
Commission

e Ensure delivery of documents before leave
care

Well-being Issues
Medical Care and Mental Health

Summary ol medical care:

e Nature of emergency medical care

e All medical and mental health treatment
receiving and progress

o Any medication preseribed/progress

e Caregiver compliance with treatment plan

Education and Educational Decisions

Enrolled in school/in appropriate grade
Remains in current school, if placement change
If placement change, determine:

o Where child wants to attend school

o Whether transportation available

o Whether change coordinated with grading
and testing periods
Whether records/credits transferred

be heard and if caregiver is present, must be
allowed to provide information

Confer with child about permanency plan

Regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in
age-appropriate normaley activities

Set next PH within 180 days

Youth advised of eligibility for Family Group
Decision-Making or Circles of Support to discuss
future plans

I Youth enrolled in PAL or provided transitional

services alter 14th birthday

Ask the following questions:

e What is preventing this child from returning
home today?

e How is my decision specific to this child and
this family?

o Are there cullural issues we need (o
understand?

e Adverse reaction or side effects

e Diagnosis or diagnostic tesls

e Aclivity to avoid thal allecl effectiveness ol
treatment

e Other info required

| If 0-3, child assessed for developmental

milestones through ECI

| If 0-5, child enrolled in Early IHead Start, Head

Start, or Pre-Kindergarten

Educational Decision-maker Form 2085E on file
School supports and disciplinary issues
Extracurricular activities/mormaley

| Evaluated/receiving special ed services
I Tf 14 or older, postsecondary education plan
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Ex Parte Hearings

Ex Parte Order Prior to Removal of Child
STATUTE

Tex. Fam. Code § 262.102

PURPOSE

To determine whether a court will authorize in advance the removal of a child and grant TMC
of the child to DFPS until an Adversary Hearing can be held.

STANDARD OF PROOF

Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution.

BEST INTEREST

Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship,
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

INDIAN CHILD WELFARE ACT (ICWA)

A court can order emergency removal of an “Indian child” only if necessary “to prevent imminent
physical damage or harm to the child.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.113(d). This must be followed by a noticed
hearing where DFPS must prove by clear and convincing evidence, including testimony from
a Qualified Expert Witness (QEW), that a “foster care placement” is warranted. This hearing
cannot be held until 10 days after notice of ICWA has been provided and is subject to a 20-day
extension on request of a parent or Tribe.

Practice Tip: To avoid the need to continue the hearing, the best practice is for the
hearing to be set at least 30 days out. Please see additional information in the Indian
Child Welfare Act section of this tool kit.

REQUIRED SHOWING FOR EXPARTE ORDER BEFORE REMOVAL HEARING

DFPS must submit sufficient evidence to prove:

e Kither an immediate danger to the physical health or safety of the child, or that thechild
has been a victim of neglect or sexual abuse;*

e That continuation in the home would be contrary to the child’s welfare; and

e That there is no time, consistent with the child’s physical health or safety and the nature
of the emergency, to hold an Adversary Hearing; and

e That reasonable efforts, consistent with the circumstances and providing for the safety of
the child, were made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal. Note that reasonable
efforts to prevent removal from the parent’s custody are not required if the parent has
subjected the child to aggravated circumstances as defined by Tex. Fam. Code § 262.2015.

*This determination may not be based solely on the opinion of a medical professional under
contract with DFPS who did not conduct a physical examination of the child. Tex. Fam. Code §
262.102(b-1).

DEFINITION OF “HOME”

The federal Administration for Children and Families defines “home” as the adult from whom
the child is legally removed. In other words, home means parental custody, not physical location.
The definition of “home” does not change regardless of where the child is living.
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Statutory Hearings

62

COURT ACTION
If the court finds that DFPS made the required showing, the court must:

e Issue an ex parte order for protection of the child;

e Appoint an attorney ad litem, a guardian ad litem, and authorized medical consenter for
the child; and

e Set the Adversary Hearing within 14 days, unless the court finds good cause to postpone
the hearing pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201.

Practice Tip: Attorneys for parents and children are not required to be appointed
prior to the Ex Parte Hearing and their attendance is not required at the Ex Parte
Hearing. However, in some circumstances an attorney may already be appointed
when an Ex Parte Hearing occurs. This may occur if the attorney has been appointed
as part of a Court Ordered Services case under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203 and a
new referral alleging abuse or neglect is the reason DFPS is seeking removal, or if
DFPS is seeking to remove a child born during the pendency of an existing case filed
under Chapter 262. If a parent’s or a child’s attorney is appointed or retained prior
to the Ex Parte Hearing, they may prepare and file a response with controverting
affidavits and participate in the Ex Parte Hearing. The attorney should conduct an
independent evaluation of the basis for the removal, rather than relying solely upon
DFPS for information.

Ex Parte Order After Emergency Removal of Child Without a

Court Order

STATUTES

Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.104, 262.105, 262.106, 262.107
PURPOSE

There are limited circumstances when a DFPS caseworker, law enforcement officer, or juvenile
probation officer may take possession of a child without a court order. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.104.

DFPS must then file a petition and affidavit with the court no later than the next business day
to make an ex parte request for TMC of the child until an Adversary Hearing can be held. Tex.
Fam. Code 262.105.

The court must hold an Ex Parte Hearing on or before the first business day after the child is
removed. Tex. Fam. Code 262.106.

DFPS must meet the required evidentiary showing for the court to grant emergency TMC. Tex.
Fam. Code 262.107.

STANDARD OF PROOF

Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution.

BEST INTEREST

Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship,
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

ICWA

A court can order emergency removal of an “Indian child” only if necessary “to prevent imminent
y y y p



physical damage or harm to the child.” 25 C.F.R. § 23.113 (d). This must be followed by a noticed
hearing where DFPS must prove by clear and convincing evidence, including QEW testimony,
that a “foster care placement” is warranted. This hearing cannot be held until 10 days after notice
of ICWA has been provided and is subject to a 20-day extension on request of a parent or Tribe.

Practice Tip: To avoid the need to continue the hearing, the best practice is for the
hearing to be set at least 30 days out. Please see additional information in the Indian
Child Welfare Act section of this tool kit.

REQUIRED SHOWING FOR EX PARTE ORDER AFTER EMERGENCY
REMOVAL WITHOUT A COURT ORDER

DFPS must submit sufficient evidence to prove:

e One of the following circumstances exist:
o There is a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child; or
o That the child has been a victim of neglect or sexual abuse and is a substantial
risk of future sexual abuse or trafficking; or
o The parent’s use of a controlled substance constitutes an immediate danger to
the physical health and safety of the child; or
o Thechild hasbeen permitted to remain on the premises used for the manufacture
of methamphetamine; and
e That continuation in the home would be contrary to the child’s welfare; and
e That reasonable efforts, consistent with the circumstances and providing for the safety
of the child, were made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal. Tex. Fam. Code §
262.107.
COURT ACTION
If the court finds that DFPS made the required showing the court must:
e Issue an ex parte order for protection of the child;
e Appoint an attorney ad litem and a guardian ad litem for the child;
e Appoint a person authorized to consent to medical care; and
e Set the Adversary Hearing within 14 days, unless the court finds good cause to postpone

the hearing pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201.

Practice Tip: Attorneys for parents and children are not required to be appointed
prior to the Ex Parte Hearing and their attendance is not required at the Ex Parte
Hearing. However, in some circumstances an attorney may already be appointed
when an Ex Parte Hearing occurs. This may occur if the attorney has been appointed
as part of a Court-Ordered Services case under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203 and a
new referral alleging abuse or neglect is the reason DFPS is seeking removal, or if
DFPS is seeking to remove a child born during the pendency of an existing case filed
under Chapter 262. If a parent’s or a child’s attorney is appointed or retained prior
to the Ex Parte Hearing, they may prepare and file a response with controverting
affidavits and participate in the Ex Parte Hearing. The attorney should conduct an
independent evaluation of the basis for the removal, rather than relying solely upon
DFPS for information.
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Adversary Hearings

STATUTE

Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201

PURPOSE

To determine whether a court will authorize continued TMC of a child to DFPS.

TIMING

The hearing must be held not later than the 14th day after the date the child was taken into
possession unless the court grants an extension. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(a).

STANDARD OF PROOF

Evidence sufficient to satisfy a person of ordinary prudence and caution.

BEST INTEREST

The best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship,
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002. At the Adversary Hearing, courts must place
a child who is removed with a relative unless placement is not in the best interest of the child.
Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(n).

ICWA

The court must ask whether the child or family has Native American heritage and identify any
Tribe at the Adversary Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(f). DFPS must give notice to any
identified Tribe and request that the Tribe confirm or deny the child’s status as an Indian child.

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian Child
Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect the case
going forward.

PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION

e File any pleadings necessary to enable the court to enter orders in accordance with the
client’s wishes, including placement with a relative.

e Determine whether a court of continuing jurisdiction exists and whether ICWA applies to
the child, even if the client is not the Indian parent.

e Determine if additional time is necessary to adequately prepare for the hearing and file
any necessary motions for continuance.

e Determine whether appropriate relatives or fictive kin are able to care for the child and
request home assessments be completed before the hearing.

e Determine if there is a probable or pending criminal case as a result of the facts
surrounding the DFPS case and advise the client of their Fifth Amendment right against
self-incrimination in testifying at the hearing, discussing the case with other parties, and
In participating in court-ordered or recommended services.

e Review and assess evidence.
e Meet with the parent in a confidential setting to review and assess the evidence together.

e Advise the parent of their right to a full contested adversary/evidentiary hearing on DFPS’
request for TMC.

e Determine if the client has any disabilities or special needs that must be accommodated in
order to actively participate in the hearing.

e Determine if a language barrier exists.

e Determine whether domestic violence is an issue in the family, and whether it is known
to DFPS.



Make a request of the prosecutor pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 262.014 to provide names of
witnesses DFPS intends to call (other than DFPS employees), a copy of any offense report
to be used to refresh a witness’s testimony, and a copy of any photo, video or recording to
be presented as evidence; and subpoena any necessary witnesses and documents for the
adversary/evidentiary hearing.

Determine what options may exist for services through non-DFPS providers — i.e., the
client is participating in substance abuse treatment through probation, mental health
services through county or private providers, domestic violence services through a non-
profit agency, etc.

Determine whether the parent has other children who are not subject of the suit, or who live
with the parent.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Your parent client may be focused exclusively
on concerns for their children and the circumstances of removal and therefore may
have difficulty understanding the long-term consequences of the decisions that they
may be making at the outset of the case. The Trauma Informed Lens for Interacting
with Clients section of this tool kit may be of assistance in helping discuss long-term
implications of the Adversary Hearing.

Practice Tip: A contested Adversary Hearing may be appropriate if:

e There is not an immediate danger to the child — i.e., DFPS waited a
substantial period of time between the incident that forms the basis of the
referral and the removal and circumstances have changed in the meantime
that reduce or eliminate the danger.

e DFPS did not make reasonable attempts to prevent or eliminate the need for
removal — i.e., demand that the offending parent leave the home, place the
child with a non-custodial parent, etc.

o The non-custodial parent is suitable and placement with that parent would
not be against the best interest of the child.

e There is a suitable relative or fictive kin to care for the child but DFPS is
opposed to the placement.

e Conservatorship or placement are not contested issues, but the parent is
opposed to one or more of the recommended services or to the proposed
visitation plan.

UNKNOWN OR ABSENT PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION

Determine whether the other parties know the identity and/or whereabouts of the parent. Note
that when asked by DFPS for the address of the missing parent, the responding parent may say
“I don’t know.” However, the responding parent may know where the family of the absent parent
lives, or know how to get to their home, even if they do not know the exact address. Additionally,
the responding parent may not want the other parent involved, but the parent’s attorney should
explore why that is so and explain that for purposes of temporary orders, it might be preferable
for the child to be with the other parent or their family rather than in foster care.

Use due diligence to locate the client and submit a report to the court, stating either that
the client has been located and provide the location information or that after due diligence
the client could not be found. Make sure to report what efforts were made to locate the
client.
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If the parent is an alleged father, determine whether he is an acknowledged or adjudicated
father and, if not, whether he wants to be adjudicated or is requesting paternity testing.

Practice Tip: Attorneys representing a father whose location or identity are
unknown should consider asking the child’s mother whether she is receiving
child support or benefits such as Medicaid or food stamps, as the receipt of
benefits may trigger the filing of an Office of the Attorney General (OAG)
paternity suit. The existence of a paternity suit may provide identity and contact
information for a father whose location or identity are currently unknown.

Also consider asking the child’s mother if she has ever been married and, if so, whether
she has obtained a divorce or when she last resided with her husband. Additional
issues may arise, and genetic testing may be necessary if a presumed father exists
and the alleged father wishes to be adjudicated as the father.

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION

Visit the child in the child’s placement. If there is no time to visit the child before the
hearing, request a reset of the hearing in order to make the required visit;

If possible, observe a parent-child visit;

Interview the current caretakers, parents (if allowed by their attorneys), witnesses, and
collaterals to be fully knowledgeable about the facts underlying the case;

Review the rights and duties of a Guardian ad Litem and an Attorney ad Litem under the
Family Code;

Consider all the recommendations that may apply to the parent’s attorneys, if appropriate,
especially regarding locating absent parents and their relatives. If a parent is not found
until late in the case, it may be a lost opportunity to prevent the need for removal, identify
family placement options, and can result in delays in permanency;

Confer with the Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA), if they are appointed to thecase,
astheyoftenhavevaluableinformationthatcanassistin the Attorney ad Litem’s knowledge
of the larger case context.

PARENT’S AND CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION

Review the Concurrent Issues, Child’s Attorney Issues, and Parent’s Attorney Issues sections of
this tool kit to be prepared to advocate a position on:

Paternity

Placement of the Child

Child Support and Kinship Support
Visitation

Child Well-Being

Reasonable Efforts to Prevent or Eliminate Removal

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Upon meeting with and interviewing the child, the
child may desire to attend court and meet with the judge at the Adversary Hearing.
Because the child’s attendance is not required by statute, consider filing a Motion to
Interview Child in Chambers and request that the court schedule a time for the child
to be brought to the courthouse or appear remotely prior to the hearing to speak
with the judge. This can permit the child to express their interests without having to
testify in open court. Other parties might oppose this request so the AAL might want
to be prepared to present a convincing argument to support the request.




REQUIRED COURT FINDINGSAT AN ADVERSARY HEARING

Findings regarding the parent from whom the child was removed. Tex. Fam.
Code § 262.201(g).

The court must return the child to the parent/conservator/guardian/custodian from whom the
child was removed unless the court finds:

e There was a danger to the physical health or safety of the child which was caused by an
act or failure to act of the person entitled to possession (that danger could include that the
child would be a victim of trafficking under Tex. Penal Code §§ 20A.02 or 20A.03);

e That continuation in the home would be contrary to the child’s welfare;

e The urgent need for protection required immediate removal and reasonable efforts,
consistent with the circumstances and providing for the safety of the child, were made to
eliminate or prevent the child’s removal; and

e That reasonable efforts have been made to enable the child to return home, but there is a
substantial risk of continuing danger to the child if the child is returned home.

Findings regarding a parent not involved in the circumstances leading
to removal. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(g-1)

If the court finds it is not safe to return the child to the parent from whom the child was removed,
the court shall consider any other parent, managing conservator, possessory conservator,
guardian, caretaker, or custodian as a possible placement.

If the court finds this person did not cause the immediate danger to the physical health or safety
of the child or was not the perpetrator of the neglect or abuse alleged in the suit, the court shall
order possession of the child by that person unless the court makes specific findings as to each
person entitled to possession:

e The person cannot be located after exercise of due diligence by DFPS, or the person is
unable or unwilling to take possession of the child; or

e Reasonable efforts have been made to enable the person’s possession of the child, but
possession by that person presents a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of
the child caused by an act or failure to act of the person, including a danger that the child
would be a victim of trafficking under Tex. Penal Code §§ 20A.02 or 20A.03.

ADDITIONAL COURT ACTION

Upon making the necessary findings above, the court must enter temporary orders for protection
and:

e Order placement of the child with a relative unless that is not in the child’s best interest.

e Ask all parties about Native American heritage and the identity of any Tribe(s);

e Give parents warning about parental rights, require completion of the Child Placement
Resources form, and require all relatives to provide information to locate any absent
parent or relative;

e Set a Status Hearing within 60 days of the date TMC is granted;

e Inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to provide information
regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified by the child are listed on
the proposed child placement resources form; and

e Inform relatives serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed foster
parent and apply for Permanency Care Assistance (PCA).
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RENEWING AND EXTENDING THE 14 DAY PERIOD

An Adversary Hearing must be held within 14 days because the temporary order authorizing
emergency removal expires after 14 days in accordance with Tex. Fam. Code § 262.103. However,
those orders can be extended before an Adversary Hearing is held. The temporary orders can be
renewed and extended under the following circumstances:

Upon a showing of good cause (defects in service, allowing time for the attorney for the
child to visit with their client, court closure or docketing issues, etc.), an attorney can seek
an order to extend the temporary order by up to 14 days and reschedule the hearing. Tex.
R. Civ. P. 680;

If an indigent parent appears in opposition to the suit and the court appoints an attorney,
the temporary order can be extended by 7 days, and the court may shorten or lengthen the
time of the extension if the parent and the appointed attorney agree inwriting [emphasis
added]. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(e);

If a non-indigent parent requests time to hire an attorney or to provide a retained attorney
time to respond, the temporary order can be extended by 7 days, and the courtmay shorten or
lengthen the time of the extension if the parent and the attorney agree in writing [emphasis
added]. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.201(e-1);

No more than one extension of a temporary order may be granted unless subsequent
extensions are unopposed. Tex. R. Civ. P. 680.

Practice Tip: Be mindful of the impact of separation on the child by delaying
the Adversary Hearing. Request a reset only for the amount of time necessary to
accomplish the required tasks instead defaulting to the maximum 14 days allowed
under the Family Code and consider requesting additional visitation time, if
appropriate, in the interim.

Practice Tip: Though a court will not lose jurisdiction if the Adversary Hearing
is delayed or reset, a parent may seek mandamus to compel the court to hold the
hearing. In the Interest of J.M.C., 109 S.W.3d 591, 595 (Tex. App.—Fort Worth 2003).

Practice Tip: Consider addressing the following additional issues at the Adversary
Hearing:

e Before the service plan can be fully developed and signed by a parent, there
may be an identified need for psychological testing, drug assessment or testing,
or physical examinations. Determine what orders might be appropriate and
proceed accordingly.

e Determine whether there is a discovery control plan in place and/or whether
there is a need for formal discovery.

e Consider requesting a scheduling order that sets out every future hearing.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Meet with the client after the hearing to discuss
the Family Strengths and Needs Assessment (FSNA) and to explain what to expect
between the Adversary Hearing and the Status Hearing.




Status Hearing

STATUTES
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.201, 263.202, 263.203
PURPOSE

To have a court review the contents of the service plan, rule on requested modifications to the
service plan, and enter court orders necessary to implement the service plan. Additional goals
are to review due diligence of efforts to serve parties; locate missing parents; notify relatives of a
child’s removal; identify potential family or fictive kin placements, if applicable; and review the
child’s medical care.

STANDARD OF PROOF

Preponderance of the evidence.

BEST INTEREST

Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship,
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002.

ICWA

The court must ask whether the child or family has Native American heritage and identify
any Tribe at the Status Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.202(f-1). DFPS must give notice to any
1dentified Tribe and request that the Tribe confirm or deny the child’s status as an “Indian child.”

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian Child
Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect the case
going forward.

PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
e Review the service plan with the client in advance of the hearing.

e Prepare for any modifications that will be requested in court.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(d) provides a defense
against the “O” termination ground if a parent can prove by a preponderance of the
evidence that they were unable to comply with the service plan, made a good faith
effort, and that failure to comply was not attributable to any fault of the parent.
Consider filing an Answer with an affirmative defense if a parent was unable to
comply with one or more services.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If the service plan drafted by DFPS does not
reflect the services that were court-ordered, or do not address the client’s individual
needs or preferred service provider, consider filing a written objection to the plan.
If the court adopts the service plan as an order of the court, the parent will have to
complete these tasks as well as those that were initially court-ordered so the plan
should be comprehensive and individually tailored.

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
e Review the child’s plan of service and review with the client, if developmentally appropriate.

e Prepare any requested modifications to either the child’s or parent’s plan of service.
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PARENT’S AND CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION

Review the Concurrent Issues, Child’s Attorney Issues, and Parent’s Attorney Issues sections of
this tool kit to be prepared to advocate a position on:

e Placement of the Child

e Child Support and Kinship Support

e Visitation

e Child Well-Being

e Normalcy
Practice Tip: If DFPS has failed to set up services, provide parent-child visits or
initiate and/or complete home studies, consider filing a motion to enforce the court
orders that were entered at the Adversary Hearing rather than waiting for the next
statutorily-required hearing. Filing a motion can create a sense of urgency to timely
address issues that can delay reunification or permanency.

COURT ACTION
At the Status Hearing the court must:

e Assess service and diligent search efforts for any missing parents (including alleged
fathers);

e Appoint counsel as required and advise unrepresented parents;

e Ask all parties about Native American heritage and the identity of any Tribe(s);

e Make specific findings and orders regarding visitation, service plan, medical consent (and
psychotropic medications if prescribed);

e Set a Permanency Hearing no later than 180 days after TMC is granted;

e Determine whether the service plan is narrowly tailored to address specific issues identified
by DFPS;

e Allow the parents the opportunity to comment on the service plan;

e Inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to provide information
regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified by the child are listed on
the proposed child placement resources form; and

e Inform relatives serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed foster

parent and apply for PCA.

Practice Tip: If a client is seeking additional relief such as a contested placement
change that will require a hearing separate from the Status Hearing, the most
efficient way of obtaining a setting may be to file a motion for the requested relief and
have it on file prior to the Status Hearing. Then request that a hearing be set on this
motion at the same time as the Status Hearing while everyone is present in court.




Permanency Hearing Before Final Order

STATUTES
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.002, 263.302, 263.304, 263.305, 263.306
PURPOSE

Review status of the child and the permanency plan to ensure that the final hearing (trial on the
merits) can be commenced before the dismissal date.

STANDARD OF PROOF

Preponderance of the evidence.

BEST INTEREST

Best interest of the child is always the primary consideration in determining conservatorship,
possession, and access. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.002. Also, best interest arises at the Permanency
Hearings before a final order as follows:

e AteachPermanency Hearingbefore a final hearing, the court shall make a finding onwhether
the child’s parents are willing and able to provide the child with a safe environment and
whether the return of the child is in the child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1)
(6). But see also Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(c).

e The court shall consult with the child if the child is four years of age or older and if thecourt
determines it is in the child’s best interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.302.

ICWA

Unless the court has made a finding that a child is not an “Indian child,” the court must continue
to ask whether the child or family has Native American heritage and identify any Tribe, especially
if new parties have appeared at this stage of the case. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1)(3).

If a Tribe confirms (or a court finds) that a child is an “Indian child,” please see the Indian Child
Welfare Act section of this tool kit for information on how ICWA requirements will affect the case
going forward.

PARENT’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION
e Assess parent’s compliance and progress with temporary orders and the service plan.
e Assess whether there are services that need to be modified or eliminated.

e Assess whether the parent has addressed the circumstances that endangered the child
such that returning the child to the parents does not constitute a continuing danger to the
child and that returning the child to the parent is not contrary to the child’s welfare.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: A client who has experienced trauma may be
making progress and appear healthy but then relapse into old patterns and behaviors.
Changing these behaviors takes time and may not be a straightforward or linear
process. Targeted trauma-informed therapies and services can assist a client in
healing. It may be appropriate to ask the court to include trauma-informed therapies
or services in the service plan to improve the likelihood for success.

71

H £L10)Nnje)g

sgurIeo



Statutory Hearings

72

PARENT’S AND CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION

Review the Concurrent Issues, Child’s Attorney Issues, and Parent’s Attorney Issues sections of
this tool kit and be prepared to advocate a position on:

Placement of the Child

Visitation

Child Well-Being

Normalcy

Reasonable Efforts to Return the Child Home

Additionally, Parents’ and Children’s attorneys should address:

What are the diligent search efforts for any missing parties?

What is the permanency plan for the child?

What is the factual basis for the permanency plan?

Is the client in agreement or opposition with the permanency plan?

Is mediation appropriate at this stage of the case?

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION FOR CLIENT WHO MAY NOT ACHIEVE
POSITIVE PERMANENCY

For a child whose permanency planis Another Planned Permanent Living Arrangement (APPLA),

consider:

e What is the child’s desired permanency outcome?

e Have the goals identified in the child’s permanency plan been addressed?

e Has the child had an Independent Living Skills (ILS) assessment done and what were the
results? Are any further services needed as a result?

e If the child is 16 or older, determine whether the child has the original or certified copies
of personal documents (not photocopies) which include Texas Identification card, birth
certificate, Social Security card, and if child was not born in the United States, the child’s
immigration or citizenship documents which are required by law. Tex. Fam. Code §§
264.121(e), 263.306(a-1)(5)(I)(v).

e If the child is 18 or older or has had the disabilities of minority removed, have original
or certified copies (not photocopies) of personal documents been delivered to the client?
Required documents include Texas Identification card, birth certificate, Social Security
card. Tex. Fam. Code §§264.121(e-1)-(e-2), 263.306(a-1)(5)(I)(vi).

e If the child was not born in the United States, determine whether DFPS has possession of

the child’s immigration or citizenship documents and request they be turned over to the
child.

Practice Tip: If mediation is appropriate and in the client’s interest at this stage of
the case consider a motion requesting mediation. If another party objects to mediation,
request that the court order mediation.

REQUIRED COURT ACTION

The court must:

Order the return of the child to a parent unless the court finds that returning the child to
that parent presents a continuing danger to the child and the return would be contrary to



the welfare of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(c); The order returning the child may
be a monitored return under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.403. But see also Tex. Fam. Code §
263.306(a-1)(6).

e Identify persons and parties present, review the status of service of process and search
efforts, ask about Native American heritage and any Tribes the child is associated with,
review compliance with temporary orders and service plan, as well as progress toward
mitigating the need for foster care placement, and review DFPS efforts to provide the child
with regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in normalcy activities;

e Review the permanency plan to assess each component (child safety and well-being,
necessity for placement, appropriateness of permanency goals, whether the child has had
opportunity to express opinion on any medical care, compliance with specific requirements
if psychotropic medications are prescribed, education issues, and transitional care issues);

e For a child with Another Planned Permanent Living Arrangement (APPLA):

o a compelling reason why another plan is not in child’s best interest;
o whether DFPS has conducted an Independent Living Skills (ILS) assessment;

o whether DFPS has addressed the goals of the permanency plan, including a
housing plan and the results of the ILS assessment;

o for youth 16 or older, whether DFPS has provided required documents per Tex.
Fam. Code §§ 264.121(e)(1),263.306(a-1)(5)(H)(v);

o for youth 18 or older, or youth with disabilities of minority removed, whether
DFPS has provided required documents; Tex. Fam. Code §§ 264.121(e-1),
263.306(a-1)(5) (H)(vi); and

o for a child not placed with a relative or designated caregiver, review the
placement and include in its findings a statement whether the child is placed
with a relative or designated caregiver. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.002(b);

e Kstimate a likely date for the child to be returned, adopted, or placed in PMC;

e Retain jurisdiction and permit the child to transition home under a transition monitored
return while the parents complete services, or order a monitored return to parents if
appropriate and in the child’s best interest;

e Set a subsequent Permanency Hearing date no more than 120 days later until a final
order is rendered;

e Announce in open court the automatic dismissal date and the date of any subsequent
hearings. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.306(a-1);

e Inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to provide information
regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified by the child are listed on
the proposed child placement resources form; and

e Inform relatives serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed foster
parent and apply for PCA.

Practice Tip: If discovery has not already been served on opposing parties, it may be
appropriate to begin the process now to ensure it can be completed in advance of trial.
See the Discovery section of this tool kit for more information.

SUBSEQUENT PERMANENCY HEARINGS

A subsequent Permanency Hearing before entry of a final order must be held within 120 days
of the previous Permanency Hearing in the suit (although it can be held sooner than 120 days).
At such a hearing, the court reviews the progress of the parents, the status of the child, and the
permanency goal.
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Dismissal Date Issues

CALCULATING THE AUTOMATIC DISMISSAL DATE

The dismissal clock begins to run on the date when the court first grants TMC to DFPS. Unless
the court has commenced the trial on the merits by that dismissal date, with few exceptions, a
SAPCR filed by DFPS is automatically dismissed on the first Monday after the first anniversary
of the date the court rendered an order appointing DFPS as TMC. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(a).

Practice Tip: Pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code. § 263.401, the dismissal deadline is
automatic, and the courtloses jurisdiction by operation of law if a trialis not commenced
before the deadline date. A timely motion to dismiss the suit is not required.

From the date DFPS is awarded TMC, the viability of obtaining a final order in the allotted
time should be assessed on an ongoing basis. Exceptions to the one-year dismissal date are
extremely limited but are important to keep in mind as the lawsuit evolves, in case requesting
an extension might be needed.

EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCES

If the court finds that extraordinary circumstances necessitate the child remaining in the TMC
of DFPS and that continuing the appointment of DFPS as the TMC is in the child’s best interest,
the court may grant an extension of no more than 180 days. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).

e The court must consider a parent’s good faith attempt to complete a drug rehab program
when granting an extension of the deadline.

e The court shall find that extraordinary circumstances exist if:

o a parent has made a good faith effort to successfully complete the service plan but
needs additional time, and

o on completion of the service plan the court intends to order the child returned to the
parent. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b-3).

MONITORED RETURN OR TRANSITION MONITORED RETURN

Alternatively, the court may also retain jurisdiction and continue the TMC of DFPS and enter
an order to:

e Return the child to the parent (a “monitored return”); or

e Transition the child to the home while the parent completes necessary services specified
in the temporary order and order DFPS to remain as TMC and to monitor the child’s
placement (a “transition monitored return”).

In the case of a monitored return, the court shall schedule a new dismissal date 180 days after
the monitored return is ordered, regardless of whether the deadline has been extended. Under
the transition monitored return, the deadline is still extended by 180 days, and after the 180
days, the court may retain jurisdiction for an additional six months for the parent to complete
services specified in the temporary order, unless the court has already granted an extension
under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401(b).

If a child must be removed from the parent’s home or the court terminates a transition order
during this period, the court must set a new dismissal date no later than the original dismissal
date or 180 days after the child is moved, whichever is later. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.403.

Practice Tip: An agreement by the parties to seek an extension does not constitute
a finding of extraordinary circumstances. Attorneys might exercise caution about
relying on such an agreement, as the judge may still deny the extension if the court
determines that extraordinary circumstances are not present.




Transition or Monitored Return Chart

Transition /Monitored Return

If the court has not granted an extension
of the 12 month deadline under 263.401(b):

The court can order a
Regular Monitored Return
under Section 263.403(a)(2)(A).

The Family Code does not authorize
any type of extension associated with a
Monitored Return ordered pursuant
to Section 263.403(a)(2)(A).

Per Section 263.403(b), the court
must schedule a new dismissal date
not later than the 180th day after the
court enters the order unless the court
commences a trial on the merits.

The court can order a
Transition Monitored Return
under Section 263.403(a)(2)(B).

Extends 180 days per
Section 263.403(b).

Under Section 263.403(a-1), the
Court can order an additional
six months for the parent to complete
the service requirements specified
in the temporary order during a
Transition Monitored Return granted
pursuant to Section 263.403(a)(2)(B),
but only if no extension under
Section 263.401 was already granted.

After an extension period has
been granted pursuant to 263.401(b):

The court can order a
Regular Monitored Return under
either Section 263.403(a)(2)(A).

The court can order a
Transitioned Monitored Return
under Section 263.403(a)(2)(B).

But the additional
six months of 263.403(a-1)
are not available.
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Practice Tip: Waiting until the last minute to request an extension can risk the ire
of the court. If there is no active trial setting before the original deadline and no time
to obtain a setting when the request for the extension is made, the court can only
grant the extension or allow the case to be dismissed. The court may disagree that
extraordinary circumstances are present but no longer has the discretion to order the
case proceed to trial under the original deadline.

Practice Tip: An extension of the deadline under Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401 requires
the court to find that extraordinary circumstances necessitate the child remaining in
conservatorship of DFPS. Technical issues that prevent a trial from commencing such
as lack of notice, lack of service, or lack of a trial setting may equate to extraordinary
circumstances. If a client opposes the extension, consider challenging the sufficiency
of the evidence for granting an extension based on extraordinary circumstances.




Final Hearing

A Final Hearing (trial) must commence, or an extension must be granted, before the dismissal
deadline or the court will lose jurisdiction over the case and the suit will be automatically
dismissed without a court order. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.401.

PURPOSE

To obtain a final order prior to the dismissal date.

STANDARD OF PROOF

If termination of parental rights is requested, the standard of proof is clear and convincing
evidence. If PMC is requested, the standard is preponderance of the evidence, unless ICWA
applies, in which case the burden shifts to beyond a reasonable doubt and a Qualified Expert
Witness (QEW) is required.

BEST INTEREST

The focus at a termination trial is on best interest factors (including, but not limited to: child’s
age and physical and mental vulnerabilities, frequency and nature of out-of-home placements,
history of abusive or assaultive conduct by the child’s family or other with access to home; history
of substance abuse by child’s family or others with access to home; whether the perpetrator of
the harm to child has been identified; and special considerations for children 16 years of age or
older), as well as on the Holley factors. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.307; Holley v. Adams, 544 S. W. 2d
367 (Tex. 1976). DFPS must prove at least one ground for termination plus that termination of
parental rights is in the child’sbest interest. Please see the Best Interest section in this tool kit
for more information.

ICWA

If ICWA applies, termination of parental rights requires proof beyond a reasonable doubt,
including qualified testimony of a QEW, that the parent’s continued custody “is likely to result in
serious emotional or physical damage to the child.” 25 U.S.C. § 1912(f). DFPS must demonstrate
that “active efforts” were made to reunify, as well as other requirements. Please see the Indian
Child Welfare Act section in this tool kit for more information.

PREPARATION FOR A CONTESTED TRIAL

The preparation required for a contested trial varies greatly depending on the relief requested,
the evidence, and whether a jury is requested. The practice tips below outline some general
principles that attorneys for parents and children may consider when approaching a contested
trial. Attorneys should seek additional materials, resources, and training to ensure adequate
preparation.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: A parent’s attorney should work with their client
in the months leading up to trial to answer discovery so that all necessary witnesses
may be called, and all necessary exhibits may be admitted. All service providers and
any other witnesses the client wants to call to testify at trial should be interviewed.
An attorney should discuss with their client the burden of proof required, the
anticipated evidence from all parties, and any alternative relief requested. Attorneys
should prepare their clients to testify on both direct and cross examination.
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Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s attorney should not rely on the prosecutor
and parents’ attorneys to call witnesses and submit evidence relevant to their
client’s interests. A child’s attorney should be prepared to call their own witnesses
and introduce their own exhibits. If aligned with one party, the attorney should
collaborate with that party on trial strategy and issue subpoenas for witnesses and
exhibits that will advance the client’s interests at trial. If the case is being tried to a
jury, an attorney could request strikes separate from other parties, but be aware the
court may require aligned parties to share strikes. During voir dire, it is essential
that the panel understands the independent role of the child’s attorney and develops
trust in the attorney so that they are prepared to act on the ad litem attorney’s
recommendations. A child’s attorney should have pleadings on file to seek relief
requested on behalf of the child that is not sought by another party.

Practice Tip: When making a record, it is helpful to avoid terms of art or acronyms
and to remember the basics of examining a witness (e.g., identify all witnesses in
the record and their relationship to the case). If examining the caseworker(s), it is
important to establish their relationship to the case, and the basis of their knowledge
about it (how long have they been working on the case, etc.).

PREPARATION FOR AN AGREED OR DEFAULT FINAL ORDER

Termination of Parental Rights

Requires evidence of at least one ground for termination of parental rights against a parent and
evidence that termination is in the best interest of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b).

Appointment of DFPS as PMC

The appointment of DFPS as a child’s permanent managing conservator without termination of
parental rights is only appropriate if a more permanent option for a child is not possible. This
requires evidence that:

e Appointment of a parent as managing conservator would not be in the child’s best interest
because it would significantly impair the child’s physical health or emotional development;
and

e It would not be in the child’s best interest to appoint a relative or another person as
managing conservator.

In making this determination, the court shall consider:

e That the child will be 18 years old in less than three years,

e The child is 12 or older and has expressed a strong desire against termination and
continuously expressed a strong desire against being adopted, and

e The needs and desires of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.404.

Transition Plan Requirements for Certain Youth

As part of the Final Hearing, the court must verify the following for any child who goes into PMC
of DFPS and who has an APPLA:

e If the child is 14 or older: that DFPS has conducted an independent living skills (ILS)
assessment for the child as provided under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(a-3); that DFPS
has addressed the goals identified in the child’s permanency plan, including the child’s
housing plan, and the results of the ILS assessment;




If the child is 16 or older: that there is evidence that DFPS has provided the youth withthe
documents and information listed in Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(e); and

If the child is 18 or older or has had the disabilities of minority removed: that there is
evidence that DFPS has provided the youth with the documents and information listed in

Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(e-1). Tex. Fam. Code § 263.4041.

Entering a Default Judgment

A default judgment must conform to the pleadings served on the Respondent. The record must
show:

Service of citation, no Answer, and the Citation Return on file at least 10 days before trial;

An order appointing an attorney ad litem for the absent parent, if appointment of counsel
is mandatory;

If the judgement seeks termination against one or both parents, evidence to support at
least one of the termination grounds plead and that termination is in the child’s best
interest;

A “statement of the evidence” approved and signed by the judge which should demonstrate
the diligence used to locate the defendant if citation by publication was requested;

Proof of compliance with the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) (please see
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act section in this tool kit for more information); and

For an alleged father, evidence that the alleged father has not registered his paternity or
filed a paternity action or an admission of paternity.

Entering Agreed Orders

Agreed Final Orders can be entered by a court when all parties have reached agreement,
typically achieved during a settlement conference or in mediation. The order must provide for
the permanency of the children, whether this be to return home, to be placed permanently
with a relative as managing conservator, or voluntary relinquishment of parental rights and
awarding PMC to DFPS.

Practice Tip: Elicit testimony on best interest for both prove-ups and agreed orders.
The testimony should be specific to the child and sufficient to meet the burden of
proof, not merely a yes or no answer. Agreed orders should be dictated into the record
and reflected in the final order. If there is a mediated settlement agreement, consider
attaching a copy of it to the final order.

Practice Tip: Attorneys for parents and children should consider the following issues
before entering a final order dismissing DFPS as conservator:

e Is there a court of continuing jurisdiction?
e Is there a prior order establishing a parent-child relationship?

e Are there multiple prior orders regarding different children that should be
consolidated?

e Has child support for each child from each party been addressed?
e Has medical insurance and dental insurance been addressed for each child?

e Has visitation between each child and each conservator been established and is
the language specific enough to be enforceable later, if needed?
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COURT ACTION

The court may terminate parental rights on one or more grounds and/or name a permanent
managing conservator for the child.

If PMC is awarded to DFPS, the court must set a date for the next hearing as follows:

If DFPS was granted PMC and parental rights were terminated, the court must conduct
the initial Permanency Hearing After Final Order within 90 days of the Final Order and
hold subsequent hearings at least once every six months until the child is adopted or
DFPS is no longer the conservator.

If DFPS was granted PMC and parental rights were not terminated, the court must
conduct a Permanency Hearing After Final Order at least once every six months until
DFPS is no longer the conservator.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: An attorney for a child in PMC may request
Permanency Hearings more frequently than every six months. More frequent
hearings may be especially important for children in PMC who do not yet have a
finalized permanency plan or are not in permanent family placement.

AFTER THE COURT RENDERS A FINAL ORDER

Be aware of strict time limits for any challenge:

De Novo Hearing: If an associate judge presided over the final trial, a request for De Novo
Hearing must be filed with the clerk of the referring court no later than the third working
day after receiving notice of the substance of the associate judge’s order; and

Accelerated Appeal: An accelerated appeal must be filed within 20 days after the judgment
or order is signed, subject to a possible 15-day extension. Parents’ attorneys should notify
their clients in writing before and after a trial of their right to appeal.

Motion for New Trial: If the client wants to appeal a final judgment, a Motion for New Trial
may be necessary to preserve error. A Motion for New Trial is required to preserve error
regarding the legal and factual sufficiency of the evidence, and to raise issues of ineffective
assistance of counsel or newly discovered evidence. A Motion for New Trial may also be
required to preserve error regarding the legal sufficiency of the evidence or incurable jury
argument if those errors were not preserved at trial.

SEEKING APPOINTMENT OF APPELLATE COUNSEL

The appointment of a parent’s attorney continues until the case is dismissed, the date all
appeals are exhausted or waived, or the date on which the attorney is replaced by another
attorney. Tex. Fam. Code § 107.016(2). If a client wishes to appeal the trial court’s decision, butthe
parent’s attorney does not have experience in the appeal process for parental terminationcases,
the attorney can request new counsel be appointed but must continue to take active steps to
preserve the client’s right to appeal. In this situation the attorney should:

Notify the client of right to appeal and provide the client with information regarding
deadlines and time-sensitive nature of the case;

File a Motion for Discharge of Trial Attorney and Motion for Appointment of Appellate
Attorney, immediately upon being notified that the client wishes to appeal if notified
within the time allowed for appeal,

File Notice of Appeal with the District Clerk’s office to perfect the appeal process;

Notify the court coordinator that the Motion has been filed, due to the time-sensitive
nature of the appeal;



Obtain an Order of Appointment of Appellate Counsel from the court;

Notify the appellate counsel of appointment by email and phone call, due to the time-
sensitive nature of the case;

Provide appellate counsel with the name and contact information for the client; and

H £L10)Nnje)g

Notify the client with the name and contact information for the appellate counsel.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If the client requests an appeal, consider
requesting visitation pending the appeal. If the case is reversed and rendered, and
no visits have been occurring, the transition may be very confusing or traumatic to a
child who may not have seen their parent in many months.
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Permanency Hearing After Final Order

STATUTES
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.002, 263.501, 263.5031, 264.121
PURPOSE

To review the status of every child in PMC at least once every six months until DFPS is no longer
the child’s permanent managing conservator (unless parental rights are terminated, when the
first Permanency Hearing must be no later than 90 days after the date of the order terminating
parental rights).

BURDEN OF PROOF

Preponderance of the evidence.

CHILD’S ATTORNEY PREPARATION

If parental rights have been terminated, and the child is in their intended adoptive home,
ensure that all steps are being taken to consummate the adoption.

Determine whether the child is eligible for an adoption subsidy and ensure that the proper
procedures are followed to obtain the subsidy; if this is not occurring, ask the court to
direct DFPS to assist the family in obtaining a subsidy.

If parental rights have been terminated, but the child is not in a prospective adoptive
home, advocate for recruitment efforts to identify such a home and request the court order
DFPS to prioritize finding an adoptive home for the child. If there is a DFPS unit in the
same county in which the case is currently filed which specializes in adoption preparation
and recruitment, request that the child’s case be transferred to that unit.

Revisit the client’s family members to inquire about placement and/or adoption. It may
be that a relative was unable or unwilling to take the child in during the TMC phase, but
circumstances may have changed to such a degree that placement is now viable. Adoption
subsidy eligibility or PCA may make placement with family possible. With teenage clients,
be knowledgeable about assistance to the family that may extend beyond age 18.

For children who are likely to age out of foster care, attend all meetings related to planning
for adulthood and be prepared to update the court and/or ask for additional services.

Monitor the progress of DFPS in getting the child’s documents, scheduling preparation for
adult living classes, and helping the child in accessing their benefits.

Be familiar with the benefits available to youth aging out of foster care. There are numerous
resources available online including on the DFPS and Children’s Commission websites.

If CASA is assigned to the case, maintain contact with the CASA and supervisor, as they
may have more frequent contact with the child and are often willing to research benefits,
education-related assistance, and potential relatives.

Review the Concurrent Issues and Child’s Attorney Issues section of this tool kit and be
prepared to advocate a position on:

o Placement of the Child
o Child Well-Being
o Normalcy



Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Children who are in long-term foster care may be
at increased risk to experience the juvenile justice system, adult criminal justice
system, and/or immigration system, as well as school discipline and mental health
challenges. To represent a multi-system client effectively, a child’s attorney must
have a working knowledge of these systems. If necessary, an attorney may petition
the court to appoint a co-attorney for the specific purpose of addressing some of these
issues. The addition of an attorney with specialized knowledge can be very helpful
to the youth. Additionally, DFPS has state and regional specialists who can assist in
areas such as education, disabilities, juvenile justice, and immigration.

COURT ACTION:

The court must:

Identify persons and parties present, review DFPS efforts to give required notice, and
review DFPS efforts to provide the child with regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in
normalcy activities;

Inquire from all parties whether the child has had the opportunity to provide information
regarding potential caregivers and whether individuals identified by the child are listed on
the proposed child placement resources form,;

Inform relative(s) serving as placement for a child of the ability to become a licensed foster
parent and apply for PCA,;

Review the permanency progress report to assess:

o child safety and well-being (including whether any medical or special needs are
being met);

o whether the child is placed with a relative or designated caregiver, and the
continuingnecessity for and appropriateness of the placement (including whether
an out-of- state placement is in the child’s best interest);

o for a child who is placed in institutional care, whether it is the least restrictive
environmentconsistent with the child’s best interest;

o the appropriateness of concurrent permanency goals, and whether DFPS made
reasonable efforts to finalize the permanency plan, and exercised due diligence:

o whether to place a child for adoption if parental rights are terminated, or

o whether to find another permanency placement (including relative or return to
parent) if appropriate;
o for a child with a goal of APPLA:

* ask the child regarding their desired permanency outcome;

determine whether APPLA is the best plan and provide a compelling reason
why another plan is not in the child’s best interest;

determine whether DFPS has conducted an ILS assessment;

* determine whether DFPS has addressed the goals of the permanency plan,
including a housing plan and the results of the ILS assessment;

+ for youth age 16 or older, determine whether DFPS has provided the original
or certified copies of personal documents (not photocopies) which include Texas
Identification card, birth certificate, Social Security card, and if child was not
born in the United States, their immigration or citizenship documents.
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for youth age 18 or older, or with disabilities of minority removed, determine
whether DFPS has provided the original or certified copies of personal documents
(not photocopies) which include Texas Identification card, birth certificate, Social
Security card, and if child was not born in the United States, their immigration
or citizenship documents.

o determine whether transition services are needed for children age 14 or older;

o review the appropriateness of medical care, whether the child has had an
opportunity to express an opinion on any medical care, and compliance with specific
requirements if psychotropic medications are prescribed;

o determine whether an education decision-maker has been appointed and whether
school issues have been addressed;

o 1if the child is in PMC of DFPS and parental rights have not been terminated,
determine whether to order up to six months of additional services for the parents
if a relative or other person is not seeking PMC;

o determine whether DFPS has identified a family or other caring adult who has
made a permanent commitment to the child; and

o set another hearing in six months or sooner.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: At the first hearing after termination, be aware of
whether a relative has filed an original suit or a motion to modify as allowed by the
Tex. Fam. Code § 102.006(c). If so, explore whether the relative would be a suitable
placement. If a client is opposed to the relative (or when serving as the child’s attorney
and guardian ad litem, the GAL determines that the suit would not be in the child’s
best interest), determine whether they qualify by degree of consanguinity. If not,
consider filing a motion to dismiss the suit.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If DFPS does not seem to be making progress toward
an adoption, request a review hearing sooner than the next statutory permanency
hearing, and consider filing a motion to ask the court to order DFPS to complete tasks
within specific deadlines.




Reasonable Efforts

DFPS is required to make reasonable efforts to prevent the need for removal of the child.
Additionally, if removal is authorized, DFPS is required to make reasonable efforts to safely
return the child home. Although there is no definitive list of what constitutes reasonable efforts,
the questions below are modified from the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges
Enhanced Resource Guidelines and are designed to elicit suggested elements of what could be
considered reasonable efforts throughout the case.

Questions for Reasonable Efforts to Avoid Removal

What were the specific safety risks leading to removal?

What services were considered and offered to allow the child to remain in the home? Were
those services culturally appropriate? Were they rationally related to the safety risk? Did
they take into account the family’s strengths and needs?

What was done to create a safety plan to allow the child to remain at home or with another
designated caregiver without requiring court involvement?

Would the removal of a person from the home have allowed the child to safely remain
home?

Would the addition of a person to the home have allowed the child to safely remain home?

Was the family offered the opportunity to participate in the Alternative Response Program
or Family-Based Safety Services? If so, why was Alternative Response or Family Based
Safety Services unsuccessful?

Was the family ordered to participate in Court-Ordered Services (COS)? If so, why was
COS unsuccessful?

Were non-custodial parents, paternal and maternal relatives identified and evaluated?

Were there any pre-hearing conferences such as a Family Team Meeting or Family Group
Conference? Who was there? What was the outcome?

Does the family have a history with DFPS? Did the history influence DFPS’ response to
this situation?

Are there orders that could be made under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.203 that would requirethe
parents to participate in services but allow the child to remain safely in the home?

Questwns for Reasonable Efforts to Allow the Child to Return Home

What is preventing this child from safely going home today?
What is the current immediate safety threat?

What type of safety plan could be developed and implemented in order for the child to
return home today?

What specifically is preventing the parents from being able to provide the minimally
adequate standard of protective care?

Will the removal of a person from the home allow the child to safely return home?
Will the addition of a person to the home allow the child to safely return home?
Is a monitored return or a transition monitored return appropriate? If not, why not?

If the safety threat is too high, do the parents understand what conditions are required for
the child to safely return?

What services can be arranged to allow the child to safely go home today?
How are the services rationally related to the specific safety threat?

How is the family, including children and extended family, engaged in the development
and implementation of the services?

What efforts has DFPS made to assist the family with services?
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e Does the family believe the services take into account the family’s strengths and needs?
e Has the family asked for additional or alternative services?

e What evidence has DFPS provided that the services meet the needs of the family andhave
produced positive outcomes for families with similar issues?

e How are the services specifically tailored to the culture and needs of this child and this
family?
The Impact of Reasonable Efforts on Federal Funding

If the court fails to make a reasonable efforts finding or finds that reasonable efforts were not
made, it could impact the total amount of federal Title IV-E reimbursement received by DFPS;
however, it does not affect funding for the individual child, the subject of the suit.

REASONABLE EFFORTS TO PREVENT REMOVAL
Timing
Finding must be made within 60 days of the child’s removal. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21(b)(1)(1).

Impact

If the court does not make the finding, the agency will not receive IV-E dollars for the duration
of the child’s stay in foster care. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21 (b)(1)(i1).

REASONABLE EFFORTS TO FINALIZE PERMANENCY

Timing

Finding must be made within 12 months of foster care entry and at least once every 12 months
thereafter. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21(b)(2)(1).

Impact

If the court does not make the finding, the agency will not receive IV-E funding until such a
determination is made. 45 C.F.R. § 1356.21(b)(2)(11).



Placement

Attorneys for parents and children should be prepared to address the following issues regarding
a child’s placement.

Placement Appropriateness
e Is the current placement the least restrictive and most family-like setting for the child?
e Is the placement culturally and linguistically appropriate?

e Is the child or the parent requesting a placement change?

Placement Preferences

DFPS is required to give preference to persons in the following order:

e A person related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption;

e A person with whom the child has a long-standing and significant relationship;

o A foster home;

e A general residential operation. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.114(d).
If the child has previously been in a foster home under DFPS conservatorship, DFPS must
consider placing a child in that home if the foster home is available, the placement would be in

the child’s best interest, and placement with a relative or fictive kin is not in the child’s best
interest. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.114(c).

Practice Tip: Prior to the hearing, determine if an agreement can be reached for a
return to parent, placement with noncustodial parent, relative, or fictive kin. If so,
draft a Rule 11 Agreement to present to the other parties. If not, consider filing a
motion for such relief.

Kinship And Fictive Kin Options

e If the child is in a foster care placement, what efforts were/are being made to explore
kinship and fictive kin placement options?

e Have the parents and the child been asked to identify kinship and fictive kin placement
options?

e Have home studies been started? If the home study will be outside of Texas, it will involve
the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) unless it involves a biological
parent. Out of state home studies take significantly longer than in-state home studies
and must be initiated as soon as possible in order not to delay permanency. Please see
additional information in the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children section of
this tool kit.

e If relatives were identified but deemed inappropriate by DFPS, what were the specific
reasons? Was the placement assessed under Tex. Fam. Code § 264.754?

e Are there services or supports available to mitigate any safety risks identified in the home
study?

e If the child is in a kinship placement, has the placement been provided with appropriate
training, services, and support to care for the child?
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Practice Tip: If DFPS is opposed to placement with a non-custodial parent, relative,
or fictive kin due to their previous DFPS or criminal history, attorneys might consider
conducting an independent investigation into that history. While DFPS may not be
able to agree to placement due to policy, a judge may find that certain criminal history
from the distant past and/or unrelated to a safety issue may not be a current safety
1ssue for purposes of placement. Similarly, DFPS history that is remote, a finding of
“ruled out” or “unable to determine,” or where the party was not a perpetrator but
rather the subject child or a collateral, also may not be considered to be a current
safety issue.

The Child’s Needs

Does the placement meet the child’s education needs and provide educational continuity?
e Ischild’s trauma being sufficiently considered in determining the child’s placement?

e Is the placement knowledgeable about helping children with traumatic stress reactions
and how to cope with those reactions? If not, what training or support is needed/ available?

e Does the placement understand the reasonable and prudent parent standard and support
normalcy for the child?

e Are the siblings placed together? If not, what efforts were made to attempt to place them
together? Is there a safety issue that prevents the siblings from being placed together?
How frequently are sibling visits occurring? Are the siblings able to regularly communicate
with each other?

e Has the AAL regularly contacted the child to inform them of the next steps? Has the AAL
checked on the child’s thoughts and feelings about the current placement options?

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Keeping children informed about placement options
helps give them a sense of transparency in decision-making about their life and gives
them a voice in what decisions are made about them.




Visitation

Temporary Visitation Schedule

A temporary visitation schedule is required at an early stage in a case for each child whose goal
is reunification: The caseworker develops the schedule with the child’s parents to the extent
possible.

DFPS shall ensure that a parent who is otherwise entitled to possession of the child has an
opportunity to visit the child not later than the fifth day after the date DFPS is named TMC of
the child unless:

e DFPS determines that visitation is not in the child’s best interest; or

e Visitation with the parent would conflict with a court order relating to possession of or
access to the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 262.115; or

e DFPS has determined the goal is not reunification.

The temporary schedule remains in effect until the visitation plan is developed under Tex. Fam.
Code § 263.107 or modified by court order.

Court Implementation of Visitation Plan

DFPS must file the family’s visitation plan no later than 10 days before the Status Hearing.
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.107(d). After reviewing an original or amended visitation plan, the court
shall render an order regarding a parent’s visitation with a child that the court determines
appropriate.

If the court finds that visitation between a child and a parent is not in the child’s best interest,
the court shall render an order that:

e States the reasons for finding that visitation is not in the child’s best interest; and

e Outlines specific steps the parent must take to be allowed to have visitation with the child.
If the order regarding visitation between a child and a parent requires supervised visitation to

protect the health and safety of the child, the order must outline specific steps the parent must
take to have the level of supervision reduced. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.109.

Practice Tip: Attorneys for parents and children can use language to reorient how
the court and parties perceive the contacts between parents and children. Using
language such as “family time” rather than “visits” or ‘visitation” can help bring focus
to the parent-child bond. Advocates can also stress the importance of both the length
and the quality of the contact in growing, maintaining, or repairing family bonds.

Visitation Advocacy

Attorneys for parents and children can advocate that the court consider a number of options to
increase the length and quality of time for visitation:

o Whether visitation can include normal parenting activities such as sharing meals, medical
and therapeutic appointments, and school events;

o Whether visitation can occur at parks, restaurants, museums, zoos, or other natural
family-oriented settings;

e Whether nursing during bonding time for infants can be supported;

e Whether visitation time can factor in the bonding time needed at different developmental
stages (younger children may need more frequent visits, older children with established
bonds may need less frequent visits which are longer in duration);
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Whether phone calls or virtual visits can be added to the visitation plan;

Whether there is a safety issue that necessitates supervised visitation (if the children
are older and/or if the reason for removal was neglect, then the visits may not need to be
supervised);

Whether there are, family, fictive kin, and/or community organizations that can supervise
visits when supervision is necessary;

Whether there is a way to support sibling visitation in addition to parent visitation;

Whether the visitation schedule factors in the parent’s resources for transportation and
time away from work;

Whether the child has an interest in expansive visitation that is independent from the
parent’s progress in services; and

If a child is having a negative reaction at visitation, whether there is a way to provide
trauma-informed support to the parent and child to assist them with safe, continued visits
rather than reducing visitation.

Attorneys representing parents who are entitled to visitation under a visitation plan may
at any time file a motion with the court to request review and modification of an original or
amended visitation plan. Tex. Fam. Code § 263.108(c).



Medical Abuse and Neglect Allegations

Definitions
PHYSICAL ABUSE

A physical injury that results in substantial harm to the child, or the genuine threat of substantial
harm from physical injury to the child, including an injury that is at variance with the history
or explanation given [emphasis added] and excluding an accident or reasonable discipline by
a parent, guardian, or managing or possessory conservator that does not expose the child to a
substantial risk of harm. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(1)(C).

MEDICAL NEGLECT

Failing to seek, obtain, or follow through with medical care for a child, with the failure resulting
in or presenting an immediate danger of death, disfigurement, or bodily injury or with the
failure resulting in an observable and material impairment to the growth, development, or
functioning of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(4)(A)(@11)(b).

The DFPS Process for Forensic Diagnosis of Medical Abuse and
Neglect Allegations

Medical abuse and neglect cases are typically generated by an intake report received from
hospital personnel or medical providers, such as a child’s pediatrician.

FORENSIC ASSESSMENT CENTER NETWORK

DFPS utilizes the Forensic Assessment Center Network (FACN) in most medical cases.
The FACN was established by DFPS in 2006 to make specialized pediatricians available for
consultation to DFPS and Child Care Licensing in cases of suspected child abuse and neglect.
The FACN is managed by the University of Texas Health Science Center (UTHealth)-Houston
McGovern Medical School, in coordination with UT Health Science Center at San Antonio,
UT Medical Branch at Galveston, UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Dell Children’s
Medical Center at Austin, and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at Lubbock.

The FACN requires consultations with physicians who are board certified in relevant field or
specialty, including radiologists, geneticists, orthopedists, and endocrinologists. Physicians must
also have experience in certain specific conditions such as rickets, Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, and
other medical conditions that mimic child maltreatment or increase the risk of misdiagnosis of
child maltreatment. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.3017(b).

SPECIALTY CONSULTATION

DFPS must refer the case for specialty consultation if DFPS, the child’s primary care physician,
parent, or legal guardian (or the parent or legal guardian’s attorney) requests a specialty
consultation. The consultation must be with a board-certified physician who was not involved
in the report of suspected abuse or neglect.

DFPS must provide to the child’s parent or legal guardian written notice of the name, contact
information, and credentials of the specialist before the specialty consultation and the parent,
legal guardian, or attorney may object to the proposed referral and request referral to another
specialist. DFPS and the parent, legal guardian, or attorney must collaborate in good faith to
select an acceptable specialist from the proposed specialists, but DFPS can refer the child’s case
to a specialist over the objection of the parent, legal guardian, or attorney. Tex. Fam. Code §
261.3017(c), (c-1), and (c-2).

The parent may still seek a second opinion and DFPS must consider the second opinion and
document its analysis and determination regarding the opinion. Tex. Fam. Code § 261.3017(e).
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: In a hospital setting, parents may have talked
to DFPS investigators, DFPS Special Investigators, and law enforcement without
counsel and without understanding the implications. Additionally, parents may have
signed written statements and the parents or the investigator or officer may have
recorded the interview. When meeting with a parent client, it is critical to establish
what information has been shared, what documentation may exist, and who possesses
that documentation.

Medical Records

Any case that involves medical information should start with a medical records request.
Depending on the type of case and allegations, an attorney may need to include requests for a
child’s birth records and even a mother’s pregnancy records.

Parents are entitled to request a copy of their child’s medical records unless that right has been
specifically restricted by a court. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.073(a)(3). A parent may then share such
records with their attorney.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Initial records may be incomplete, so an attorney
may need to make additional requests for specific information including, but not
limited to, physician and nurses’ notes, consults, radiology and imaging, medication
administration, and lab work.

Hospitals may also have their own internal process of assessing whether the child’s condition
requires a referral to statewide intake. The records kept by these teams when they consult with
each other and the FACN may contain several possible witnesses that may be relevant to the
parent’s case, but the witnesses may not be included in a standard medical records request and
may also need to be identified specifically.

Most medical records are available in digital format, referred to as the Electronic Health Record
(EHR). Records that look fuzzy, crooked, and scanned in may not be the EHR. Attorneys should
request an electronic copy/EHR or if they are older records, records in an Optical Character
Reader (OCR) format. This allows for quick scanning of the records for important information.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Obtaining all the necessary records may be
challenging as different providers may have different policies when it comes to
releasing records. If necessary, subpoenas can be used to ensure all relevant records
are provided.

Medical Information and Decision Making When DFPS has TMC
of the Child
MEDICAL CONSENTOR

When DFPS is appointed TMC, DFPS is granted the rights and duties in Tex. Fam. Code §
153.371. This includes “the right to consent for the child to medical, psychiatric, psychological,
dental, and surgical treatment and to have access to the child’s medical records.”

Pursuant to Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004, the court may authorize the following persons to consent
to medical care for a child in the conservatorship of the Department:



e An individual named in a court order, including the child’s parent,
e The child’s foster parent; or
e DFPS or an agent of the DFPS.

This person is commonly referred to as the “medical consenter.” If DFPS or its agent is the
medical consenter, DFPS shall file with the court and each party the name of the individual who
will exercise the duty and responsibility on behalf of DFPS, and DFPS has an obligation to keep
this information updated throughout the case. Tex. Fam. Code § 266.004(c).

DFPS has a Medical Consent Resource Guide available online that references its policies for
consenting to medical care for children in its conservatorship.

PARENTS’ MEDICAL RIGHTS WHILE DFPS HAS TMC

Unless the court specifically limits a parent’s rights by court order, a parent has the right at all
times to:

e Receive information from DFPS concerning and to confer regarding the health, education,
and welfare of the child;

e Access medical, dental, psychological, and educational records of the child;
e Consult with a physician, dentist, or psychologist of the child;

e Be designated on the child’s records as a person to be notified in case of an emergency;
and consent to medical, dental, and surgical treatment during an emergency involving
immediate danger to the health and safety of the child; and

e Consent to medical, dental, and surgical treatment during an emergency involving
immediate danger to the health and safety of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 153.073.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: An attorney representing a parent should ask
for the parent to be appointed as a temporary possessory conservator to make clear
that the parent retains the standard rights a parent has when another party is the
managing conservator.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Parents and their attorneys may still encounter
barriers to exercising these rights with medical providers based on the nature of the
case and DFPS involvement. Attorneys representing parents of children with medical
needs should consider how to use subpoenas, motion practice, and collaborative
efforts in their specific jurisdictions to get necessary medical documentation, seek
second opinions, and to seek and obtain judicial rulings consistent with the children’s
best interest.

Vaccination

Tex. Fam. Code § 32.101 governs who may consent to immunization of a child. Subsections (a)
and (b) indicate who may give consent, including DFPS, and the circumstances of that consent.
However, Tex. Fam. Code § 32.101(c) provides that “a person otherwise authorized to consent
under Subsection (a) may not consent for the child if the person has actual knowledge that a
parent...has expressly refused to give consent to the immunization...” See In re Womack, 549
S.W.3d 760 (Tex. App.—Waco 2017) and In re Zook, No. 03-21-00180-CV, 2021 Tex. App. LEXIS
5643 (Tex. App.—Austin July 15, 2021).
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: An attorney representing a parent who objects
to vaccinations should immediately document the parent’s refusal to give consent for
the child’s vaccinations to DFPS and the court.

Expert Testimony
GETTING YOUR OWN EXPERT

Attorneys representing parents should consider getting their own expert witness in medical
abuse and/or neglect cases though attorneys may struggle to find a medical expert who is not
contracted with DFPS who is willing to take on a medical abuse and/or neglect case.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Child welfare law practitioners in the area may
have suggestions for expert witnesses used in previous cases. It might also be helpful
to seek out medical expert suggestions from the criminal defense bar. It is also not
uncommon for an attorney to seek a medical expert from another jurisdiction or state.

Funding for the expert may also be a challenge as it is likely an indigent parent cannot afford
an expert witness fee. Consult with other child welfare law practitioners in your jurisdiction to
determine the local practices for requesting funds for the expert.

Some experts may be willing to consult and produce a short-form report from the available
records. Submitting such a report to DFPS may avoid the need for contested hearing and
consultation by the expert may be less expensive than retaining the expert for testimony.

CROSS EXAMINATION

Regardless of whether a parent’s attorney is able to get their own expert in a medical abuse
and/or neglect case, the parent’s attorney needs to engage in effective cross examination of the
State’s expert. It is important to demonstrate the limitations on the expert’s knowledge and
opinion and establish that the expert’s role is to identify suspected abuse, not to identify the
abusers. Areas of cross examination could include:

The expert’s education and experience
e Are they board certified by the American Board of Pediatrics in child abuse pediatrics?
e Do they meet the qualifications to become certified?
e Have they attempted to take the exam?
e Have they completed a fellowship in child abuse pediatrics?

Relationship with DFPS
e Are they contracted with DFPS?
e What is the amount of DFPS cases they handle per month/year?
e What paid work does the expert perform outside of work for DFPS, if any?

Training and experience in the relevant underlying area of medicine

e Do they have the training that is relevant to this child’s specific medical condition or
injury, i.e., neurology, radiology, ophthalmology, pathology, etc.?



Physical examination and diagnosis of the child

Has the expert personally examined the child?
What is the amount of time the expert has spent with the child?
Has the expert discussed the child’s injuries with the child’s parents?

Was a filter or lens used to highlight the child’s injuries in photos?

Were medical conditions that mimic maltreatment or increase the risk of misdiagnosis of

maltreatment examined? Were they ruled out? See Tex. Fam. Code § 261.3017.

Additional information now available

Has the expert been provided with new information by DFPS since the alleged abuse/

neglect occurred?

Does the expert have knowledge of the parents’ progress in services?

Practice Tip: It is not uncommon for parents to dispute the allegations of medical

abuse or neglect but agree to DFPS being appointed TMC based on the lower standard

of proof required at an Adversary Hearing. Effective advocacy when parents dispute
the allegations can include any and all of the following:

Request a Family Group Conference

A Family Group Conference is a facilitated meeting that can be held to discuss
the child’s injuries, the parent’s progress in services, the risks that remain, how
the risks can be mitigated through agreed court orders and safety plans, and the
safety concerns that remain and how to address them.

Seek a consultation with the DFPS medical expert

Consulting with the DFPS medical expert rather than getting the information
second hand through the case worker or supervisor can create a better shared
understanding of the child’s condition and needs so that all parties have the
same information.

Filing a motion and setting an evidentiary hearing

When the parent and child advocates are at an impasse about whether to or
how to move forward with family reunification, it is appropriate to seek court
intervention to resolve the impasse. In this hearing, a parent’s attorney should
seek specific orders on any remaining services needed to achieve reunification,
expanding visitation to include unsupervised and overnight visitation, and/or
seeking a monitored return.
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Child Well-Being

Medical & Mental Health Checklists
HEALTH CARE PROVIDER

Physical, dental, and eye care, along with immunization and behavioral health for children in
foster care are covered by two managed care programs, STAR Health (a division of Superior
HealthPlan) and Cenpatico Behavioral Health, a division of the Centene Corporation.

ELIGIBILITY

[0 All children in DFPS conservatorship and young adults in extended foster care or those
young adults who have returned to foster care, up to age 22. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.101(a- 1)-
(a-2).

[0 All youth who turned 18 in foster care and received healthcare through Medicaid (STAR
Health or other) but who did not return to extended foster care are covered under STAR
Health or STAR Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act up to age 26. Affordable Care Act;
Pub. L. No. 111-148.

Note: Former foster care children (FFCC) who are under the age of 21, but who are not eligible
for the FFCC program because the youth did not receive Medicaid at the time they aged out
of care, receive coverage through the Medicaid for Transitioning Foster Care Youth (MTFCY)
program if they do not have other healthcare coverage and meet program rules for income.

MEDICAL CARE QUESTIONS FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY

[0 Hasthe child received all health assessments, immunizations, hearing and vision screenings,
dental checkups and services, prescriptions for medications, and medical equipment?

[l Has there been any emergency medical care provided to the child and circumstances
necessitating care, include injury, or acute illness of child?

[0 What medical and mental health treatment is the child receiving and what is child’s progress
with treatment (this includes any physical, dental, eye, immunization, and mental health
issues)?

[ Isthere medication prescribed for the child, what is the condition, diagnosis, and symptoms
for which medication was prescribed, and what is child’s progress with medication?

[0 Has the child or foster care provider complied or failed to comply with any plan of medical
treatment for child?

[0 Has the child suffered any adverse reaction to, or side effects of, any medical treatment
provided to child?

(1 Isthere a specific medical condition of child diagnosed or for which tests are being conducted
to make diagnosis?

71 Is there any activity the child should avoid or engage in that might impact effectiveness of
treatment, including physical activities, other medications, and diet?

[0 Isthere any other information required by DFPS or rule of court? Tex. Fam. Code § 266.007.
MENTAL HEALTH QUESTIONS FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY

[l Has there been a comprehensive psychological evaluation?
[0 Have the parents or other family caregivers given input for the evaluation?

[1  Who has given input for the evaluation? And would they have had sufficient experience with
the child to give accurate information?

[l What is the child’s diagnosis? What are the treatment options for that diagnosis?
(1 What are the recommendations? Is the Department implementing them?

[0 For a child receiving psychotropic medication:
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e What psychosocial therapies, behavior strategies, or other non-pharmacological
interventions were provided to child?

e Has the child seen or is the child seeing their prescribing physician, physician assistant
or advanced practice nurse every 90 days?

TRAUMA-RELATED QUESTIONS FOR THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY

Has trauma played a role in the child’s behavior?
Is a trauma assessment of the child by a trauma informed professional needed?

What monitoring, treatment, or other supports might be needed to help the child cope with
traumatic stress reactions?

What potential trauma informed services have been considered orimplemented? (occupational
therapy/physical therapy, weighted blankets, soothing exercises, yoga/meditation, etc.).

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s behavior may be related to their trauma
history. Symptoms of mental health disorders can overlap with the symptoms of
trauma. If a child client is exhibiting behavioral issues, consider advocating for
trauma-informed services for the client. Please see the Trauma-Informed Lens for
Interacting with Clients section of this tool kit for more information.

DFPS ACTIONS FOR CHILD’S ATTORNEY TO VERIFY

[

[

[

Did the child receive the comprehensive, preventive Texas Health Steps medical checkup
within 30 days of entering conservatorship?

Did the child receive the 3-day medical examination by the end of the third business dayafter
the child was removed from the child’s home? Tex. Fam. Code § 264.1076(b).

Did the child receive a Texas Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths (CANS) 2.0
behavioral health assessment within 30 days of entering conservatorship if aged 3-17 years?

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD’S ATTORNEY

]

[

0

0

Has the child been provided the opportunity to comment on the medical care being
provided? Tex. Fam. Code § 266.007(c).

Have you, as the child’s attorney, reviewed the child’s medical care? Tex. Fam. Code §
107.003(b)(1).

Have you, as the child’s attorney, elicited from your client their view on the medical care
being provided? Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(2).

Have you, as the child’s attorney, advised youth clients 16 and older of the right to request
medical consenter designation from the court? Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3).

Foster Care & Education Checklists
SCHOOL READINESS

[

[

If the child is age 0-3, have they been assessed for Early Childhood Intervention (ECI)
services? 34 C.F.R. Part 303.

If the child is age 0-5, have they been enrolled in Early Head Start, Head Start, or Pre-
Kindergarten? 45 C.F.R. § 1305.2, Tex. Educ. Code § 29.153(b).

SCHOOL STABILITY

0

Is the child enrolled in and does the child have transportation to current school? Tex.
Educ. Code § 25.001(a).



Can the child remain in current school, regardless of additional placement changes? Tex.
Educ. Code § 25.001(g)-(g-1).

If school changes do occur, can they be planned at the end of grading periods?

If school changes do occur, can changes be planned to avoid conflict with standardized
testing or final exams?

EDUCATION DECISION-MAKING

71 Has DFPS designated an Education Decision-Maker (EDM) for the child? Tex. Fam. Code
§ 153.371.

[0 Should the parent retain, or should any other person be given, specific education-related
rights? Tex. Fam. Code § 153.371.

[l Has DFPS provided EDM Form 2085-E to the child’s school and has information regarding
the EDM been provided to the parties? Tex. Fam. Code § 263.004.

[l Should a surrogate parent be appointed to make decisions regarding special education, if the
foster parent is unwilling or unable to fulfill that role? Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0025(b).

SCHOOL ENROLLMENT

[1 Can the child be enrolled immediately in a new school if a change is required? Tex. Fam.
Code § 264.115.

[0 Has the child’s education record or credit transfer issues been addressed by court as
necessary? Tex. Educ. Code § 25.007(b).

(1 If the child was receiving special education services at their previous school, is the child’s

Individual Education Plan (IEP) being followed at the new school and has an Admission
Review and Dismissal (ARD) committee meeting been scheduled? 19 Tex. Admin. Code §
89.1050().

SCHOOL PLACEMENT AND SCHOOL SUCCESS
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.306, 263.5031

O 0O o o0oo-gd

O

What does the child say about school and which school the child wants to attend?
Is the child in a school that can meet their needs?

Is the child progressing academically and on grade level?

Are there identifiable areas where the child is excelling?

Are there any additional school supports needed?

Is the child involved in extracurricular activities? If not, does the child want to be
involved?

Isthe child experiencing any discipline issues (truancy, suspension, expulsion, restraints)?

Was the child’s status in DFPS conservatorship considered when disciplinary decisionswere
made? Tex. Educ. Code §37.001.

Has the caregiver signed the annual form to prohibit corporal punishment at school? Tex.
Educ. Code § 37.0011.

POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.306, 263.5031

[]

If the youth is at least grade 9, has a personal graduation plan been created and graduation
endorsement been chosen (this is in addition to the Foundation High School Program in
STEM, Business & Industry, Public Services, Arts & Humanities, or Multi-Disciplinary
Studies)? Tex. Educ. Code § 28.025.
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Does the child have a college or career plan?

Does the child and their caregivers know about high school graduation requirements andhow
to prepare and apply for post-secondary education and available funding? 42 U.S.C. § 677; Tex.
Educ. Code §§ 54.366, 54.367.

SPECIAL EDUCATION

0

U
U
l

If needed, has the child been evaluated for special education services?
If eligible for special education, what is the date of child’s last ARD committee meeting?
Does the child have an IEP that is current, appropriate, and in effect?

Has transition planning been coordinated, beginning no later than age 14?

Human Trafficking Checklists
WHAT IS CHILD SEX TRAFFICKING?

0

0

A person knowingly transported, enticed, recruited, harbored, provided, or otherwise
obtained the child by any means. Tex. Penal Code § 20A.01(4); and

Caused the child to engage in, or become the victim of, an enumerated sex offense. Tex.
Penal Code § 20A.02(a)(7); or

Received a benefit from participating in a venture that involves an enumerated sex
offense; or

Engaged in sexual conduct with a trafficked child. Tex. Penal Code § 20A.02(a)(8).

Child under 18 years of age, regardless of trafficker’s knowledge. Tex. Penal Code §§
20A.01(1), 20A.02(b)(1).

WHAT IS CHILD LABOR TRAFFICKING?

0

A person knowingly trafficked child with intent that the child engage in forced labor or
services. Tex. Penal Code § 20A.01(2), Tex. Penal Code § 20A.01(4), Tex. Penal Code §
20A.02(a)(5); or

Received a benefit from participating in a venture that involves forced child labor or services
including knowingly receiving forced child labor or services. Tex. Penal Code § 20A.02(a)(6).

Child under 18 years of age, regardless of trafficker’s knowledge. Tex. Penal Code §§
20A.01(1), 20A.02(b)(1).

UNDER WHAT CIRCUMSTANCES WILL DFPS INVESTIGATE TRAFFICKING?

U
g

0

0

A person traditionally responsible for child’s care, custody, or welfare;

Compelled or encouraged the child to engage in sexual conduct including child sex
trafficking, prostitution, or compelling prostitution; Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(1)(G);

Knowingly caused, permitted, encouraged, engaged in, or allowed a child to be trafficked for
sex or labor; or

Failed to make a reasonable effort to prevent the child from being trafficked for sex or labor.
Tex. Fam. Code § 261.001(1)(Ly).

IF CHILD HAS BEEN MISSING FROM FOSTER CARE,WERE THE FOLLOWING
STEPS TAKEN?

Tex. Fam. Code § 264.123 (Note: These apply to any child missing from foster care, not
exclusively victims of trafficking.)

0

DFPS made report to law enforcement and the National Center for Missing and Exploited
Children (NCMEC) no later than 24 hours after learning a child is missing or abducted.42
U.S.C. § 671(a)(35).



O

0

]

Within 24 hours of learning child missing or returned to care after missing, DFPS notified
law enforcement, court, child’s Attorney ad Litem (AAL) and Guardian ad Litem (GAL), and
parents (unless no known location, Termination of Parent Rights [TPR], or relinquishment).

While a child is missing, DFPS makes continuing efforts to locate the child including monthly
contacts with law enforcement and former caregivers and conducts supervisory-level review.

After a missing child returns to care, DFPS interviewed the child about why the child was
missing, where the child stayed while missing, and whether the child was a victim of sex
trafficking while missing.

WHAT ARE SOME RED FLAGS TO HELP IDENTIFY CHILD TRAFFICKING

VICTIMS?

71 Multiple runaway incidents from foster care placement in a short period of time.

[0 Changesinschool attendance habits, appearance, socio-economic status and possessions,friend
groups, interests, school activities, vocabulary, demeanor, attitude, and sexual behavior.

[1 Unexplained injuries such as bruising, swelling, redness, or cigarette burns.

[J Tattoos or branding.

"1 Hotel key cards or refillable gift cards.
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Interviewing the Child Client

When to Interview the Client

Within a reasonable time after the appointment. Tex. Fam. Code §107.003(a)(1)(A).

Before each hearing, meet with the child if they are at least four years of age. Tex. Fam.
Code §107.004(d)(1).

Background Preparation

Before the first interview, become familiar as possible with the client and the client’s background
and history.

Do not make assumptions about the child or the case.

Read the pleadings, affidavits, and any other documents obtained.

Talk with the DFPS caseworkers who have been involved with the case.
Analyze the child’s world from the child’s perspective.

Educate yourself about the trauma that the child has experienced, how the child’s past
trauma affects the client now, and how might it affect the child in the future.

Goals For First/Early Meeting(s) With a Child Client

Build rapport and trust.

Explain the attorney-client privilege and confidentiality in a developmentally appropriate
way and the roles and responsibilities of the professionals involved in the case.

Learn the basic facts of the case from the child’s perspective.
Assess the child’s needs.

Elicit the child’s preferences related to the case, including placement, visitation, education,
and normalcy.

Inquire, in developmentally appropriate manner, about potential family or fictive kin
placement options.

Be patient and listen to your client.

Location and Timing of Interview

The interview can take place where the child lives, at their school, their daycare, a park,or
another location where the child feels safe and comfortable.

The interview must take place in a private space to ensure confidentiality. Tex. Fam. Code
§107.004(d-1)(2).

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If you meet where the child is placed, it is not
recommended to go into a bedroom or behind closed doors to meet with a child.
Potential meeting locations include meeting outside or in a private location. If the
child wants to show you their room or meet in their room, it is advisable to keep the
door open.

The interview must take place sufficiently in advance of the hearing to allow the attorney
to prepare in accordance with the child’s objectives. Tex. Fam. Code §107.004 (d-1)(1).



Child-Centered Interviewing
PREPARE TO ADDRESS CHILDREN’S COMMON CONCERNS

When will I go home?

When will I see my mom/dad/siblings/friends?
Where will I live?

Where will I go to school?

CREATE A TRUSTING ENVIRONMENT

Ask where they would like to talk (outside/inside) and what physical place they prefer.

Consider bringing an age-appropriate game to play, such as Candy Land, Chutes and
Ladders, or Connect Four.

For younger children, consider printing and bringing Sam and the Search for Spots, the
Children’s Commission’s coloring book (available in English or Spanish) designed to help
them understand the role of their lawyer.

Go for a walk if the child would be comfortable doing so — being active helps promote
conversation.

Get on the child’s level physically. Sit on the floor, or together at a table or bench.

Ask for permission when taking notes.

USE APPROPRIATE INTERVIEW TECHNIQUES

Age-appropriate ice-breakers. Ask about the client’s interests, likes, and dislikes in
connection with “safe” topic areas. (“What do you like to do for fun?” “Who is your favorite
superhero?”)

Simple, open-ended questions. (“Tell me how to play that game?” “Why is Batman your
favorite?” “What do you like or dislike about )

Follow the child’s lead on areas of discussion even though they may not be linear.
Open-ended questions as you approach topic areas pertinent to the facts of the case are
encouraged. Children are highly suggestible, so extra caution should be taken not to ask
them any leading questions.

“Funnel” approach when your client tells the story of the case. Start by letting the child
narrate the entire story as they choose and then ask appropriate, more narrow questions
to inquire about specific details that will assist your advocacy while not re-traumatizing
your client.

Check for understanding. Children often say that they understand something in order
to please adults, when they really may not fully understand the conversation. When
explaining something to your child client, ask them to explain it back to you in order to
check their level of understanding.

Use their words. For example, if they call their grandmother GiGi, call her GiGi when
talking to the child.

Use demonstration. When appropriate, ask them to show how something happened, rather
than requiring them to use words — or make demonstrations to help them (“You said you
liked visiting with your mother. How much did you like or dislike about ___?” Show your
hands close together [“this much?”’] then spread them out [“this much?”]).

Sibling groups. If interviewing a sibling group, talk with the group about an overview of
the case, but then interview each child individually to obtain each client’s direction and
preserve confidentiality.

Judge’s role. Emphasize that the judge, rather than DFPS, the child’s parent or substitute
caregiver, gets to make decisions about what happens in their case.
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Body language. Observe the child’s body language. Non-verbal communication in reaction
to questions can help guide you about which topics the client is ready to talk about. Also,
be aware that your body language can have an impact on your client.

EXPLAIN THE LEGAL SYSTEM TO A CHILD

Children’s Attorney Issues

Avoid jargon: instead of using the words “Adversary Hearing” substitute “talking to the
judge about what is going on with you and your family.”

Use simple language to explain the legal roles of other people in the child’s case. For
example:

a judge makes decisions;

a caseworker makes sure children are safe;

a CASA tells the judge what they think is best for the child;
o a therapist helps people try to make better choices; and

o O O

o a parent’s attorney tells the judge what their mom/dad wants.

EXPLAIN THE ROLE OF THE CHILD’S ATTORNEY

Differentiate the attorney role from that of DFPS or CASA: Explain to the child “you are
my boss/you get to tell me what you want to have happen and my job is to tell the judge what
you want.”

Explain the counselor part of the attorney’s role and prepare the child that some information
and advice may be hard for them to hear at times but that you want them to know what to
expect. When possible, and without breaking confidentiality, arrange for the child to have
some support after such conversations.

Explain attorney-client privilege but differentiate confidentiality from keeping secrets.
Emphasize to the child that you will keep the conversations that you have with them
private, except for what your client allows you to share, but that the child is free to share
the conversations with anyone they choose.

Explain the exceptions to confidentiality and your obligation to report abuse/meglect
under Tex. Fam. Code § 261.101(c) if they disclose that:

o they hurt someone;
o someone hurts them; and/or

o they are hurting themselves.

Explain the procedural overview of the case in a way that is developmentally appropriate
given the child’s age and demonstrated understanding of legal concepts.

Explain that if the child also has a juvenile case there may be another attorney assigned
to represent them in that matter but that both attorneys have the same duty to maintain
confidentiality. Please see the Dual Status Youth section of this tool kit for more information.

Information That Should Be Acquired During The Interview
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Where does the client want to live? Have them rank their choice of placement (1st, 2nd,
3rd), and document their choices.

How does the child feel about their current placement?

What are the child’s educational needs?

What are the child’s health needs, including medical, mental, and therapeutic?
What are the child’s preferences for visitation with parents and siblings?

Can the child identify possible relatives or fictive kin?

What are your observations regarding the effects of trauma on the child?



Speaking to the Judge

Explain that they might meet the judge in courtroom or in chambers.

Ask both if the child would like to speak with the judge and where they would like to speak
to the judge.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If your jurisdiction permits virtual child conferences
with the judge, allowing a child to visit with the judge virtually may be an appropriate
option. Virtual meetings can allow the child to meet the judge from a setting they are
comfortable in, reduce interference with the child’s school schedule, and can allow
the judge to see the child’s environment. There may be reasons why the child might
still desire to meet the judge in person so all options should be presented to the client.

Gaining and Keeping the Client’s Trust

Do not pretend to know them or their lives.

Do not criticize their parents or other family members.

Never make a promise that cannot be kept.

Sustain a client’s morale but be honest. Tex. R. Prof. Conduct 2.01.

Inform the child about the case in a developmentally appropriate manner. If appropriate,
tell them about their parent’s progress, that their parents love them, etc.

Answer their questions in developmentally appropriate ways.
Be respectful of their views, comments, concerns, and situation.
Practice empathy.

Pay attention to what matters to the client.

Discussion of Prior Abuse

Avoid bringing up the topic of past abuse as repetition of traumatic events can retraumatize
the child.

If the child brings up the topic, remain calm, listen, and validate the child’s feelings. Do
not overreact. Ask a few open-ended questions that allow the child tell their story in their
own words.

Know your limitations and keep the discussion brief. If a child will be a testifying witness
regarding the abuse, consult with the child’s therapist and a forensic interviewer when
preparing the child for testimony.

Do not criticize the child or the alleged abuser.

Dealing With a New Abuse Disclosure/Qutcry

Assume the child is telling the truth.
Remain calm, do not overreact.

Reassure the child that they did the right thing by telling you, and that what happened was
not their fault.

Do not criticize the child or the alleged abuser.
Do not make promises.

Let the child know this information cannot be kept a secret since you have an obligationto
report it to keep them safe.

Make the report to the DFPS Hotline: 1-800-252-5400 or online Texas Abuse Hotline
Website.
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Additional Resources

Video: Interviewing the Child Client: Approaches and Techniques for a Successful Interview;
ABA Section of Litigation Children’s Rights Committee.

Youth Engagement Project; additional information and materials provided by the ABA.
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Normalcy

Normalcy Defined
FEDERAL LAW
Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act of 2014. 113. P.L. 183, 128 Stat. 1919

e Required states to implement a “reasonable and prudent parenting standard” giving
foster parents the authority to make day-to-day decisions affecting children in their care
regarding extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, social, and/or sporting activities.

Texas adopted a definition of “age-appropriate normalcy activity” as well as a definition of a
“reasonable and prudent parent” effective September 1, 2015. See below for more specifics.

AGE-APPROPRIATE NORMALCY ACTIVITY DEFINED

An activity or experience:

e That is generally accepted as suitable for a child’s age or level of maturity or that is
determined to be developmentally appropriate for a child based on the development of
cognitive, emotional, physical, and behavioral capacities that are typical for the age or age
group; and

e In which a child who is not in the conservatorship of the state is generally allowed
to participate, including extracurricular activities, in-school and out-of-school social
activities, cultural and enrichment activities, and employment opportunities. Tex. Fam.
Code § 264.001(1).

REASONABLE & PRUDENT PARENT STANDARD OF CARE DEFINED

What a parent of reasonable judgment, skill, and caution would exercise in addressing the
health, safety, and welfare of a child while encouraging the emotional and developmental
growth of the child.

Factors to consider when deciding whether an activity is appropriate:

e Overall health and safety of the child;

e Child’s age, maturity, and development level,

e Best interest of the child based on the caregiver’s knowledge of the child;

e Appropriateness of a proposed activity and any potential risk factors;

e Behavioral history of the child and the child’s ability to safely participate in a proposed
activity;

e Importance of encouraging the child’s social, emotional, and developmental growth; and

e Importance of providing the child with the most family-like living experience possible.
Tex. Fam. Code § 264.001(5).

DFPS Best Efforts

DFPS shall use its best efforts to normalize the lives of children in the managing conservatorship
of DFPS by allowing substitute caregivers, without prior DFPS approval, to make decisions
similar to those which a parent would be entitled to make regarding a child’s participation in
age-appropriate normalcy activities. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.125.

Normalcy in Practice

For youth in foster care, normalcy means being able to act like their friends act and feel like part
of a family.
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This includes:

Being part of a caring family that supports them.
Doing the normal daily and extracurricular activities they choose.
Being a person, not a label.

Making decisions, trying new things, and sometimes making mistakes.



Children Without Placement (CWOP)

If DFPS or an SSCC is unable to secure a licensed placement for a child in DFPS conservatorship,
the child must receive temporary emergency care provided directly by DFPS or an SSCC until
a licensed appropriate placement can be found. DFPS or the SSCC must provide notice to the
court no later than the next business day after the date the child is placed in temporary care.
Tex. Fam. Code §264.107(g).

Children are forbidden by statute to stay overnight in a DFPS office, so the child must stay in
another location (i.e., hotel, apartment) while being supervised by DFPS staff. Tex. Fam. Code
§264.1071. While this situation should be avoided whenever possible, the number of children
without placement are very low compared to the overall population of children in care across
Texas.

Causes and Risk Factors

There is no single reason why some children in the conservatorship of DFPS might experience a
lapse in licensed placement. However, the combination of the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic,
increased federal and state oversight, and placement capacity gaps are some factors that may
have contributed to an increasing number of children in Texas entering CWOP.

Children who are at higher risk of CWOP include:
e Older children
e Children with behavior issues
e Children released from psychiatric hospitals
e (Children released from juvenile detention
e Children moving to or from a residential treatment center (RTC)
e Children with special needs (i.e., Autism)

Impacts of CWOP on Children
INSTABILITY

e Overnight stays in DFPS offices are forbidden by statute, but children without placement
may stay in hotels or apartments overnight and may stay in DFPS offices during daytime
hours. Such unlicensed placements are intended as a short-term solution, but some
children may experience it for longer periods of time.

e The child’s formal education may be interrupted and there may be limited access to
informal education resources such as tutors or study sessions.

e Therapy for the children can be inconsistent during temporary placements.
e Not having a stable, licensed placement can be a traumatic experience for children.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Children without placement who are staying in
hotels, offices, or dorms on a temporary basis meet the federal McKinney-Vento
Homeless Assistance Act (“McKinney-Vento”) definition of homeless and therefore
are entitled to attend the school that the child attended when permanently housed or
the school in which the child was last enrolled, with transportation and other services
provided by the school district. 42 U.S.C. § 11431 et seq.
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SUPERVISION

e The children are supervised and provided for by caseworkers and other DFPS staff. These
duties are in addition to existing work responsibilities.

e C(Caseworkers and staff must ensure that an adult is always present, but there is no
consistent caregiver or supervisor.

e DFPS caseworkers and staff are not trained as childcare providers.

SAFETY

e Children without placement may be at increased risk of running away or becoming a
victim of child sex trafficking.

e Unsupervised access to medication can lead to improper dosage or the proper medication
regime not being followed.

e Children with serious mental health or behavioral needs may interact with other children
without adequate supervision.

e Without training and options for discipline, conflicts between children or between children
and staff can escalate and increase the risk of injury or arrest.

BASIC NEEDS

e Older youth do not have the support or living space available to build healthy life skills
such as hygiene, cleaning/chores, getting regular physical activity outdoors, cooking a
healthy meal, etc.

e Making visitation arrangements with parents is more complicated when the child does not
have a stable placement.

What Can Attorneys Do if a Client or a Client’s Child is in CWOP?
BUILDING TRUST

Attorneys can work to reduce the possibility of CWOP by building strong attorney-client
relationships that center on partnership.

e Children in care who feel supported by the adults in their lives may be less likely to
run away, experience placement breakdowns, or experience one or more unlicensed
placements. Parents who have a good relationship with their attorney are more likely to
share information about possible placement options, including kinship.

e The most important aspect of building attorney-client partnerships is to take the time to
listen to the client. Their insights and expertise can be very helpful in informing what
actions need to be taken, including identifying and vetting possible placement options.

e Making an authentic connection with each client from the start of the attorney-client
relationship may help to prevent CWOP situations by identifying and solving problems
before they reach a crisis point.

IDENTIFYING PLACEMENT OPTIONS

An attorney can assist in moving a child out of CWOP by thoroughly investigating alternative
placements. For example, attorneys for children and parents might:

e Identify whether there are relatives or fictive kin who may not meet DFPS approval but
could be a safe place for this child.

e Contact potential relatives or fictive kin placement and consider meeting with them in
their homes, if appropriate.

e Request specific placement search information from DFPS. Which placements were
considered, which were rejected, and why?

e C(Consider contacting treatment centers that do not contract with DFPS about availability.



e Request the child’s common app, review for accuracy, and request edits, if appropriate.

MOTION PRACTICE

When a child is without placement, attorneys can help maintain a sense of urgency by setting
regular hearings until an appropriate placement is found. The following motions may be
appropriate in unique circumstances and would not be appropriate for filing in every case.

Motion for Change of Placement: If asking for placement with a relative or fictive kin who
DFPS has not or cannot approve, it is important to be aware if that person has any DFPS
or criminal history. It may also be helpful to visit the proposed home prior to the hearing.
Explore whether supportive services such as daycare or after-school care should be considered
to stabilize the placement.

Motion for Court Approval of Out of State Placement: Consider requesting that the court
require prior court approval for the child to be placed in any out of state facility.

Motion for Education Services: Explore what educational supports may be available through
the school district where the child was last enrolled. Depending on the child’s educational needs
and goals, distance learning may be an option for the child until a stable placement can be
found. Consider requesting that tutoring or other education support be ordered.

Motion for Normalcy Activities: Children without placement may be caught in a cycle where
there are no authorized activities, but there may be inadequate supervision to prevent them from
engaging in unauthorized activities. A motion to allow the child to engage in specific activities
or for DFPS to provide opportunities for activities can encourage normalcy and stability.

Motion for Therapy or Other Services: If your client needs therapy or other services, request
that such services be brought to the child’s current location or that the child can access them
remotely.

Motion for Child-Specific Contract: This motion requests the court to order DFPS to
contract with a provider that does not have a standing contract with DFPS for placement. This
motion may only be appropriate in very limited circumstances and a child specific contract is
not a quick or easy solution. Drafting a child-specific contract will take time, the cost of the child
specific contract is significant, and the enforceability of the court’s order may end up in further
litigation.
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Children with Disabilities

Attorney-Client Relationship

A child’s intellectual or developmental disability does not necessarily mean that the child is not
competent to form an attorney-client relationship. Neither does a child’s IQ alone demonstrate
incapacity. It is imperative for a child’s attorney to become familiar with child development
stages, interview the child, make an independent determination if that child can form an
attorney-client relationship, and determine whether the attorney can or must follow the client’s
directives. If the child cannot meaningfully direct representation, the child’s attorney must follow
the procedures outlined in Tex. Fam. Code § 107.008 for substituted judgment.

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

DFPS is required to assess and determine long-term care plans for youth who have qualifying
disabilities. DFPS is responsible for applying for SSI on the youth’s behalf. Written confirmation
of benefits from the Social Security Administration is necessary to understand exactly what
benefits the youth is entitled to when they exit foster care. DFPS has Regional Specialists for
SSI and they can be an effective resource for ensuring the client obtains appropriate resources.

EFFECTS OF SSI ON A CHILD’S PLACEMENT

e If a child receives SSI and they are in DFPS-contracted substitute care, the SSI payment
goes to the state to defray the cost of the child’s care.

e If a child receives SSI and is placed with a kinship caregiver, the kinship caregiver can
receive the SSI payment either directly or once it has passed through DFPS.

e If the child is adopted, the SSI payment is taken into consideration when negotiating the
adoption subsidy.

TAKING ACTION IF SERVICES ARE DENIED

All children in foster care are automatically enrolled in the STAR Health Medicaid plan
regardless of any prior Medicaid eligibility or enrollment in other Medicaid Plans. At this
time, Superior HealthPlan is the insurance provider for STAR Health, so children in DFPS
conservatorship can only go to providers who accept Superior HealthPlan. If a client is denied a
service by Superior HealthPlan, the denial can be appealed. Typically, there is a lengthy process
for administratively appealing Medicaid service denials. Rather than appealing the Superior
decision, it may be more efficient to petition the court to order the service under Tex. Fam. Code
266.004(e). Though Superior HealthPlan is not a party to the case and technically subject to
court orders, they are contractually obligated to pay for services ordered by the court. However,
it is important to note that Superior HealthPlan can only be ordered to provide services that are
both “medically necessary” and part of the Texas Medicaid Plan. Any other healthcare service
ordered by the court must be paid for by different means, typically by DFPS directly.

Intellectual Disabilities

Children with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IDD) can be supported long-term
after aging out of DFPS care through the Home and Community-Based Services (HCS) program
that provides housing, therapeutic interventions, and other in-home supports for the lifetime
of a person with IDD. Though the most common way to qualify for an HCS program slot is to
be put on a waiting list, most individuals wait over 10 years for an HCS slot. There are special
slots in the HCS program for children aging out of DFPS custody. To qualify for one of these
special slots the child must have a Determination of Intellectual Disability (DID) from the Local
Mental Health Authority (LMHA). There are several agencies all over the state that license
and supervise HCS host homes (similar to foster homes) and group homes (homes with shift
staff and four or fewer individuals). Though DFPS should identify potential HCS agencies and
placements for the child, the child and the attorney ad litem should be active participants in
making the final placement selection since this will be where the child lives for a very long time
as an adult. The child is also entitled to pre-placement visits in making the placement decision.



Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make sure the DFPS Developmental Disability
Specialist (DDS) has registered an eligible youth for an HCS slot, if needed.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: The process to apply for and receive disability-
related benefits can be a lengthy one. If the child has a disability and may be entitled
to services, it 1s critical to have conversations with the caseworker and/or DFPS
Regional Social Security Specialists as soon as practicable and on a regular basis.

Guardianship

Competency is generally determined based on whether the individual can continue to make
decisions for themselves with supports in place rather than losing their rights through a
guardianship proceeding where a guardianis appointed to make decisions on their behalf. However,
a child with an intellectual disability or other disability does not automatically qualify for adult
guardianship once they turn eighteen. A probate court still must appoint Texas Department of
Aging and Disability Services (DADS) or another guardian through a probate proceeding and a
Certificate of Medical Exam (CME) must be completed by a physician and presented to the court
documenting the person’s incapacity. DADS, through the Texas Health and Human Services
Commission (HHSC), is the state agency that is appointed as the guardian for a qualifying child
if there is not another adult to take guardianship, and they can accept or reject a guardianship
application.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If a child client will require a guardian once they
become an adult, it is important to begin the application process well before the client
turns 18 as qualification for guardianship is not automatic.

STEPS TO GUARDIANSHIP

By the time a youth with disabilities turns 16, the caseworker must consider whether the youth
will have the ability to provide for their own food, clothing, shelter, oversee their own healthcare,
and manage their own finances.

The DFPS caseworker should begin searching for an interested and appropriate potential guardian
when a youth in care with disabilities turns 16 and should consult with the DFPS Developmental
Disability Specialist (DDS) and DFPS supervisor regarding alternatives to guardianship or
possible alternate guardians. If there is not a least restrictive alternative available, the DFPS
caseworker should begin collecting information and necessary documentation for the referral to
HHSC to request a guardian.

While DFPS may refer a youth to HHSC at age 16, it is preferable for DFPS to wait until the
youthis at least 17 since a guardianship application cannot be filed more than six months prior
to the youth’s 18th birthday. Prior to making a referral to HHSC, the DFPS caseworker should
contact the DFPS SSI coordinator to ensure the youth is receiving active SSI benefits, and if
benefits arenot active, the DFPS caseworker must work with the SSI coordinator to apply or
have benefits reinstated.

Once the SSI benefits for the youth with disabilities have been established and confirmed and all
supporting documentation required has been gathered, the DFPS supervisor launches the Aging
Out of Care (AOC) stage in IMPACT, the DFPS case management system. The DFPS caseworker
completes the referral form and submits it to the DDS. The DDS submits the guardianship
referral via IMPACT and emails a copy of the referral form and all supporting documentation to
the Guardianship Supervisor in the region where the youth is currently residing.
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ALTERNATIVES TO GUARDIANSHIP

A guardianship restricts the legal rights of an individual with a disability and may not always be
appropriate. Courts must ensure that the least restrictive arrangement is made for a youth with
disabilities, so the youth has their needs met and their rights intact. Sometimes a youth may
only need a limited guardianship that is tailored to the specific needs they have. For instance,
the right to vote, the right to drive, and the right to marry might all remain intact. Restoring a
right after it has been removed via guardianship can be challenging and it is preferable to leave
as many rights as possible available for the individual.

Some youth do not need a guardianship at all and can be better served with a Supported Decision-
Making Agreement (SDMA), which is a less-restrictive option that allows the youth to retain all
decision-making rights while having a supporter who helps them to understand and process the
decisions they make.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make sure that the proper department at DFPS is
notified when a youth who receives SSI is aging out of foster care so that DFPS can
resign as the youth’s designated payee. Once DFPS resigns as the payee, the youth
can go to the Social Security Administration office to become their own payee or
designate a new payee. If the youth cannot manage their own finances but does not
need a guardian, local resources may help find a designated payee to help the youth
manage their finances.

Transition Planning

The Section 811 Project Rental Assistance Program provides project-based rental assistance for
extremely low-income persons with disabilities linked with long term services and allows persons
with disabilities to live as independently as possible through the coordination of voluntary
services and providing a choice of subsidized, integrated rental housing options. Referrals to
Section 811 must be made by the DFPS primary case worker in coordination with the DFPS
Developmental Disability Specialist. There is also a waiting list for this program, though it is
much shorter than the waitlist for HCS.



Dual Status Youth

Definitions

A dual system child is a child who, prior to the child’s 18th birthday, was referred to the juvenile
justice system and was involved in the child welfare system. Tex. Fam. Code § 51.11. A dual
status child is a dual system child who has or had concurrent involvement in both the child
welfareand juvenile justice systems. Tex. Fam. Code § 51.02. When representing dual status
children there are important issues to consider.

Information Gathering

Questions to ask when a client has been detained (arrested) for an offense:

e Has the child been appointed a juvenile defense attorney on the delinquency case? If so,
make contact with the attorney as soon as possible to introduce yourself, learn about the
offense, and provide any information about the child that can assist the juvenile defense
attorney in their representation.

e Has a petition been filed? Is the child eligible for a deferred prosecution?
e Is the juvenile case filed in the same county as the child welfare case?
e What are the pending charges? What range of dispositions might be involved?

e Is the child currently in detention? How long have they been there? When is the child’s
next detention hearing scheduled? Is juvenile probation recommending release?

It is important to research these questions with the child, the caseworker, the juvenile defense
attorney, and the juvenile probation officer, depending on the timeline of the case.

GUARDIAN AD LITEMS AND COURT APPOINTED SPECIAL ADVOCATES

A guardian ad litem may serve as ad litem in both the juvenile case and the child welfare case.
If the guardian ad litem is serving in both cases and is an attorney, the guardian ad litem will
want to become much more familiar with the juvenile proceedings.

A non-attorney guardian ad litem must be very careful not to investigate any pending juvenile
charges nor offer testimony concerning the guilt or innocence of a dual status child. Questions
or investigations could lead the non-attorney guardian ad litem to become a witness against the
child in violation of Tex. Fam. Code 51.11. As such, questions from a GAL or CASA should be
presented to the juvenile defense attorney, instead of the child or child’s parents or guardians.

CONFIDENTIALITY

Because the objectives of the juvenile defense attorney (handling the delinquency case) and
the attorney ad litem (as well as others working on behalf of the youth on the child welfare
case) may not necessarily align, it is important for the two attorneys or legal teams to enter a
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) at the very outset of representation to identify what
information, if any, may be shared between attorneys and legal teams.

It is critically important to advise a client not to discuss their delinquency case with anyone
besides their juvenile defense attorney (unless MOUs have been signed allowing for information
sharing). Information about the allegations is confidential and protected by the Fifth Amendment
and the juvenile defense attorney should advise the clients of their Fifth Amendment right to
remain silent as to any details regarding a current criminal investigation or ongoing case. That
may include information that the juvenile defense attorney will not want to disclose to the
child’s attorney, or have their client disclose to the child’s attorney, without an MOU.

In the absence of an MOU governing information sharing, the Rules of Professional Conduct
dictate that confidentiality is imperative. Under these rules, the juvenile defense attorney
should advise the client not to speak or discuss the delinquency case or any of its details with
anyone (other than their juvenile defense attorney).
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In the absence of an MOU, an issue that may arise is that the DFPS caseworker or investigator
may ask the client about their delinquency charges, and the client may respond without
understanding the implications for their delinquency case.

COMMUNICATION WITH JUVENILE DEFENSE COUNSEL

Notwithstanding the existence of an MOU, it is crucial to establish open lines of communication
with a client’s juvenile defense attorney. A child’s attorney in the child welfare case may know
the client and their family history and circumstances better than the juvenile defense attorney.
A child’s attorney in the child welfare case can provide information that assists in a better and
more expedient resolution on the delinquency case, including:

e Mitigating circumstances due to child’s DFPS case and placement;

e Services the child needs;

e Services the child is already receiving;

e Best ways to communicate with the child;

e Possible resources of support known in child welfare case but not in juvenile case;

e Attendance at detention hearings (if child is in detention) to advise court of placements
available to the child, in order to allow for expedited release from detention; or

e Attendance at disposition hearings (if the child is adjudicated delinquent) to advise of
interventions being utilized with the child and family already or interventions that are
available.

Court-appointed juvenile defense attorneys often have heavy caseloads, which can slow their
response time when contacted, but it is important to initiate a conversation as soon as possible
todiscuss the mutual client’s case.

Important things to discuss include:

e Upcoming court dates for both the child welfare and juvenile cases;
e Progress of the case;
e The general strategy of the juvenile defense attorney;

e The status of plea negotiations with prosecution (i.e., what is the current offer, what are
the possibilities in the case for pre-petition diversion programs, deferred adjudication, or
services as part of a plea negotiation); and

e Disposition options in the juvenile case, including placement options if the child is not
going to be released on probation.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make it a priority to check in with the juvenile
defense attorney for updates regularly, at least before each statutory child welfare
hearing, and more often if child is in detention.

Understand How the Juvenile Case Affects the Child Welfare Case
SERVICES OVERLAP

It is important for the juvenile court to determine what services are being provided through
the child welfare case. Must they be duplicated or substituted by juvenile probation services,
or are the services being provided in the child welfare case sufficient? Ask the court to allow
consolidation of servicesas much as possible. This is especially important if transportation and/
or time management is necessary for a caregiver to provide so that the child is able to receive
services.



CONSEQUENCES OF DISPOSITIONS - SEALING JUVENILE RECORDS

Once a juvenile case 1s concluded or nearing its end, whether it was disposed through a deferred
prosecution or through formal adjudication and disposition, it is imperative to take steps to
ensure that the child’s juvenile records will be sealed. Even if the case was resolved through a
deferred prosecution without a charge being filed, the child will still have a juvenile record that
can have numerous negative collateral consequences, such as:

Barriers to obtaining housing;

Difficulty with successful applications to colleges or trade schools;

Obstacles in obtaining employment;

Problems applying for military service; and/or

Interference with immigration cases.

Youth transitioning out of foster care are especially in need of having their records sealed once
they become eligible to ensure a better transition into adulthood. There are both non-profit
agencies and juvenile attorneys that will seal juvenile records via Application for Sealing of Files
and Records. Please see the Additional Resources section of this tool kit for more information.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Constructing a timeline with the delinquency case
dates and the statutory deadlines for the child welfare case can increase understanding
of how the two cases may overlap.
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Psychotropic Medication Parameters for Children

Psychotropic medications are substances that affect the mind and alter mental processes such
as perception, mood, and behavior. Psychotropic drugs include stimulants, antidepressants,
antipsychotics, and mood stabilizers. Some children need to use psychotropic medications long-
term to treat mental health disorders that they inherited or developed, such as attention deficit
hyperactivity disorder, severe depression, or psychosis. Other children need to use psychotropic
medications temporarily to help relieve severe emotional stress and help them function in school,
at home, and in the community.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Symptoms of mental health disorders can overlap
with the symptoms of trauma. A child’s behavior may be related to their trauma
history. If a child client is exhibiting behavioral issues, consider advocating for
trauma-informed services for the client.

In 2013, the 83rd Texas Legislature amended Tex. Fam. Code § 266.001 to add a definition of a
psychotropic medication. A “psychotropic medication” means a medication that is prescribed for
the treatment of symptoms or psychosis or another mental, emotional, or behavioral disorder and
that is used to exercise an effect on the central nervous system to influence or modify behavior,
cognition, or affective state. The term includes the following categories:

e Psychomotor stimulants;
Antidepressants;
Antipsychotics or neuroleptics;

Agents for control of mania or depression;
e Anti-anxiety agents; and
e Sedatives, hypnotics, or other sleep-promoting medications. Tex. Fam. Code § 266.001(7).

In February 2005, DFPS, the Department of State Health Services (DSHS), and HHSC released
a “best practices” guide to ensure the proper use of psychotropic medications for the children in
foster care.

The June 2019 Psychotropic Medication Utilization Parameters for Children and Youth in
Foster Care in Texas Public Behavioral Health (6th Version) is the most recent version of these
guidelines. It serves as a resource for physicians and clinicians who care for children diagnosed
with mental health disorders. The guide provides recommendations for the appropriate use of
psychotropic medications for children in foster care and includes nine criteria indicating the
need for review of the child’s clinical status.

Since April 2008, STAR Health has conducted Psychotropic Medication Utilization Reviews
(PMURS) on the children whose medication treatment falls outside of the expectations of the
Parameters. A PMUR can be initiated by STAR Health if indicated by a health screening
or pharmacy claim review. A PMUR may also be triggered by a request from any judge,
attorney, caseworker, advocate, foster parent, Medical Consenter, or other concerned person
working with the child. The PMUR examines child-specific clinical information about a child’s
diagnoses, medication dosage, and whether the medication treatment is in compliance with the
Parameters. The PMUR is not a second opinion on whether the medication is appropriate for
that child or whether the child is on “too much” medication. It primarily reviews whether the
prescribing physician violated the Parameters (for example, are two medications prescribed
that are contraindicated). STAR Health has committed to prioritize responses to inquiries from
judges concerning children under their supervision. PMUR findings are usually sent to the
child’s caseworker or can be faxed or emailed directly to the court, if requested.



All PMUR requests are reviewed by one of two STAR Health Licensed Behavior Health
Clinicians who gather medical records and screen children’s psychotropic medication treatment
for compliance with the Parameters. If the treatment is outside the Parameters, the clinician
refers the case to a STAR Health child psychiatrist to conduct a PMUR. The child psychiatrist
outreaches to the treating physician, works with the treating physician to reduce polypharmacy
ifindicated, and prepares a PMUR report. The PMUR report will contain a formal determination
about the foster child’s medication treatment. The possible determinations are as follows:

e Medication treatment within Parameters;

e Medication treatment outside Parameters. Medication treatment reviewed and found to be
within the standard of care;

e Medication treatment is outside Parameters and there is opportunity to reduce
polypharmacy; or

e Medication treatment is outside Parameters and there is risk for or evidence of significant
side effects.

Physicians who appear to consistently prescribe outside the Parameters despite risk for or
evidence of significant side effects, or when there is an opportunity to reduce polypharmacy,
are referred to the Quality of Care (QOC) review process. Additional records are examined for
pervasive patterns of over or dangerous prescribing. Qualifying cases may be referred to the
Peer Review Committee for further investigation and action. The Peer Review Committee is
established by the Managed Care Organization, Superior HealthPlan, and consists of network
providers who review PMUR concerns for STAR Health Members who exceed the Quality of
Care thresholds. Superior HealthPlan also utilizes consultant physicians as needed to review
specific specialist issues, if a need is identified. The results of Quality Improvement and Peer
Review Committee investigations and actions are confidential and may not be released to or
discussed with the public. All QOC issues are tracked and trended. Any practitioner showing
a pattern or trend may be placed on corrective action and/or face disciplinary action up to and
including termination of their contract, if warranted.

A PMUR cannot address whether other medications might be effective, and this process is not
the appropriate avenue to address immediate concerns about new medications or medication
side effects; the informed consent process is considered the appropriate avenue to inquire
about new medications and side effects. In these situations, STAR Health recommends that
the Medical Consenter contact the prescribing physician directly. DFPS also employs Nurse
Consultants in each administrative region to assist DFPS staff with children’s health issues,
including questions about psychotropic medications.

The Parameters and PMUR can be accessed on DFPS’s website.
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Older Youth in Foster Care

An attorney representing teenage youth in foster care must be aware of several specific duties
the attorney, DFPS, and the courts have regarding older youth, as well as best practices that can
help prevent negative outcomes for youth who age out of DFPS care.

Legal Requirements Before a Youth’s 18th Birthday
MEDICAL CONSENT

Child’s Attorney Duties Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3)(A)

Once a child turns 16, the child’s attorney must advise the child of their right to request the court
authorize the child to consent to the child’s own medical care and file a motion if the youth wants
to request that authority. Though the duty applies once the child turns 16, an attorney should
begin advising and building rapport with the client regarding the issue well ahead of the child’s
birthday.

IDENTIFICATION ISSUES

DFPS Duties Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121(a-7), (e), (e-1)
By age 16, DFPS must provide youth with original or certified copies of the following:

e Birth certificate
e Social Security card

e Texas Identification Card or Driver’s License

By age 18, DFPS must also provide youth with the following:

e Immunization records

e Health passport

e A Medicaid card or other proof of Medicaid enrollment or insurance card from the health
plan that provides health coverage to the youth

Before a youth leaves foster care, if the youth is age 14 or older, DFPS must ensure that the
youth has an e-mail address through which the youth may receive encrypted copies of personal
documents and records.

Child’s Attorney Duties Tex. Fam. Code § 107.003(b)(3)(B)

Once a child turns 16, the child’s attorney must ascertain whether the child has received:

e Original or certified copy of their birth certificate
e Social Security card
e Texas Identification Card or Driver’s License

e Any other documents DFPS determines appropriate

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: If the attorney ascertains the child does not have
the required documents, the attorney should advocate both inside and outside of
court to assist the youth in obtaining the documents. That could mean helping the
youth connect with appropriate government offices that can assist them in acquiring
documents, working with DFPS to obtain documents, or setting hearings in front of
the judge to request orders that missing documents be produced.




Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s attorney should also ensure the youth has
original copies of all immigration documents. It is essential that the youth knows
and understands their immigration status and has all their original immigration
documents. Assumptions about citizenship can have disastrous consequences
for the youth later in life. Do not rely on third-hand explanations and seek outside
immigration expertise if necessary. If the youth appears to not have immigration
status or documents, attorneys should verify that DFPS staff is working on obtaining
legal immigration status or documentation of their status and regular progress is
being made. See the Special Immigrant Juvenile Status section of this tool kit for
more information.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: A child’s attorney should also ensure youth have
access to their credit report and receive a copy of it before exiting care. Credit issues
such as identity theft can occur regardless of the age of the child so attorney should
ensure the report is done as soon as possible. DFPS is required to run and review a
credit report for foster youth every year between the ages of 14 and 17.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Verify that each identification document has the
youth’s correct name and that the name is spelled correctly. It is also important to
ask the youth what name they prefer and if they want to change their legal name.
Youth may have strong negative feelings about their legal name if they associate it
with someone who abused, neglected, or abandoned them, but they may not be aware
they can change it. If there is a problem with the youth’s name or if the youth wants
to change their name, it is much easier to correct the mistake or change the name
before the youth turns 18.
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Preparing for Transition to Adulthood
PREPARATION FOR ADULT LIVING

The Preparation for Adult Living (PAL) program involves an independent living skills assessment,
life skills classes, transition planning, conferences, and training events. Services may start as
early as age 14 but must begin by age 16. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.121. PAL services are usually
offered by local service providers who will also provide voluntary aftercare case management for
the youth between age 18 and age 21. DFPS has dedicated PAL coordinators to help youth access
benefits when they leave care.

Youth with disabilities should not be excluded from the PAL program. DFPS must make
appropriate accommodations that allow for meaningful participation. Tex. Fam. Code §
264.121(a)(4).

Circle of Support (COS) meetings will be scheduled for youth who are on track to age out of
foster care. A COS is centered on the youth and is the preferred method of transition planning.
The youth is permitted to invite foster care providers, teachers, parents, siblings, relatives,
mentors, attorneys, CASAs, and friends. In addition to attending the COS, attorneys should
help prepare the youth for the COS. A COS may feel intimidating to a youth but going over
the structure and purpose of the meeting in advance can help reduce anxiety, this. This is
particularly important as the effects of trauma can impede the youth’s ability to plan ahead and
see a future for themselves. If an initial COS does not adequately address the youth’s transition
needs, a child’s attorney can request an additional COS and help the youth plan ahead for the
meeting.

EXTENDED FOSTER CARE

Youth who wish to remain in extended foster care after their 18th birthday must meet one of the
following eligibility criteria:

e Attend high school or a program leading to a high school diploma or a high school
equivalency certificate (GED);

e Attend college or higher learning institution, or post-secondary vocational program or
technical program (6 credit hour minimum);

e Participate in an employment program or activity that promotes or removes barriers to
employment;

o Work at a job at least 80 hours per month; or

o Have a documented medical condition that limits other activities.

Not later than six months before the youth’s 18th birthday, DFPS must complete all necessary
paperwork to ensure the youth has housing on the date the youth enters extended foster care.
DFPS must also review the qualifications and requirements for the youth’s housing not later
than 90 days before their 18th birthday. Tex. Fam. Code § 264.1214.

Supervised Independent Living (SIL) is a program available only to youth in extended foster care
that allows them to live independently in a supervised living arrangement while their expenses
are paid by DFPS. SIL placement locations can be apartments, college dorms, or shared housing.
If permitted by the property owner, DFPS should allow the youth to co-sign the lease for their
housing.

If a youth chooses not to remain in extended foster care, they can return any time before they
turn 21, as long as there are placements available. This is an available option regardless of
whether the Trial Independence period has ended or if the court still has Extended Jurisdiction.



TRANSITIONAL SERVICES AND BENEFITS
Healthcare

Former Foster Care Children’s Medicaid (FFCC): Young adults are eligible only if they
received federally-funded Medicaid on their 18th birthday; this benefit is not dependent
on means; youth are eligible for this benefit until age 26.

Medicaid for Transitioning Foster Care Youth (MTFCY): Young adults are eligible for
this benefit if they were not receiving federally-funded Medicaid, but were in DFPS

conservatorship, on their 18th birthday. Youth are eligible for this benefit until age 21 and
must be under 400% of the Federal Poverty Guideline.

Maintaining Medicaid Eligibility: All Medicaid recipients, including youth formerly
in foster care, must renew their Medicaid eligibility once every 12 months. To ensure
continuous coverage, youth must provide their current mailing address to HHSC. If the
youth’s address changes without noticing HHSC, and HHSC receives returned mail and
cannot locate the youth, the youth’s Medicaid benefits will be denied. A youth can report an
address change online at YourTexasBenefits.com, through the Your Texas Benefits mobile
app, calling 211, in person at a local Medicaid eligibility office or by in writing by mail or
by fax. Youth must also respond to requests for information from HHSC and may need to
verify that they are a Texas resident and/or their immigration status.

Transitional Expenses

Transitional Living Allowance (TLA): This cash benefit of $1,000 is available in two
separate payments of $500 each. It is available to young adults who were in foster care
on their 18th birthday, who completed the PAL life skills class, and who are transitioning
to independent or supervised living. Recipients must meet the same eligibility criteria as
extended foster care and must receive the benefit before their 21st birthday. CPS Handbook
§ 10241.

Aftercare Room and Board (ARB): This is an emergency benefit of up to a maximum of
$3,000 paid, in increments of no more than $500 per month, directly to landlords or
utility companies or as a grocery store gift card. It is available to young adults who were in
foster care on their 18th birthday and demonstrate emergency financial need. They must
meet the same eligibility criteria as extended foster care and must receive the benefit
before their 21st birthday. CPS Handbook § 10251.

Education

Tuition/Fee Waiver: This benefit waives tuition and fees for all Texas public institutions of
higher education (including 2-year colleges, 4-year universities, and technical schools).
Eligible youth or young adults, including some youth who are reunified with parents, must
enroll in a dual credit or college credit course before their 25th birthday to lock in the
benefit. Once the benefit is activated, it does not expire. Tex. Educ. Code § 54.366. Adopted
youth may also be eligible for the waiver. Tex. Educ. Code § 54.367.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: The eligibility criteria for the tuition and fee waiver,
as well as assessing which programs qualify for the waiver, is complex. Contact the
regional Preparation for Adult Living specialist to verify eligibility.
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e KEducation and Training Voucher (ETV): This is a federal cash benefit of up to $5,000

per year for expenses related to college or training programs (e.g., housing, food, books,
childcare, computer equipment, other expenses). Eligible young adults can receive the
benefit until age 23 (available to more than only aged outfoster youth). 40 Tex. Admin.
Code § 700.1613.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Some aftercare benefits are contingent based on
how the child exits care. It is important to advise the client well before their 18th
birthday on the benefits which might be available under each exit type, including an
adult adoption after the client turns 18.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: Explaining health insurance and financial benefits
to youth can be challenging. Attorneys should take the time to explain them in a
way that youth can understand. The Texas Foster Youth Justice Project also has
resources that can help youth understand the benefits in a way that is accessible to
them.

Extended Jurisdiction

Extended jurisdiction allows the court to retain a youth’s case on the court’s docket after the
youth turns 18, hold review hearings to determine whether the youth is receiving appropriate
services, and order DFPS to provide certain services to the youth. The court may not compel a
youth to attend a hearing and the youth still maintains all the rights of any adult of the same
age. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 263.601-263.608. When a young adult turns 18, DFPS conservatorship is
dismissed. The young adult can choose to either remain in Extended Foster Care (EFC) or can
exit DFPS’ care to live independently, also known as Trial Independence (TI). When a young
adult makes a decision to remain in EFC or to begin TI, the young adult is considered to be in
Extended Court Jurisdiction.

TRANSITIONAL LIVING SERVICES

A young adult who stays in EFC may or may not be receiving Transitional Living Services
(TLS). TLS are multipurpose and include circles of support, preparation for adult living classes,
education and training vouchers, college tuition and fee waivers, and other related services and
support of young people 16 to 21 or up to 22 years of age who are currently or formerly in foster
care, or who are transitioning out of care.

PATHS FOR YOUNG ADULTS AGING OUT OF FOSTER CARE
Path 1 - Extended Foster Care

For a young adult in EFC, a review hearing is held every six months. A young adult can exit EFC
for TT at any time prior to age 21. For those remaining in EFC, the court’s extended jurisdiction
ends at age 21.

Path 2 - Trial Independence

If at age 18 the young adult decides to not stay in EFC, he or she exits to Trial Independence (TI)
which automatically extends up to six months. Trial Independence may be extended up to 12
months by court order. The young adult can choose to return to EFC during the TI period or at
any time before age 21. A young adult may or may not use TLS while in TT but receiving TLS
effects the court’s extended jurisdiction over the youth’s case.


https://texasfosteryouth.org/legal-resources/legal-resources-for-youth/

No hearings are required by the court during T1, but the young adult may request a hearing, or
the court may set hearings on its own motion. At a hearing, a court may review and make orders
regarding the services being provided to youth, identification documents the youth may need,
and sibling contact if the youth has siblings in DFPS conservatorship.

Path 2A - Trial Independence without Transitional Living Services

If the young adult does not receive TLS, the court’s jurisdiction ends on the last day of the
month in which the young adult’s TI period ends or upon the young adult’s 21st birthday,
whichever is earlier, unless the court has extended jurisdiction until age 21.

Path 2B - Trial Independence with Transitional Living Services

When the young adult’s TI ends, the young adult can request a voluntary extension of the court’s
jurisdiction beyond the TI period if the young adult is currently receiving TLS. The court’s
jurisdiction ends when the young adult turns 21, or before, if the young adult withdraws consent
to the court’s extended jurisdiction.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: In the court hearing immediately before a child
client turns 18, consider submitting a motion to extend the court’s jurisdiction until
age 21. This establishes a safety net that causes no harm and allows the young adult
to request assistance from the court if needed for an additional amount of time.
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Child Turns 18 While in PMC or TMC Chart
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Paternity

Establishing the Parent-Child Relationship

The Mother-Child Relationship is established between a woman and a child by:

e The woman giving birth to the child;
e An adjudication of the woman’s maternity; or

e The adoption of the child by a woman.
The Father-Child Relationship is established between a man and a child by:

e Anunrebutted presumption of a man’s paternity of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.204.;

e An effective acknowledgment of paternity under Subchapter D of Tex. Fam. Code §
160.204, unless the acknowledgment has been rescinded or successfully challenged;

e An adjudication of the man’s paternity;
e The adoption of a child by the man; or

e The man’s consent to assisted reproduction by his wife under Subchapter H, which
resulted in the birth of the child. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.201.

Types of Fathers as Defined in the Texas Family Code
e Presumed
e Alleged (or putative)
e Acknowledged
e Adjudicated
e Unknown

PRESUMED FATHER

A man is a presumed father if:
e He is married to the mother of the child and the child is born during the marriage;

e He is married to the mother of the child and the child is born before the 301st day after
the date the marriage is terminated by death, annulment, declaration of invalidity, or
divorce;

e Heis married to the mother of the child before the birth of the child in apparent compliance
with the law, even if the attempted marriage is or could be declared invalid and the child
is born during the invalid marriage or before the 301st day after the date the marriage it
terminated by death, annulment, declaration of invalidity, or divorce;

e He married the mother of the child after the birth of the child in apparent compliance with
law, regardless of whether the marriage is or could be declared invalid, he voluntarily
asserted his paternity of the child, and:

o the assertion is in a record filed with the Vital Statistics Unit;
o heis voluntarily named as the child’s father on the child’s birth certificate; or
o he promised in a record to support the child as his own; or

o during the first two years of the child’s life, he continuously resided in the
household in which the child resided and he represented to others that the
child was his own.Tex. Fam. Code § 160.204.
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ALLEGED FATHER

A man is an alleged father if:

e He alleges himself to be, or is alleged to be, the genetic father or possible genetic father of
a child, but his paternity has not been determined.

An alleged father cannot establish paternity or create a presumption of paternity by registering
with the Paternity Registry, but timely registration entitles him to notice of an action for
termination of parental rights or adoption of a child he may have fathered.

An alleged father’s paternity may be established if:

e Themotherofachildandthe manclaimingtobethebiological father sign anacknowledgment
of paternity with the intent to establish the man’s paternity. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.301.
A valid acknowledgment of paternity filed with the Vital Statistics Unit is the equivalent
of an adjudication of the paternity of a child and confers all rights and duties. Tex. Fam.
Code § 160.305.

e Both the mother and father can testify in open court and ask the court to establish paternity.

e Genetic testing is done. DFPS may obtain genetic testing through the Office of the Attorney
General. Any party, an attorney ad litem, or guardian ad litem for the child may request
that genetic testing be ordered by the court to establish paternity.

e Ifthe alleged father refuses to submit to genetic testing, the court may adjudicate paternity
contrary to his position. Tex. Fam. Code § 160.622.

As soon as a legal father is established, any other potential candidates can be dismissed.

Paternity Registry

The Vital Statistics Unit (VSU) maintains a paternity registry. A man who wants to be notified
of a proceeding for the adoption or the termination of parental rights regarding a child he may
have fathered must register before the birth of the child or no later than the 31st day after the
child’s birth. The registrant has the responsibility of keeping his information current with the
VSU. A man who has filed with the paternity registry within the requisite time frame is entitled
to be served with notice of a suit involving the child. Registering with the paternity registry also
establishes a basis for personal jurisdiction of a person who is not a Texas resident.

If no father-child relationship can be established, a petitioner (DFPS) seeking termination of
parental rights or adoption must obtain a certificate of the results of a search of the paternity
registry. If the petitioner (DFPS) has reason to believe that conception or birth of the child may
have occurred in another state, the petitioner must obtain a certificate from the paternity or
putative father registry of that state.

ACKNOWLEDGED FATHER

A man is an acknowledged father if:

e He has executed an Acknowledgement of Paternity (AOP). A valid AOP filed with the VSU
is the equivalent of an adjudication of paternity.

ADJUDICATED FATHER

A man is an adjudicated father if:

e He has been adjudicated by a court to be the father of a child. Adjudication can be
accomplished by an admission of paternity under penalty of perjury during a hearing or in
response to a refusal to submit to genetic testing. A signed Acknowledgment of Paternity
that has been filed with the Departmentof State Health Services is also the equivalent of
an adjudication of paternity.



Estoppel of Paternity

The Texas Legislature has recognized that in certain circumstances it may be in the best interest
of the child not to have the child’s understanding of their paternity disrupted. The value of
maintaining the child’s relationship with the man identified to the child as their father may
prevent interested parties from litigating the issue, including denying a Motion for Genetic
Testing. See Tex. Fam. Code §§ 160.607, 160.608, 160.609.

Child’s Attorney Practice Tip: For a child without an Adjudicated or Presumed
Father, asking for DNA testing on any alleged father who is present at the hearing
can save time and prevent delays to permanency. If the petition does not include
a request to terminate the rights of the unknown father, a child’s attorney should
consider including the request in their counter-petition.
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Child Support and Kinship Support

Child Support

All parents have a duty to support their child. The court may order either or both parents to
support a child as follows, per Tex. Fam. Code § 154.001:

Child support may be ordered:

e Until the child is 18 years of age or until graduation from high school, whichever occurs
later;

e Until the child is emancipated through marriage, removal of disabilities of minority bya
court order, or by other operation of law;

e Until the death of the child; or
e Ifthe child is disabled as defined in Tex. Fam. Code § 154.302, for an indefinite period.

The court may order each parent who is financially able to pay support a child for whom DFPS
has been appointed managing conservator.

e This support continues until the earliest of:

o the child’s adoption;

o the child’s 18th birthday or graduation from high school, whichever occurs
later;

o the removal of the child’s disabilities of minority by court order, marriage or
otheroperation of law;

o the death of the child; or

o if the child is disabled as defined in Tex. Fam. Code § 154.302, for an indefinite
period.

If the court presiding over a SAPCR involving DFPS orders child support payments or modifies
existing child support payments so that the payments be made to DFPS, the court must notify
the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) within 10 days of rendering the order.

Note that upon terminating a parent’s rights, the court may order that parent to pay child
support post-termination. Tex. Fam. Code § 154.001(a-1). In the absence of evidence of a party’s
resources, the court shall presume that the party has income equal to the federal minimum
wagefor a 40-hour week. Tex. Fam. Code §154.068.

When computing net resources available for payment of child support, refer to charts and tables
in Tex. Fam. Code Ch. 154, Subchapter B. This includes: child support tax charts; definition
of net resources; additional factors for the court to consider; application of guidelines to net
resources,computing support for children in more than one household, etc.

Practice Tip: When child support is ordered, the court shall order that child
support be payable through the state disbursement unit (SDU). See Tex. Fam. Code
§ 154.004(a). The OAG monitors payment of child support through the SDU and
if a delinquency occurs, the OAG has a right to seek enforcement of child support
and if delinquency occurs, can move to enforce the child support order. Texas law
requires the court to order that income be withheld from the disposable earnings
of the obligor for the payment of child support. See Tex. Fam. Code § 158.001.

The OAG prescribes forms as authorized by federal law in a standard format entitled
“Income Withholding for Support IWO) Form, Instructions & Sample OMB 0970-
0154”. See Tex. Fam. Code § 158.106(a). The form is published in 1 Tex. Admin. Code
§ 55.118.



http://Income Withholding for Support (IWO) Form, Instructions & Sample OMB 0970-0154
http://Income Withholding for Support (IWO) Form, Instructions & Sample OMB 0970-0154

Relative and Kinship Placement Support
RELATIVE OR OTHER DESIGNATED CAREGIVER ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

Without PMC of the child -- Monthly Reimbursement Payment and Medicaid
The child must be:

e In the managing conservatorship of DFPS; and
e Placed in the home by DFPS.

The caregiver must:

e Be related to the child or have a longstanding and significant relationship with the child;
e Be formally approved by DFPS as a caregiver (i.e., have an approved home assessment);
e Not be a licensed or verified foster home or group foster home; and

e Sign and abide by a written caregiver assistance agreement, which includes a commitment

to:

o be available as a continuing placement for the child for at least six months;

o participate in specialized kinship training as recommended and provided by
DFPS;

o comply with DFPS requirements limiting or facilitating contact between the
parents and the child,

o apply for other forms of assistance, including financial and medical, for which
the child may be eligible; and

o comply with any other child-specific requirements or limitations.
The caregiver’s household income may not exceed:

e 300% of current poverty level, as determined annually by federal poverty guidelines.
(Caregivers with a household income over 300% are not eligible.)

With PMC of the Child - Annual Reimbursement Payment (No Medicaid)
The child must have been:

e Previously in the managing conservatorship of DFPS; and

e Placed in the home by DFPS.
The caregiver must:

e Meet all of the requirements for caregivers without PMC (e.g., not be a licensed or verified
foster caregiver);

e Have obtained PMC of the child after September 1, 2017; and
e Continue to comply with the signed caregiver assistance agreement.

The caregiver’s household income does not exceed:

e 300% of current poverty level, as determined annually by federal poverty guidelines.
(Caregivers with a household income over 300% are not eligible.)

PERMANENCY CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (PCA)

Requires caregiver to become a licensed/verified foster parent and obtain PMC of the child.
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Includes one-time reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses, monthly payment, and Medicaid.

The child must:

e Have been previously in the managing conservatorship of DFPS;

e Have been placed in the home by DFPS;

e Havedemonstrated astrong attachmenttothe prospective permanent kinship conservator;

e Not have reunification or adoption as a permanency option (DFPS has already ruled
these out for the child);

e Ifatleast 14 years of age, have been consulted by DFPS about the prospective permanent
kinship conservator’s commitment to assume PMC of the child; and

e Have resided in the caregiver’s home since it was licensed/verified for at least six

consecutive months.

The caregiver must:

Be a relative of the child or have had a longstanding and significant relationship with the
child prior to DFPS placing the child in the home;

Have a strong commitment to caring permanently for the child;

Have been eligible for the receipt of foster care reimbursements on behalf of the child
(i.e., caregiver must become a licensed or verified foster parent to the child) for at least
six consecutive months prior to the effective date of the PCA agreement;

Enter into a PCA agreement with DFPS on behalf of the child prior to becoming the
child’s permanent kinship conservator; and

Obtain PMC of the child.

The court must NOT issue an order that includes any of the following:

Naming either of the child’s parents as Joint Managing Conservator (JMC) of the child;
Naming DFPS as JMC of the child; or

Awarding possessory conservatorship to any parent of the child under circumstances
DFPS determines have the effect of reunifying the child with that parent.

Practice Tip: The earlier the relative/caregiver begins the process, the earlier
they can become eligible to finalize a PCA agreement which can increase options for
negotiation at the end of the case and avoid unnecessary extensions of the deadline.
Courts are also required to inform relatives caring for children of the ability to apply
for PCA at the Adversary Hearing, Status Hearing, and Permanency Hearings before
and after a final order. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.201(n-1), 263.202(1), 263.306(c)(2),
263.5031(3).




Inability to Care & Parents with Disabilities

Inability to Care

In certain circumstances, DFPS may file for termination of a parent’s rights based on the parent’s
mental illness or deficiency without alleging one of the termination grounds in Tex. Fam. Code
§ 161.001.

STATUTE
Tex. Fam. Code § 161.003

The court must find:
e That the parent has a mental or emotional illness, or mental deficiency that renders the
parent unable to provide for the physical, emotional, and mental needs of the child;

e That the illness or deficiency will probably continue to render the parent unable to provide
for the child’s needs until the child’s 18th birthday;

e That DFPS has been Temporary or Sole Managing Conservator for at least six months
prior to the termination hearing;

e That DFPS made reasonable efforts to return the child to the parent; and
e That termination is in the child’s best interest.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The needs of the child also affect the impact of
the deficiency. For example, a parent’s deficiency may prevent them from being able
to meet the emotional needs of a 3-year-old who throws tantrums, but the same
parent might be able to meet the emotional needs of an 11-year-old.

ADVOCACY

When representing a parent who has a mental or emotional deficiency, an attorney still owes
their client a duty of zealous advocacy to ensure their client’s rights are protected and that
DFPS makes reasonable efforts to return the child to the parent.

Federal law prohibits governmental entities, including DFPS and the courts, from discriminating
against people with disabilities in their programs, services, and activities. Once it is determined
that a parent or caregiver has an intellectual or developmental disability and/or a mental
illness, DFPS is obligated to work with the family to identify possible services and supports
that can assist the caregiver in meeting the needs of their child. If a caseworker suspects
that a parent has an intellectual or mental disability, they must contact the Developmental
Disability specialist at DFPS so that a member of that team can work with the parent on
whatever services are required. This policy is based on Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of
1973, as well as the Americans with Disabilities Act, which requires governmental entities to
make accommodations for people with disabilities.

Parents With Disabilities

Parents with mental or intellectual disabilities are equally entitled to accommodations as those
with physical disabilities. DFPS is legally mandated to make reasonable accommodations and
modifications for disabled parents and caregivers so that they have equal access to services,
and so that they can complete the services according to their abilities. An attorney may need
to advocate for transportation assistance for a parent, relocation of a service or visit to an
accessible facility, or referral to agencies that can help with various supports.
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Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Accommodations, modifications, and supports
must be individualized, and there is no one size that fits all. Therefore, it is important
to understand the clients’ strengths and limitations to effectively advocate for them
and the accommodations needed. DFPS has a policy handbook called “Working with
Parents with Disabilities.” This can be a helpful resource to use when advocating for
accommodations for the parent, particularly as they relate to Family Service Plans.




Incarcerated Parents

Generally, an incarcerated parent has the same rights and duties as a parent who is not
incarcerated, and an attorney owes their client the same duties of zealous advocacy to protect
their client’s rights and ensure that reasonable efforts are made to return the child to the
parent.

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) is the agency which manages the overall
operation of the state’s prison system, parole, and state jail systems. The agency also provides
funding, training, and certain oversight of community supervision.

Types Of Correctional Facilities
CORRECTIONAL CENTERS (PRIVATE)

These are privately operated correctional centers that house Correctional Institutions Division
(CID) offenders.

COUNTY JAILS

County jails are managed by the county sheriff or designee. The county jail facility’s primary
roleis to hold defendants awaiting trial or those who have been convicted and sentenced to
county jail.

FEDERAL PRISONS

Federal prisons are managed and run by the U.S. government and houses inmates who have
beenconvicted of a federal crime. The Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) is responsible for the
centralized administration of federal prisons.

STATE JAIL FACILITIES

State jails house individuals who have committed felony crimes (primarily property crimes
and low-level controlled substance offenses) that have a maximum sentence of two years and a
mandatory term of community supervision. Some state jails are privately operated and house
state felons as well as CID transfer offenders.

How to Locate an Incarcerated Parent

To locate a parent in a TDCdJ Facility (a Texas prison or State Jail) contact the Office of
Classification and Records in Huntsville, Texas at:

e 1-936-437-6564 or 1-800-535-0283;
e Visit the TDCJ website; or
e Look for the Quick (Link) box and use the list just as the TDCdJ website has it.

PARENTS NOT UNDER TDCJ SUPERVISION
If the parent is confined in a facility other than TDCJ, the following links may be useful:

e Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) (contains online inmate locator). The BOP Office of
Public Affairs phone: (202) 307-3198; Email: webmaster@bop.gov.

e Victim Information and Notification Everyday (Vine Link) to locate a parent who may be
incarcerated in another state.

e Corrections Department by state to locate a parent in another state.

The following are some additional links not supported or endorsed by TDCJ:

e Prison Search Ancestor Hunt
e Corrections.com
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PARENTS IN COUNTY JAILS

To determine if a parent is incarcerated in a county jail, conduct a search of the county’s
website in order tolocate the parent or contact the county jail directly.

Attendance at Hearings and Trial

Even if a client is incarcerated, they still have a right to be present at the statutory hearings.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: If a client wants to attend a hearing or trial via
phone or video conference, contact the correctional facility well before the scheduled
hearing to determine what is required to make the client available at the scheduled
time. If the client wants to attend in person, a bench warrant will be required and
the best practice is to work with the court and the attorney representing DFPS to
facilitate the bench warrant.

Service Plan

A client’s incarceration does not mean they cannot participate in services. To find out what
services are available to the incarcerated parent, contact the facility or go online to view
Rehabilitation Programs Services where the TDCJ inmate services are located. Some county
facilities also have classes available for their inmates. Attorneys should contact the jail to obtain
a list of services available for their parent client and inquire into programming available both
on-site and through distance learning. Theremay be programs that parents can participate in
via mail correspondence even if classes are not being offered on-site.

Visitation
A client’s incarceration does not mean that visitation with their child is impossible or
inappropriate.

If the court is reluctant to order visitation with an incarcerated parent, there are studies
which indicate that allowing contact between children and parents who are incarcerated can
mitigate the harms of separation for the child. Please see the Additional Resources section of
this tool kit for more information.

If visitation is ordered by the court, it is important for the parent’s attorney to explain to the
parent client that they need to notify their attorney if the parent is not permitted visits by
the facility as a result of disciplinary sanction, because of facility security, transfer to another
facility, or release from a facility or program.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Contact the correctional facility about the facility’s
family visitation policy, including procedures and restrictions (such as whether all
visitors must be on the offender’s visiting list before being approved to visit) and
determine if there is a social worker or chaplain who can help with arranging parent-
child visits at the facility.

An incarcerated parent may send written correspondence to their child. However, it is prudent
toadvise the client that the content of written correspondence is not confidential and discuss
what information is and is not appropriate to include in written letters.


https://www.tdcj.texas.gov/divisions/rpd/index.html

Placement

A client’s incarceration does not mean that they are unable to assist in providing information
about or facilitating a placement for their child. Relatives and fictive kin of an incarcerated
parent may be placement options or other sources of support for the child and family. A parent
client should be given the opportunity to provide that information as soon as possible after
appointment. Please see the Placement section of this tool kit for more information when
considering placement issues.
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Parents with an Open Criminal Case

A parent client may have an additional criminal component to a case filed by DFPS. This can be
difficult to navigate as actions taken in the child welfare case can directly affect the criminal
case and there are important aspects to consider from the outset for both the child welfare and
criminal cases.

Information Gathering

Questions to ask the client:

e When and where were they arrested? What state and county?

e What are the pending charges? Have they been filed?

e Is there an alleged victim? Does the client know the alleged victim? If so, how?
e Does the client have any previous convictions?

e Do they have a criminal attorney? (If they do not have an attorney, it is important they
understand their right to an attorney, including a court-appointed attorney.)

If the client does not know the above information, then the parent attorney may research the
answers as part of an independent investigation into the client’s case. The parent attorney
can contact the criminal prosecutor or criminal defense attorney to make inquiries, and if
those professionals cannot be identified, run an independent criminal record search. Even
though the information above pertains to the criminal case, understanding the criminal case is
necessary to better represent a client in the child welfare case.

If the parent client does not have a criminal attorney, consider assisting them in the process
to apply for one. There may be applications and affidavits required, depending on where the
criminal case is located. Parent attorneys may call the court directly for its specific process for
appointing a criminal attorney.

CONFIDENTIALITY

It is crucial to establish the importance of confidentiality with the client and advise the client
not to discuss the criminal case and any of its details with anyone besides their parent’s attorney
and their criminal attorney. The client has a Fifth Amendment right to remain silent asto any
details regarding a current criminal investigation or ongoing case. The parent’s attorney
should strongly consider preparing the client to respond to questions from the investigator or
caseworker in the child welfare case about the criminal charges so that the client may respond
in a way that does not have negative implications for their criminal case.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: The confidentiality discussion should take place
during the initial contact with the client as a part of the attorney-client privilege
explanation.

COMMUNICATION WITH DEFENSE COUNSEL

It is crucial to establish an open line of communication with a client’s criminal attorney. Court-
appointed criminal attorneys often have heavy caseloads which can slow their response time,
but it is important to initiate a conversation as soon as possible to discussthe client’s criminal
case.

A parent’s attorney in the child welfare case can provide information that assists the criminal
defense attorney in preparing a dense and resolving the criminal case, including:

e Mitigating circumstances due to the parent’s history and circumstances;

e Services the parent has completed in their child welfare case or is in the process of
completing; and



e Effective ways to communicate with the parent.

Important things to consult with the client’s criminal attorney about include:

e Upcoming court dates for both the child welfare and criminal case;
e The evidence being used (video, audio, police reports, etc.);

e The progress of the case;

e The general strategy of the defense attorney; and

e The status of plea negotiations with prosecution (what is the current offer).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Make it a priority to check in with the criminal
attorney for updates prior to each statutory child welfare hearing, if not more
frequently.

How The Criminal Case Affects the Child Welfare Case
SERVICES OVERLAP

It may be important for the criminal court to determine what services are being provided to
theparent through the child welfare case. Must they be duplicated or substituted by probation
services, or are the services being provided in the child welfare case sufficient? Ask the court
to allow consolidation of services as much as possible. This is especially important if the
transportation and/or time management necessary to comply with a wide array of services are
challenges for the client.

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Criminal cases involving domestic violence
often have bond or probation conditions that require batterer intervention classes
or components, which can be used to fulfill requirements of a DFPS service plan.
Attorneys should also look into whether the conditions have a “stay away” provision
or if there is an emergency protective order or full protective order in place as
it may cause additional issues in the child welfare case if the victim is the other
parent.

Most bond or probation conditions will also require drug testing; however, the criminal
case and civil child welfare cases will likely require independent testing. Caseworkers
and probationofficers will often communicate after failed tests but will want their
own tests due to their own specific requirements.

PATTERN OF DANGEROUS CONDUCT

DFPS may use previous criminal convictions and pending charges against the client to show a
pattern of dangerous behavior. It is important to view any offense reports that the prosecuting
attorney may have on the client. Any altercation or incident with law enforcement, even if no
arrest or charge was made, can be used to demonstrate a pattern of conduct that may endanger
a child.

CONSEQUENCES OF DISPOSITIONS

If a criminal case is concluded or nearing its end, it is imperative to speak with the criminal
attorney about the possible implications of different types of pleas. This is an extremely
impactful part of the case, especially if a criminal charge is directly related to the child
welfare case. Research and speak with a criminal attorney to better understand criminal case
dispositions and collateral consequences that may impact the child welfare case.

SONSST A9UI01}Y SPUdIR]

139



Parents’ Attorney Issues

140

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Construct a timeline with the criminal case dates
and the statutory deadlines for the child welfare case to better understand how the
two cases may overlap or exist independently from each other.

FIFTH AMENDMENT CONSIDERATIONS
Fifth Amendment Does Apply to Civil Cases

The right against self-incrimination applies to both civil and criminal cases. McCarthy v.
Anderson, 266 U.S. 34 (1924). The application is not dependent on the type of proceeding, but
onwhether the answers to the questions could subject the person who answers to criminal
Liability in the future. Lefkowitz v. Turley, 414 U.S. 70 (1973).

Testifying in a Civil Case

In a civil case, the state has the right to call the opposing party as a witness, but the individual
retains their right against self-incrimination if they reasonably fear that the answer sought
may be incriminating. Texas Dept. of Pub. Safety Officers Ass’n v. Denton, 897 S.W.2d 757, 760
(Tex. 1995)

No Blanket Assertion of Privilege

However, the party may not make a blanket assertion against self-incrimination in a civil case.
They must assert the privilege in response to each question and the judge rules on whether the
witness can assert his Fifth Amendment right to a given question. In re Verbois, 10 SW. 3d
825, 828 (Tex. App. — Waco 2000).

Negative Inference Allowed

Unlike in a criminal case, the application of the Fifth Amendment in civil cases is not automatic
and if the witness fails to testify, or fails to answer a question, it may be held against them.
The fact finder is “free to draw negative inferences from [a witness’s] repeated invocations of
the Fifth Amendment.” Wilz v. Flournoy, 228 S.W.3d 674, 677 (Tex. 2007).

Parent’s Attorney Practice Tip: Because of the significant differences in the
application of the Fifth Amendment to criminal and civil cases, consult with the
client’s criminal attorney before the client testifies in a DFPS court proceeding.




Reinstatement of Parental Rights

Under certain circumstances a parent may petition the court to reinstate their parental rights
after termination.

Statutes
Tex. Fam. Code §§ 161.301-161.304

Parties That Can File for Reinstatement

e DFPS or a single source continuum contractor (SSCC)
e The attorney ad litem for the child
e A parent whose rights have been involuntarily terminated.

Practice Tip: Since the statute requires that the parent’s rights must have been
involuntarily terminated, this may be interpreted to exclude parents who signed
affidavits of relinquishment or signed a mediated settlement agreement not to oppose
termination based on Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001(b)(O) or other ground under Section
161.001. However, all grounds under Tex. Fam. Code § 161.001 are listed under
“Involuntary Termination of the Parent-Child Relationship” including Tex. Fam.
Code § 161.001(b)(K) (execution of an affidavit of relinquishment) so those parents
may not be excluded from filing for reinstatement.

Requirements of the Petition
CIRCUMSTANCES WHEN A PETITION CANNOT BE FILED

A petition for reinstatement cannot be filed if:
e It has been less the two years since the parent’s rights were terminated;
e The child has been adopted, or is the subject of an adoption placement agreement;
e There is a pending appeal; or
e It has been less than one year since a court denied a previous petition for reinstatement.

REQUIRED CONTENTS OF THE PETITION
The contents of the petition must be sworn to by the petitioner and must include:

e The name of the petitioner;
The name and address of the former parent seeking reinstatement;
The name, date and place of birth, and current residence of the child, if known;

The name, current residence address and contact information for any party that
participated in the termination hearing and has information relevant to the petition;

e A summary of grounds upon which the former parent’s rights were terminated;

e A statement of facts and evidence that shows the former parent is rehabilitated and has
the capacity and willingness to carry out the responsibilities and duties of a parent under
Tex. Fam. Code § 151.001. Examples of such evidence include:

mental health treatment,

substance abuse treatment,

O O O

employment history, or

o other personal history demonstrating rehabilitation.
e A summary of prior requests or motions for reinstatement;

e A statement by the former parent seeking reinstatement;

e Ifthe child is older than 12, a statement of the child’s intent or willingness to consent to
reinstatement.
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Notice

Notice of the petition must be served on:

The child or child’s representative;
The county attorney;
The child’s attorney ad litem;

DFPS or SSCC, if applicable (if the petitioner is the parent, they must provide 45 days’
notice to DFPS of their intent to file and use a form created by the DFPS commissioner.
Download the Notice of Intent of Former Parent to Petition Court to Reinstate Parental
Rights form);

e The former parent whose parental rights are sought to be reinstated, if they are not the
petitioner; and

o The Tribal representative, if ICWA applies.

Hearing

STATUTE

Tex. Fam. Code § 161.303
TIMING

A hearing must be held no later than 60 days after the filing of the petition.
PURPOSE

For the court to take action regarding whether the parent’s rights should be reinstated.

STANDARD OF PROOF

The petitioner has the burden of proof. Tex. Fam. Code § 161.303((b). The standard of proof
required is preponderance of the evidence. Tex. Fam Code § 105.005.

REQUIRED FINDINGS.

For the court to reinstate the parent’s rights, the court must find that:

e Reinstatement of parental rights is in the child’s best interests;

e Atleast two years have passed since the issuance of the order terminating parental rights
and an appeal of the order is not pending;

e The child has not been adopted and is not the subject of an adoption placement agreement;

e If the child is over 12 years old, that the child consents and desires to reside with the
parent;

e The former parent has remedied the conditions that were grounds for rendering the order
terminating parental rights; and

e The former parent is willing and able to perform parental duties as provided by Tex.
Fam. Code § 151.001 including maintaining the health, safety, and welfare of the child.

If the child is less than 12 when the petition for reinstatement is filed, the court must consider
the child’s age, maturity, and ability to express a preference and may consider the child’s
preference regarding the reinstatement as one factor in the court’s determination.

COURT ACTION
Grant the petition


https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/application/Forms/showFile.aspx?NAME=K-906-3800.docx
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/application/Forms/showFile.aspx?NAME=K-906-3800.docx

If the court grants the petition after a hearing, the court must issue a written order stating that
all legal rights, powers, privileges, immunities, duties, and obligations of the former parent
with respect to the custody, care, control, and support of the child are reinstated.

Deny the petition

If the court denies the petition, it must make findings and detail reasons for the denial and
must issue a statement prohibiting the filing of a subsequent petition for a year from the order
of denial.

Defer taking action

The court may defer the decision on the petition and render a temporary order expiring after
a period of six months during which DFPS remains the managing conservator and the former
parent is the possessory conservator.

During the six-month time period, DFPS must monitor the possessory conservatorship of
the former parent and when the temporary order expires, the court shall hold a hearing to
determine whether to grant or deny the petition for reinstatement.

Benefits for Child After Reinstatement

Youth in DFPS conservatorship are eligible for certain benefits, such as a tuition and fee
waiver for attending state higher education institutions, an Education and Training Voucher
(ETV) to provide financial assistance while attending school, Medicaid eligibility, and waiver
of fees for state government identification.

Eligibility for the youth depends on a variety of factors including the youth’s age, legal
conservatorship, and how the youth exits DFPS conservatorship. If the parent’s rights are
reinstated, it may affect the availability of certain benefits for the youth.

TUITION AND FEE WAIVER

If the parent’s rights are reinstated, the child may still be eligible for the tuition and fee waiver
under the following circumstances:

e The child was in DFPS conservatorship on the day of the child’s 14th birthday, if they
were also eligible for adoption on or after that day; or

e The child is 14 years or older on or after June 1, 2016 and left PMC of DFPS to return to
the legal responsibility of a parent; or

e The child is 16 years or older on or after June 1, 2016 and left TMC of DFPS to return to
the legal responsibility of a parent; or

e The child enrolled in a dual credit course or other course in which a high-school student
may earn joint high school and college credit and was in DFPS conservatorship on the
day of enrollment; and

e The child enrolls in a public higher education institution or in a dual credit course before
their 25th birthday. Tex. Educ. Code § 54.366; 40 Tex. Admin. Code §700.1630.

Practice Tip: DFPS Preparation for Adult Living staff verify eligibility for the
tuition and fee waiver, even if the child did not participate in PAL services.
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EDUCATION AND TRAINING VOUCHER

The youth may still be eligible for ETV if the child was at least 16 and was likely to remain in
DFPS foster care until turning 18 before the reinstatement was filed.

OTHER BENEFITS

e After reinstatement, youth are unlikely to retain qualification for Medicaid for former
and transitioning foster youth.

e After reinstatement, youth will no longer be eligible for the waiver of driver’s license or
state identification fees.
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Using a Trauma-Informed Lens for Interacting with Clients

Interactions with the child welfare system can be traumatizing for children and parents. Both
children’s and parents’ attorneys may want to be familiar with techniques for interacting with
clients who have experienced trauma. As of September 1, 2021, Tex. Fam. Code § 107.004
requires attorneys to participate in trauma training to qualify for appointments as an attorney
ad litem of a child in a child welfare case. The training program must include trauma-informed
care and the effect of trauma on children in DFPS’ conservatorship. The following information is
modified content from the Trauma-Informed Legal Advocacy Project. Please see the Additional
Resources section in this tool kit for more information.

Legal Interviewing & Traumatic Triggers

CONSIDER THE PERSPECTIVE OF PARENTS AND CHILDREN WHO HAVE
EXPERIENCED TRAUMA

A person may feel distracted, anxious, and agitated and thus unable to meaningfully
participate in an interview or conversation or may actively prevent a productive conversation
from occurring. Trauma triggers are one factor that may explain why a child or parent client
1s having trouble connecting with others, including their own attorney. A trigger is something
that evokes a memory of past traumatizing events, including the feelings, sensations, or
memories associated with those experiences. Encountering triggers may cause someone to feel
uneasy, afraid, or withdrawn even without them being consciously aware of these reactions.
A trigger can make someone feel as if they are reliving a traumatic experience and can elicit
a fight, flight, or freeze response. Many things can be a possible trigger for someone who has
experienced trauma. A person might be triggered by a particular color of clothing, by the smell
of a certain food, by certain phrases or behaviors, by their surroundings, by an individual’s
gender, by authority figures, or by the time of year. Internal sensations, such as rapid heartbeat,
nausea, or tightened muscles can be triggers as well, or the person may feel nauseous or have
other physical reactions ranging from being combative to shutting down.

A trigger may be associated with the traumatic experience without their conscious awareness
and the client may not know why they are feeling or reacting a certain way. Children or adults
who are triggered by traumatic memories may also appear bored or uninterested, talk about
thingsin a flat or unemotional way, have a blank stare and spacey look, or appear to be shut down
or checked out. They may ramble, avoid conversation, or deflect with humor. Their answers to
questions may be slow and incomplete. Additionally, many families and communities involved
with DFPS have been deeply affected by negative experiences with legal and administrative
systems, such as criminal justice, immigration, and education systems. For these reasons, a
client may distrust the child welfare system and anyone they associate with it.

WAYS TO PREVENT A CLIENT FROM FEELING TRIGGERED
Offer Options in the Physical Space

Offer choices of where to meet; which chair they can use; and whether a nearby door is closed,
open, or slightly ajar. Consider whether slight adjustments can be made to accommodate
multiple seating options. For example:

“Which chair would be most comfortable for you?”

“Would you prefer the door closed or slightly open?”

“Is this room ok, or would you prefer to talk in another room or maybe outside?

“Do you feel safe in this space? If not, what would make you feel safe and comfortable?”

“Do you feel safe with a male/female attorney?” “Would you feel safer with an attorney
of a different gender?”

At the same time, be aware that sometimes options can be overwhelming to someone who is
not accustomed to being given many choices. Be flexible and follow your client’s preferences.
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Encourage Self-Regulation

Experiencing trauma can disrupt a person’s ability to manage emotions and calm themselves
when they are starting to feel upset. Self-regulation may include listening to music, going for
a walk, playing with a dog or cat, or simply taking a break. In the context of a legal meeting,
options are more limited, but some strategies that may help a client self-regulate include
doodling or coloring, fidgeting with toys or other objects, offering food or snacks, looking at
calming pictures, and drinking water. If you make it clear to your client that their physical,
mental, and emotional safety comes first, it can help you accomplish the goals of the meeting.

Explain Things in Advance

For people who have experienced trauma, it can be helpful to know in advance what is going to
happen, who is going to be involved, and the scope of their participation. This includes telling
someone how much time their attorney has available to meet with them, which can also help
build trust. It can also be helpful to tell someone the types of matters that will be discussed
during the meeting. For example:

“We have about a half an hour to talk today. I'd like to hear you talk about what
happened when DFPS came to your home. Is that ok with you?”

“I’'m going to ask you some questions, and you can ask me questions at any time. Then
we’ll go over some of the paperwork DFPS gave you and I'll explain what it means. It
should take about an hour, but we can take a break whenever you need to.”

Offer Breaks

Taking breaks throughout a meeting can help the client stay present and engaged as well as
feel physically and emotionally safe.

Be Thoughtful About Note-Taking

Ask permission to take notes, specify what you're transcribing, and summarize the notes for
your client at the end of the meeting. This can help keep build trust and rapport with your
client. Also, do not allow your note taking to detract from being present with someone.

WHAT CAN HELP IF A CLIENT APPEARS TRIGGERED?
Notice and Validate their Feelings

Noticing and validating a client’s feelings can help them to become aware of what is happening
with them emotionally if they are not already aware. It also lets the client know their attorney
cares about their emotional safety. This matters in part because these actions contradict what
happens in many traumatic incidents, where a person’s feelings of anxiety and fear are often
ignored and dismissed, or where showing these feelings may be met with increased violence.
Noticing and validating the client’s feelings includes allowing the client to move through their
feelings at their own pace. For example:

“That sounds really scary.”
“I can only imagine how hurtful that felt.”
“That sounds overwhelming for anyone to deal with.”
It’s important to be sincere but to remain within boundaries. Clients can detect when empathy

seems empty or fake, but over empathizing with your client’s feelings (“I experienced something
exactly like that”) risks making the conversation about you and not them.



Ask What Would Help

When making suggestions, offer several options whenever possible, rather than just asking
“yes or no” questions. Asking someone how to help them when they seem triggered also reflects
the relationship as a partnership of equal respect. For example:

“Let me know if I can get you a glass of water, or we can just sit together for a moment.”

“Would it help to have a moment to yourself or visit with your friend in the waiting
room, or maybe something else?”

Use Open Body Language

If the client is very upset and agitated, it can be helpful for the attorney to use open body
language so that the client knows that their attorney does not pose a threat. This includes
keeping shoulders relaxed, keeping body posture and hands open and relaxed, and avoiding
blocking the client from being able to exit or walk away.

Help the Client to Get Grounded in the Present

If a client seems anxious or uncomfortable, it may be because they feel they are unsafe in the
current environment. There are tools to help a client feel safe and grounded in the present.
Some examples include helping the client notice their breath, their physical presence, or
physical things in the environment. For example:

“You know we can sit here on this bench for as long as we need to. We are okay right
now, you and me. We can just take our time, no one is going to bother us here.”

“Is it hard for you to focus on these questions? When that happens, some people say it
helps them to just take a minute to notice themselves breathing in and out.”

BUILDING TRUST AND UNDERSTANDING THE IMPACT OF TRAUMA

What is Happening from the Perspective of Parents and Children
Involved with the Child Welfare System?

There are many reasons why someone might not share information, some of which may be
related to experiencing trauma. Experiencing abuse, especially by a trusted person, can
make it difficult to trust people in the future. Of course, someone’s hesitations about sharing
information may also reflect an awareness of real danger that the information shared will be
held against them in court. Another reason that someone may not share information right
away is that they do not remember the information, or they can’t recall it in the way that it is
being asked for.

Survivors of trauma do not always remember their experiences in chronological order or may
have blocked out the memory entirely as a coping mechanism. On the other hand, survivors
of trauma may remember events, but they may ascribe different meaning to the events than
are reflected in legal definitions of abuse. Often, when someone experiences a traumatic event,
the person may seem distant or they might dissociate, which means there is a change in their
consciousness which disturbs the normally connected functions of identity, memory, thoughts,
feelings, and experiences. Their understanding of what is happening and their experience of
what is happening become disconnected. This is a protective coping mechanism that can keep
someone emotionally safe during traumatic events, but it can affect the person’s ability to
recall those events, or other events that occur when the person experiences a traumatic trigger.

For a person who is agitated or disconnected because of a traumatic trigger, traumatic memory,
or simply by being in an environment that does not feel safe to them, building a connection and
developing trust are key to helping the person regulate their emotions and responses.
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What Might Help Create Trust with the Client?

e Sharing your mission statement explaining your personal reasons for choosing to
represent parents and children in DFPS cases.

e Being transparent with the client. For example,

o being transparent about limitations on time and resources.

“I'm really glad you called. I have about five minutes to talk right now. If we
need more time, we can schedule another call.”

o Dbeing transparent about the need for and use of information.

“Is there any reason why DFPS might say you were neglectful? The reason I'm
asking is so that we can prepare together for every possible thing that DFPS
might say, not because I don’t believe you.”

e Understanding fluctuations in the client’s level of trust in their attorney over time.

Keep in mind that sharing personal information, such as details about experiences of abuse,
canmake someone feel vulnerable, especially if they have not shared that information before.
Thus, in some cases, someone might share a lot about themselves in a meeting and then become
more guarded, withdraw from the relationship, or even stop responding to calls altogether. As
the relationship develops, the client may want to share more information, or they may even
change parts of their story.

What Might Help a Client with Memory Recall?

Reminding or emphasizing the confidentiality of the attorney-client relationship can help
establish a sense of safety. Use open-ended questions, if necessary, to gently facilitate more
detail. Lay out topics in broad terms. If the client is a parent, the best approach is to start by
letting the client tell their story from start to finish. If the client is a child, do not elicit details
of abuse or neglect from the child,since discussions about abuse or neglect should occur with a
trauma-informed mental health professional.

Preparing a Client for Court

Being involuntarily separated from a parent or child can be a traumatic experience. As the
client approaches the hearing date, they may experience anxiety, sleep deprivation, and
exhaustion. At court, parents may see the caseworker who made the decision to remove their
children, which may be a triggering event for them. Parents and children may be seeing each
other for the first time since removal. Encountering such reminders of trauma may cause the
client to feel uneasy, afraid, or terrified, and they may re-experience what they felt when they
were initially traumatized.

TOOLS FOR EMOTIONALLY PREPARING CLIENTS FOR COURT

e Offer a Tour of the Court Building Ahead of Time. Describe the logistical and spatial
details of attending court, including where parties will wait before court opens, where
they will take breaks, who will be in the courtroom, and the location of restrooms. There
1s a balance between giving someone enough information to help them know what to
expect and giving them too much information, which could potentially overwhelm them.
Let your client be the guide. If possible, take a tour of the courtroom itself.

e Identify Your Client’s Supporters. Encourage the client to bring someone appropriate
to court with them and explain local rules for courtroom decorum. If there is no family
member or friend who can attend, suggest they ask someone they know through a support
group, social activity, or church group to accompany them. If no one is available to attend
in person, friends or family can show that they are there in spirit by sending notes and
messages of support or trinkets that can be kept close. If a client has very limited support,
they may want to find a peer support group such as the DFPS Parent Collaborative.



If the client is seeing a therapist, it may help to have an appointment scheduled with the
therapist as soon as possible after the hearing.

Suggest Making a “Night Before” Plan. Not sleeping and not eating can have an
impact on our ability to manage our emotions, but when a client is anxious, they may
have a hard time doing both. Acknowledging to someone that this is often the case can
help them to decide how they want to prepare. If unable to address these issues the night
before, check in with the client prior to the hearing to see if they have had a meal and
help them locate food options in the courthouse.

Offer to Help Make a “What If ” Plan. Consider asking the client whether they think
anything about the court proceedings might be particularly difficult or triggering for
them and make a plan for how to respond. Encourage the client to practice self- calming
techniques prior to the day of court so that these become automatic and easier to access
when stress makes it hard to think. Always follow the lead of the client to see how much
they want to plan.

Make a Plan for Dealing with Stress at Court. It can help to ask the court for a
recess when the client feels they need one or when observing them experiencing a trauma
response. While on break, validate their feelings. Acknowledge that what’s happening
may be very upsetting and that they are doing a great job. Sometimes just silently being
with someone for a few minutes can help them to calm themselves and prepare to continue.

Avoiding Burnout and Practicing Self-Care

An attorney’s office may be the first place where a client can safely show frustration and anger.
This may cause attorneys to feel unappreciated or perceive the client as “demanding” and
“difficult.” Over time, attorneys may feel that working with challenging clients in this complex
area of law might be too difficult.

CHALLENGES OF DOING EMPATHIC WORK

Burnout includes exhaustion, cynicism, and ineffectiveness.

Secondary Trauma (sometimes called vicarious trauma) refers to the effects of working
empathically with and feeling responsibility toward people who have survived the trauma of
abuse, violation, and discrimination.

Consider whether working on these cases made it harder as an attorney to:

Feel positive about the work.

Feel competent.

Get things done and feel productive.
Stay positive.

Stay calm and manage emotions.
Feel safe.

Trust the client, or trust others.

SELF-CARE STRATEGIES

Keep in mind that this may be the first time the client felt safe enough to show emotion.
Set boundaries with clients.

Plan out specific times to work on challenging cases.

Keep positive thoughts in mind about the attorney’s role in the case.

Ask a co-worker or colleague to remind you about positive aspects of the work.
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Take time to reflect on personal feelings and responses, both in the context of individual
interactions and after big successes or losses.

Use calming or grounding techniques for yourself during phone calls (e.g., coloring, fidget
tools).

Use a checklist to remember when interacting with clients, such as not to take things
personally, etc.

Utilize additional support to help the client (e.g., connect them with a therapist or the
DFPS Parent Collaboration Groups).

Utilize available assistance such as the Texas Lawyers Assistance Program (TLAP).

o The program provides confidential help for law students, lawyers, and judges
who have challenges related to substance use and mental health issues. TLAP
can be reached online or by phone by dialing 1-800-343-TLAP or text TLAP to
555888.


https://www.tlaphelps.org/

Indian Child Welfare Act ICWA)

Purpose

The Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 (ICWA) is a federal law that imposes special standards
and requirements when a child welfare agency seeks to intervene to protect an “Indian child” as
defined by statute. The law was enacted to protect not only Indian children, but their families
and Tribes.

Statutes

Federal statutes governing ICWA are 25 U.S.C. §§1901-1963; 25 C.F.R. Part 23 Guidelines for
Implementing the Indian ChildWelfare Act (Bureau of Indian Affairs, 2016). Relevant state
statutes are Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.201(f), 263.202(f-1), 263.306(a-1)(3).

When Does ICWA Apply?

ICWA applies to any “child custody proceeding” involving an “Indian child,” if the court “knows
or has reason to know that an Indian child is involved.” 25 U.S.C. § 1912(a).

*Please note that a case challenging the constitutionality of multiple elements of ICWA, Brackeen
v. Haaland, is set for oral arguments before the Supreme Court of the United States in the
October Term 2022.

CHILD CUSTODY PROCEEDINGS

A suit seeking foster care placement, termination of parental rights, pre-adoptive, or an
adoptive placement is subject to ICWA. ICWA does not apply to most juvenile delinquency
actions. It also does not apply to custody actions in divorce or separation proceedings (unless
custody may be awarded to a non-parent), nor to Court Ordered Services cases under Tex.
Fam. Code § 264.203.

INDIAN CHILD
An “Indian child” is a child who is either:

e An unmarried person under age 18 who is either a member of an Indian Tribe; or
e Eligible for membership and the biological child of a member. 25 U.S.C. § 1903(4).

There are more than 500 federally recognized Tribes and children from any of these Tribes can
be found in Texas. There are also three federally recognized Tribes with tribal reservations in
Texas:

e Ysleta del Sur Pueblo, also known as the Tigua, in El Paso;

e Kickapoo Tribe of Texas, in Eagle Pass; and

e Alabama Coushatta Tribe of Texas, near Livingston.

A child residing on a reservation has specific legal protections 25 U.S.C. § 1911(a), and, in some
cases, DFPS and the Tribe have a written protocol for handling these cases.

While it is the responsibility of DFPS to notify any Tribe identified by the family in order to
confirm or deny a child’s status as an “Indian child” under ICWA, attorneys for parents and
children should inquire about the possibility of Native American heritage and inform the court
of any such information if it becomes known to them.

REASON TO KNOW AN INDIAN CHILD IS INVOLVED IN THE CASE

A court has reason to know a child is an Indian child if:

e Any party, Tribe, or agency informs the agency or court that the child is an Indian child;
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e Any participant, officer of the court or agency involved in the proceedings informs the
court it has discovered such information;

e The child gives the court reason to know he or she is an Indian child;
e The domicile or residence of the child, parent or Indian custodian is on a reservation;
e The court is informed the child is or has been a ward of a Tribal court; or

e The court is informed either parent or the child has a Tribal membership card. 25
C.F.R. § 23.107(c).

Texas courts are required to ask the parties whether the child or child’s family has Native
American heritage and to identify any Native American Tribe the child may be associated with
at the Adversary, Status, and Permanency Hearings. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 262.201(f), 263.202(f-
1), 263.306(a-1)(3).

If the court knows or has “reason to know” that an “Indian child” is the subject of a child welfare
suit, DFPS must give each parent and identified Tribe and any Indian custodian (caretaker)
notice of ICWA rights. 25 U.S.C. § 1912(a).

Practice Tip: In every case, attorneys for parents and children should confirm that
every parent, extended family member, and any child old enough has been asked
whether there is any Native American family heritage. The Court must also instruct
the parties to inform the court of any such information that arises later. 25 C.F.R. §
23.107(a).

What Changes if the Case is Identified as an ICWA Case?
INITIAL HEARING

A hearing must be held where DFPS must show by clear and convincing evidence, including
testimony of a qualified expert witness, that the parent’s continued custody “is likely to result in
serious emotional or physical damage to the child,” to warrant a foster care placement. 25 U.S.C.§
1912(e). This finding cannot be made until 10 days after notice of ICWA has been provided and
1s subject to a 20-day extension on request of a parent or Tribe. To avoid the need to continue
the hearing, the best practice is to set this hearing at least 30 days out. ICWA also requires that
DFPS make “active efforts” to reunify among other legal requirements.

Note: The hearing must occur no matter how far along in the case the confirmation is made that
the child is an “Indian child.”

PLEADINGS

If ICWA applies, DFPS should plead concurrently under the Family Code andICWA. In the
jurisdiction of the Houston 14th District Court of Appeals, however, pleadings should be
limited to the ICWA findings, without parallel Family Code pleadings. In re W.D.H., 43 S.W.3d
30 (Tex. App.—Houston 2001, pet. denied).

BURDEN OF PROOF

Foster Care Placement — Clear and Convincing Evidence

Including qualified expert witness (QEW) testimony that continued custody by the parent or
Indian custodian islikely to result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child and
active efforts to provideremedial and rehabilitative services to prevent the breakup of the
Indian family were made by DFPS and proved unsuccessful. 25 U.S.C. § 1912(d).



Termination of Parental Rights — Evidence Beyond a Reasonable Doubt

Including qualified expert testimony that continued custody by the parent or Indian custodian
islikely to result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child and active efforts to
provideremedial and rehabilitative services to prevent the breakup of the Indian family were
made by DFPS but proved unsuccessful. 25 U.S.C. § 1912(f).

PLACEMENT

ICWA mandates that placements for foster care and adoption be made according to statutory
preferences, unless good cause is shown to deviate from the preferences. 25 U.S.C. § 1915; 25
C.F.R. § 23.129-131.

The statutory preferences give priority as follows:

Foster Care or Pre-Adoptive Placement
e A member of the child’s extended family;
e A foster home licensed, approved, or specified by child’s Tribe;

e An Indian foster home licensed or approved by an authorized non-Indian licensing
authority; or

e An institution for children approved by the Tribe or operated by an Indian organization
which has a program suitable to meet the child’s needs. 25 U.S.C. § 1915(b); 25 C.F.R. §
23.131(b).

For an Adoptive Placement
e A member of the child’s extended family;
e Other members of the child’s Tribe; or
e Other Indian families. 25 U.S.C. § 1915(a); 25 C.F.R. § 23.130.

Departing from ICWA Preferences

The Tribe can by resolution alter the order of preferences. 25 U.S.C. § 1915(c). The Tribe’s
preference should then be followed as long as it is still the least restrictive setting appropriate
to the needs of the child.

A party seeking to depart from the placement preferences must show by clear and convincing
evidence, on the record or in writing, that there is “good cause” to depart from the placement
preferences.

MANDATORY TRANSFER TO TRIBAL COURT

A parent, an Indian custodian, or the child’s Tribe may petition the state court to transfer a
suit involving an Indian child to the Tribal court. Transfer to the Tribal court is mandatory,
unless the court makes a finding of good cause not to transfer, the Tribe declines transfer, or
either parent objects. 25 U.S.C. § 1911(b); 25 C.F.R. § 23.117.

The court cannot consider the following factors in assessing good cause:
e The advanced stage of the proceedings, if notice to the Tribe did not occur until an
advanced stage;
e Whether there was no petition to transfer in a prior proceeding involving the child;
o Whether transfer would affect the child’s placement;
e The child’s cultural connections with the Tribe or its reservation; or

e The socio-economic conditions of the Tribe, Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) social services,
or the judicial systems. 25 C.F.R. § 23.118(c).
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RIGHT TO INTERVENE

The Tribe and the Indian custodian have the right to intervene in the state court action at any
time in the proceedings. 25 U.S.C. § 1911(c). Intervention may be accomplished informally,
by oral statement, or formally. Most important, if an Indian child is involved, ICWA applies
whether or not the child’s Tribe intervenes.

Who is a Qualified Expert Witness (QEW)?

The statute does not define what constitutes a qualified expert under ICWA. The Regulations
require that an expert be qualified to testify as to whether the child’s continued custody by the
parent or custodian is “likely to result in serious emotional or physical damage,” and direct that
an expert should be qualified to testify as to the “prevailing social and cultural standards” of the
child’s Tribe. 25 C.F.R. § 23.122. The social worker assigned to the child’s case may not serve as
an expert (although a caseworker may testify otherwise, as to the parent’s compliance with the
service plan, visitation, and other issues).

Without question, the child’s Tribe is the best source for an expert. Understandably, many tribal
members do not want to take a position in a court proceeding adverse to a fellow tribal member
and with very small Tribes, the pool of potential experts is limited. Courts with capability
should allow participation by phone, video conferencing, or other methods. 25 C.F.R. § 23.133.

ICWA Finding is Essential

The best practice is to request in every child welfare case that the trial court make a finding on
the record as to whether ICWA applies. If the record is silent, a party may raise the issue on
appeal, and an appellate court may remand the case for purpose of making this finding. By far
the most significant impact of failing to identify an ICWA case is that if key ICWA provisions
are violated, a final order can be invalidated. The remedy for violation of key ICWA provisions
is a petition to invalidate. 25 U.S.C. § 1914. Similarly, if there is not sufficient information in
the record to assess whether ICWA applies, an appeal can be abated.



Interstate Placements (ICPC)

What is the ICPC?

If a child may be placed in another state, the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children
(ICPC) may require approval from that state. (See Tex. Fam. Code Ch. 162, Subchapter B.)
When the ICPC applies, child protective services in the receiving state provides an assessment
before a placement and monitoring after a placement. This is a multi-step administrative process
between the sending and receiving states and can take some time to complete.

When does the ICPC Apply?

Generally, ICPC applies to placements for adoption or foster care, and in group homes or
residential placement.

When does the ICPC not Apply?

e Birth parents placing with a non-custodial birth parent, or a relative as long as no court
has assumed jurisdiction of the child to be placed;

e Relatives placing with birth parents or another relative as long as no court has assumed
jurisdiction of the child to be placed;

e If a child is being placed in a hospital or school;
e Tribal Placements;

e Visits, as long as they meet the required criteria.

Practice Tip: The ICPC is not a fast process. Any attorney can request a court order
for an expedited ICPC in certain circumstances. Note that this expedites the process
on the Texas DFPS end, but it does not expedite the ICPC process in the receiving
state.

Visits Outside Texas
A visit is excluded from the ICPC under Regulation 9 of the ICPC Regulations if it is for brief
social or cultural experience; and

e The visit has a definite end date; and

e The visit is no longer than 30 days, or begins and ends within a school vacation; and

o There has been no request for a home study or supervision.

Expedited Requests for Placement with a Relative

An expedited order requires an approval or denial within 20 business days. A judge can
sign an order for an expedited placement under Regulation 7 of the ICPC Regulations if the
proposed placement is with a parent (subject to non-custodial parent policy below), stepparent,
grandparent, adult uncle or aunt, adult sibling, or legal guardian, and one of the following
criteria apply:

e The child was unexpectedly placed in foster care because the parent/guardian was
recently incarcerated; is unable to care for the child due to a medical, mental, or physical
condition; or is recently deceased;

e The child is four years of age or younger, and can include older siblings sought to be
placed with the same proposed placement;

e The court finds that the child or sibling has a substantial relationship with the
proposed placement; or

o The child is currently in an emergency placement.
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Placement with a Non-Custodial Parent

State courts throughout the nation have reached different conclusions on whether ICPC
procedures apply when courts place a child with an out of state biological parent. Texas courts
had followed the Association of Administers of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of
Children (AAICPC) Regulations that state ICPC procedures do apply to placement with parents
in certain circumstances However, in 2017, the Fourth Court of Appeals rejected outright
application of the ICPC to an out-of-state parent. In the Interest of C.R.-A.A., 521 S.W.3d 893
(Tex. App. — San Antonio, no pet.).

To address child safety in this circumstance, DFPS policy requires the caseworker to assess an
out-of-state parent without using the ICPC. CPS Handbook 4513.1. If the assessment reveals
no concerns, the court can place the child and dismiss the case as to that child without further
monitoring. If the assessment reveals concerns, DFPS must request a noticed hearing and
prove the parent’s unfitness in order to invoke the ICPC. CPS Handbook 4513.13.



Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS)

Statutes
8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)27)(J)
8 C.F.R. § 204.11

United States Customs and Immigration Service (USCIS) Policy Manual
What is Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS)?

Federal law permits eligible foster children to “self-petition” for a Special Immigrant Juvenile
visa, which is the first of a two-step process required to obtain permanent resident status (a
“oreen card”). 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(27)(J).

What Does a State Court Have to Do with a Foster Child’s
Immigration Status?

Federal law requires a predicate order from a family court (or other court with jurisdiction over
the custody and care of juveniles such as a DFPS proceeding) before a child can apply for SIJS.
The family court or DFPS court order must include three findings:

e That the child has been “declared a dependent of the court or has been placed by the court
under the custody of a state agency or an individual or entity appointed by the court;”

e That reunification of the child with one or both parents “is not viable as a result of abuse,
neglect or abandonment or a similar basis found under state law;” and

e That it is “not in the child’s best interest to be returned to the parent or child’s country of
origin or last habitual residence.”

USCIS policy now requires evidence of the factual basis for these statutory findings, in order
to demonstrate that the order is bona fide, and not requested primarily for the purpose of
immigration relief. For this reason, all SIJ orders should reference the facts underlying each
finding.

In addition, USCIS construes “lack of viable reunification” to mean “that the court intends its
finding that the child cannot reunify with their parent (or parents) remains in effect until the
child ages out of the juvenile court’s jurisdiction.” USCIS Policy Manual, Vol. 6, Part J., Ch. 2.
D.2.

If a child or youth has a SIJS order obtained before these policy changes, it may be necessary
to request an amended SIJS order.

Practice Tip: If a child or youth in foster care was not born in the U.S., the attorney
for the child or the child’s parent should check with the caseworker to find out if:

e Notice has been sent to the foreign consulate;

e Repatriation or placement in the home country is viable; or

e The child may need assistance to obtain immigration status or U.S. citizenship.
It i1s important to start the process as soon as possible due to the lengthy
timeline and the serious risks and limitations that impact an undocumented
youth or young adult.
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For more information, consult the DFPS Regional Attorney assigned to citizenship and
immigration issues. See Texas Practice Guide for CPS Attorneys, Section 13, Citizenship &
Immigration Issues, DFPS Staff List.



https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/Section-13.asp
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/Section-13.asp

School Stability Under Federal & State Law

School is often a source of stability as well as a place for academic and social development of
children and youth in foster care. If a child has been removed from their home or is changing
placements, consider the potential impact on the child’s education and what efforts can be
made to keep the child in the same school, if possible.

Statutes

Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act, 43 U.S.C. § 675 et seq.
EveryStudent Succeeds Act (ESSA) 20 U.S.C. § 6301 et seq. The Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act (IDEA) 20 U.S.C. § 1400 et seq.; 34 C.F.R. Part 300 Texas Education Code,

Texas Family Code.

Requirements for School Stability

A child’s initial placement into care and any subsequent placement changes must takeinto
account the appropriateness of the child’s educational setting and the proximity to the
school the child is enrolled in at the time of the placement or placement change. 42 U.S.C.
§ 675(1)(G)®).

DFPS must coordinate with school districts to ensure that the child remains in the same
school the child was attending at the time of the initial placement or any subsequent
move, unless it is not in the child’s best interests to remain in that school. 42 U.S.C. §
675(1)(G)a1) ), 20 U.S.C. § 6311(g)(1)(E)@G).

DFPS and the school district must collaborate to ensure that the child is transported to
the previous school, if necessary. 20 U.S.C. § 6312(c)(5)(B).

If remaining in the prior school is not in the child’s best interest, the child must be
immediately enrolled in a new school, even without records normally required for
enrollment. 42 U.S.C. § 675(1)(G)(1)(II), 20 U.S.C. § 6311 (g)(1)(E)(@1).

DFPS must ensure the child’s education records are provided to the new school within30
days. State law requires that the child’s school records are transferred to the new school
not later than the 10th working day after the date the student begins enrollmentat the new
school. Tex. Educ. Code §§ 25.002(g), 25.007(b)(1).

The child is entitled to attend public school in the district in which the foster parents
reside, free of any charge to the foster parents or the agency. A durational residence
requirement may not be used to prohibit a child from fully participating in any activity
sponsored by the school district, including extracurricular activities. Tex. Educ. Code §
25.001(f).

The child is also entitled to continue to attend the school he or she was enrolled in before
entering conservatorship, or at the time of a placement change, without paymentof tuition,
until he or she completes the highest grade offered at the school at the time ofplacement.
Thechildis entitled to continue to attend the school even if the child leavesconservatorship.
Tex. Educ. Code § 25.001(g)-(g-1).

Special Education Services

If a child with a disability who is eligible to receive special education services transfers to a
new school district during the school year, the new district must schedule an Admission,
Review, and Dismissal (ARD) meeting within 30 days and provide the child services
comparable to those described in the child’s Individual Educational Program (IEP) from
the previous district until the new district either adopts the child’s previousI EP or develops
a new 1EP, or, if the transfer is from another state, until the new district conducts an
evaluation (if it determines it is necessary) and develops a new IEP. 20 U.S.C. § 1414(d)
(2)(C)(@), Tex. Educ. Code § 25.007(9), 19 Tex. Admin. Code § 89.1050().
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If the child does not receive special education but a disability is suspected, the child must
be referred for a special education evaluation. An evaluation may be initiated by any
person involved in the education or care of the student. 20 U.S.C. § 1414(a)(1).

Children eligible to receive special education services must have a parent identified to make
related decisions. If a parent does not retain education decision-making rights, the child
is placed in a foster home, and the foster parent is willing and able, the fosterparent will
serve as parent for special education decision-making purposes. Otherwise, a surrogate
parent must be appointed by the school, and can be appointed by the court,to make special
education decisions on behalf of the child. Tex. Educ. Code §§ 29.015; 29.0151; Tex. Fam.
Code 263.0025.

Responsibilities of DFPS, the Court, and Other Parties

A child’s attorney ad litem and guardian ad litem are required to determine whether
the child’s educational needs and goals have been identified and addressed before each
scheduled Permanency Hearing. Tex. Fam. Code §§ 107.002(i), 107.004(d-2).

DFPS must designate an individual to make the day-to-day educational decisions for a
child in conservatorship, and must provide that individual’s name (as well as the name
of any surrogate parent appointed for the child for special education decision-making
purposes, if applicable) to the court and the child’s school within five days after the initial
Adversary Hearing, and must update the court in the next permanency progressreport if
there are any changes to the education decision-maker or surrogate parent. Tex. Fam.
Code § 263.004.

DFPS must notify the child’s attorney ad litem, CASA volunteer, caregiver, and education
decision-maker of any notification from the school regarding a significant school event
such as disciplinary action, referral to special education, or other event. Tex. Fam. Code
§ 264.018(a)(5)(D), Tex. Educ. Code § 25.007(b)(10).

The court is required at each Permanency Hearing to determine whether an education
decision-maker for the child has been identified, whether the child’s education needs and
goals have been identified and addressed, and whether there have been major changes
in the child’s school performance or any serious disciplinary events. Tex. Fam. Code §§
263.306(a-1)(5)(G), 263.5031((a)(4)(d).

If a caregiver desires to educate the child in a home setting, DFPS may ask the
court to make a finding that home-schooling is not in the best interests of a child in
conservatorship because it does not meet the child’s academic and social needs and goals.
Tex. Fam. Code § 263.0045.



Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA)

The SCRA provides certain protections for servicemembers involved in a civil action, including
a child custody proceeding, while the member is in the military or within 90 days after release
from the military.

Statute
50 U.S.C. §3901 et seq.

Missing Parent

If a parent has not appeared in a child custody suit, whether or not this is due to military
service, DFPS must file An Affidavit of Military Service (available in the Practice Guide for
CPSAttorneys, Section 13, Servicemembers Civil Relief Act). 50 U.S.C.S. § 3931(b)(1). The best
practice is to request a search of the military database before the Status Hearing, if any parent
has not been located.

The DFPS diligent search unit includes a search of the US Military Database and the certificate
of military service or non-service in the FINDRS Report provided to a requestor. Alternatively,
asearch can be performed on the U.S. military website. Note that a search requires a parent’s
date of birth, last name and first name or initial, and ideally, social security number.

A search of the military database will generally result in either a Certificate of Non-Service, or
a Certificate of Service. The Certificate should be attached to an Affidavit of Military Service,
provided to parties and counsel of record, and filed with the court.

Default Judgment

If a parent has not appeared in a child welfare suit, no default judgment can be taken unless:

e DFPS has filed an Affidavit of Military Service with a Certificate of Service or Non-
Service; and

e An attorney has been appointed for the parent. 50 U.S.C. § 3931(b)(2).

If the court determines there may be a defense which cannot be presented without the parent’s
presence or the attorney has been unable to contact the parent after exercising due diligence,
thecourt shall grant a stay for at least 90 days. 50 U.S.C. § 3931(d).

After Notice

If a parent in the military has notice of a child custody suit, the court on its own motion may
staythe suit, or on request of the servicemember, the court shall stay the action for at least 90
days, if there isproof that the military duty materially affects the servicemember’s ability to
appear, and the servicemember provides a letter stating a date when the servicemember will
be available; or, provides a letter from the service members commanding officer confirming
military duty prevents the servicemember’s appearance and leave is not authorized. 50 U.S.C.
§ 3932(Db).

Child Custody Protection

If a court renders a temporary custody order solely based on the deployment or anticipated
deployment of a servicemember parent, the court shall limit the order to the time justified by
the deployment. 50 U.S.C. § 3938(a). Moreover, a parent’s absence as a result of a deployment
may not be the sole factor in determining the best interest of child for purposes of a request for
apermanent custody. 50 U.S.C. § 3938(b). Similar protections are provided in state law. Tex.
Fam. Code § 156.006(c).
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Acronyms & Abbreviations

Acronym
AAL

ACF
ACA/ADA
ADHD
ADO
AG
AHT
AOP
APS
AR
ARD
BIA
BVS/VSU
CAC
CANS
CAPTA
CAS
CASA
CBC
CCEJ
CDIB
CFRC
CcOS
CPA
cPC
CPS
CPSHB
CPU
CRCG

Description
Attorney Ad Litem

Administration for Children and Families

Assistant County Attorney/Assistant District Attorney
Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder

Adoption Worker

Attorney General

Abusive Head Trauma, including Shaken Baby Syndrome

Acknowledgment of Paternity

Adult Protection Services

Alternative Response Worker/Unit

Admission Review and Dismissal

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Bureau of Vital Statistics/Vital Statistics Unit
Child Advocacy Center

Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths Assessment
Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act
Child Advocacy Specialist

Court-Appointed Special Advocate
Community-Based Care

Court of Continuing and Exclusive Jurisdiction
Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood

Child Fatality Review Committee

Circle of Support or Court-Ordered Services
Child Placing Agency

Child Protection Court

Child Protective Services

Child Protective Services Handbook

Child Placement Unit

Community Resource Coordination Group
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Acronym
CRP

CcvS
CWB
DADS
DEIC
DFPS
DIF
DNR
DSHS
DSM
ED
EPO
ETV

FA

FAS/
FASD

FBSS

FGC/
FGDM

FP
FTM
FSNA
FTT
GAL
HHS
HHSC
HSEGH
ICAMA
ICARA
ICPC

Description

Community Reintegration Project

Conservatorship Worker/Unit

Child Welfare Board

Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services
Designated Emergency Infant Care (Baby Moses Locations)
Department of Family and Protective Services

Desarollo Integral de Ia Familia (Mexico’s Child Welfare Agency)
Do Not Resuscitate Order

Texas Department of State Health Services

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Emotional Disturbance

Emergency Protective Order

Education and Training Voucher

Father

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome or Fetal Alcohol Stress Disorder
Family-Based Safety Services

Family Group Conference or Family Group Decision Making

Foster Parents

Family Team Meeting

Family Strengths and Needs Assessment

Failure to Thrive

Guardian ad Litem

Health and Human Services

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Health, Social, Educational and Genetic History
Interstate Compact on Adoption & Medical Assistance
International Child Abduction Remedies Act

Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children



Acronym
ICWA

IDEA
IDD
IEP
INV
ISP
JMC
JPO
LD
LOC
loP
MEPA
MGF
MGM
MO
MSO
MSP
MTP
NCIC
NOS
NSUP
OAG
PAL
PC
PGF
PGM
PHAB
PKPA
PMC

Description
Indian Child Welfare Act

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
Intellectual and Developmental Disability
Individualized Education Plan
Investigation Worker/Unit
Individualized Service Plan

Joint Managing Conservatorship
Juvenile Probation Officer

Learning Disabled

Level of Care

Intensive Outpatient

Multi-Ethnic Placement Act
Maternal Grandfather

Maternal Grandmother

Mother

Mediated Settlement Agreement
Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy
Motion to Participate

National Crime Identification Center
Not Otherwise Specified

Neglectful Supervision

Office of the Attorney General
Preparation For Adult Living
Permanency Conference

Paternal Grandfather

Paternal Grandmother

Physical Abuse

Paternal Kidnapping Prevention Act

Permanent Managing Conservatorship
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Common Terms
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Acronym

PO
R/O
RAD
RAPR
RSDI
RTB
RTC
SANE
SAPCR
SBS
SIDS
SIJS
SSI/SSDI
SWI
SXAB
TAC
TANF
Title IV-E
T™C
TPR
TPR
UCCJEA
urc
UTD
YFT

Description

Parole Officer or Protective Order

Ruled Out

Reactive Attachment Disorder

Refusal to Assume Parental Responsibility
Retirement, Survivors, and Disability Insurance
Reason To Believe

Residential Treatment Center

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner

Suit Affecting the Parent-Child Relationship
Shaken Baby Syndrome

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome

Special Immigrant Juvenile Status

Supplemental Security Income/Supplemental Security Disability Income

Statewide Intake

Sexual Abuse

Texas Administrative Code

Temporary Aid for Needy Families
Title IC-E of the Social Security Act
Temporary Managing Conservatorship
Treatment Plan Review

Termination of Parental Rights

Uniform Child Custory Jurisdiction Enforcement Act

Unable to Complete
Unable to Determine

Youth For Tomorrow



Additional Resources

All links in this section were last visited in March 2022.

Adoption
e Texas Adoption Resource Exchange (TARE)

Appeals

Texas Courts of Appeal

The Supreme Court of Texas

Child Abuse Prevention & Advocacy

American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children
Children’s Defense Fund

DFEPS Prevention and Early Intervention

First Three Years

National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect website
Texas Council of Child Welfare Boards

Children’s Commission

Sam and the Search For Spots- How Your Lawyer Can Help You

Supreme Court of Texas Permanent Judicial Commission for Children, Youth and
Families (Children’s Commission)

o Website
o Email: children@txcourts.gov

Texas Child Protection Law Bench Book is available on the Children’s Commission Bench
Book webpage in the following formats:

o Printable Version

o Online and Interactive

o Available by downloading the mobile application, LawBox:
*  Open the LawBox app
*  Select “The Texas Children’s Commission”

+  Enter “children” for both username and password; additional instructions are
available.

What Does an Attorney for a Child in a CPS Case Do?
What Does a Parent’s Attorney Do?

Child Support

Office of Attorney General

Child Welfare Legal Advocacy

American Bar Association Center on Children and the Law

American Bar Association Child Law Practice Today

National Association of Counsel for Children
State Bar of Texas Child Protection Law Section
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https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Application/TARE/Home.aspx/Default
https://www.txcourts.gov/about-texas-courts/courts-of-appeals.aspx
http://www.txcourts.gov/supreme/
https://www.apsac.org/
https://www.childrensdefense.org/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/prevention_and_early_intervention/about_prevention_and_early_intervention/programs.asp
https://first3yearstx.org/
https://www.ndacan.acf.hhs.gov/
https://www.ndacan.acf.hhs.gov/
http://www.tccwb.org/about-us/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/
mailto:children%40txcourts.gov?subject=
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/for-judges/bench-book/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/for-judges/bench-book/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/84615/lrs-childrens-atty-trifold.pdf
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/84216/what-does-a-parents-attorney-do-trifold.pdf
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support
http://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/
https://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_interest/child_law/resources/child_law_practiceonline/
http://www.naccchildlaw.org/default.aspx
https://childprotectionlawtx.com/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/our-work/legal-practice-process/legal-representation-committee/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/for-judges/bench-book/
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o Texas Lawyers for Children

Court-Appointed Special Advocates

e National CASA
o Texas CASA

Department of Family and Protective Services

o Texas DFPS

e Texas Practice Guide for DFPS Attorneys; For assistance in subject matter areas, see the
DFPS Attorneys’ expertise list found in Section 14.

Disability - Advocates & Information
e Disability Rights Texas
Domestic Violence
e Texas Council on Family Violence
Dual Status Youth
e Children’s Commission Dual Status Task Force Final Report
Education

o Texas Education Agency Foster Care and Student Success

o Resource Guide

o Texas Education for Homeless Children and Youth

Family Helpline
o Texas Legal Services Family Helpline
Federal Child Welfare Policy

e Administration for Children and Families Children’s Bureau

Foster Care Ombudsman

e Website
o Phone: (844) 286-0769

Hotlines

e National Domestic Violence Hotline:
o Website
o Call: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233)
o Text “START” to 88788
e Texas Dept. of Family & Protective Services Abuse & Neglect:

o Website
o Phone: 1-800-252-5400


https://www.texaslawyersforchildren.org/
https://nationalcasagal.org/
https://texascasa.org/
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Attorneys_Guide/default.asp
https://www.disabilityrightstx.org/en/home/
https://tcfv.org/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/our-work/systems-improvement/dual-status-task-force/
https://tea.texas.gov/academics/special-student-populations/foster-care-and-student-success
https://tea.texas.gov/sites/default/files/2022-fcss-resource-guide.pdf
https://tea.texas.gov/texas-schools/support-for-at-risk-schools-and-students/texas-education-for-homeless-children-and-youth-tehcy-program
https://www.tlsc.org/family
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/your-rights/office-ombudsman/hhs-ombudsman-foster-care-help
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/about/your-rights/office-ombudsman/hhs-ombudsman-foster-care-help
https://www.thehotline.org/
https://www.thehotline.org/
https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx
https://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx

Texas Youth Helpline

o Website
o Phone: 1-800-989-6884 (call or text)

Human Trafficking

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children
Office of the Attorney General
Office of the Governor

Texas Dept. of Family & Protective Services

Immigration & Citizenship

Department of Homeland Security - All immigration and border related issues formerly
the responsibility of the INS are now under the authority of the Department of Homeland
Security (DHS). Please see links to the following three relevant divisions:

o U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (CIS) - immigrant services and benefits

o U.S. Immigration and Custom Enforcement (ICE) - domestic investigative and
enforcement

o U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) - border enforcement

Human Rights Initiative of North Texas

Immigrant Legal Resource Center - Special Immigrant Juvenile Status and general
immigration resources

Incarcerated Parents

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Indian Child Welfare Act

e Bureau of Indian Affairs
e National Congress of American Indians
e National Indian Child Welfare Association (NICWA)
e Texas Child Protection Law Bench Book: Indian Child Welfare Act ICWA)
e 2021 Texas ICWA Summit
International
e Consular Notification and Access - Guidance and contact information for foreign consuls.
Select International Travel; select A-Z Index, select Consular Notification & Access
e Desarrollo Integral de la Familia (“DIF”) - Social Services counter part to DFPS in Mexico
e Hague Adoption Convention
e Hague Convention on Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction
e Hague Conference on Private International Law
e International Social Service - Resource for international home studies
e U.S. Department of State International Judicial Assistance - Country specific information

regarding service of process and related issues; select Law & Policy, then Information for
Americans Abroad, then Judicial Assistance, then choose country specific information:
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http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Youth-Helpline/default.asp
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Youth-Helpline/default.asp
https://www.missingkids.org/
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/initiatives/human-trafficking
https://gov.texas.gov/organization/cjd/childsextrafficking
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Investigations/Human_Trafficking/default.asp
https://www.uscis.gov/
https://www.ice.gov/
https://www.cbp.gov/
https://hrionline.org/
https://www.ilrc.org/
https://aspe.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/private/pdf/258536/ParentalIncarcerationChildrenNonparentalCare.pdf.pdf
https://www.bia.gov/
http://www.ncai.org/
https://www.nicwa.org/
http://benchbook.texaschildrenscommission.gov/library_item/gov.texaschildrenscommission.benchbook/158
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/project-2021-icwa-summit/
https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/consularnotification.html
https://www.dif.cdmx.gob.mx/
https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/Intercountry-Adoption/Adoption-Process/understanding-the-hague-convention.html
https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/specialised-sections/child-abduction
https://www.hcch.net/en/home
https://iss-usa.org/
https://travel.state.gov/content/%20travel/en/legal/travel-legal-considerations/internl-judicial-asst.html
https://www.dhs.gov/
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Interstate Compact on Placement of Children (ICPC)

e Association of Administrators of the ICPC:

o Website
o Phone: (202) 682-0100

Legislation

o Texas Legislature Online
Mediation

e Children’s Commission Mediation in Child Protective Services Round Table Report
Medical Research

e American Academy of Pediatrics
e PubMed Central - A free digital archive provided by the U.S. National Institute of Health

Mental Health
e National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)

o Texas Judicial Commission on Mental Health

Older Youth

o Texas Foster Youth Justice Project

e Texas Network of Youth Services

e Texas Youth Connection

Parent Support

e Children’s Commission Parent Resource Guide
e DFPS Parent Collaboration Groups
e Texas Permanency Outcomes Project

Paternity

o Office of Attorney General of Texas - FAQs on establishing paternity

e Texas Dept. of State Health Services Vital Statistics Unit - FAQs about paternity and
parentage

Sealing Juvenile Records

e Juvenile and Children’s Advocacy Project (JCAP) - At the University of Houston Law
Center:

o Website
o Phone: (713) 743-1132

o Email: info@jcaptexas.org

Shaken Baby Syndrome

e National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Strokes - Abusive Head Trauma Shaken
Baby Syndrome



https://www.aphsa.org/AAICPC/default.aspx
https://www.aphsa.org/AAICPC/default.aspx
https://www.legis.state.tx.us/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/84713/mediation-in-child-protection-cases-round-table-report.pdf
https://www.aap.org/en-us/Pages/Default.aspx
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/
https://www.nami.org/Home
http://texasjcmh.gov/
http://texasfosteryouth.org/
http://tnoys.org/
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/txyouth/
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/media/1155/final-online-pdf.pdf
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/Family_Support/PCG/PCG.asp
https://txicfw.socialwork.utexas.edu/research/project/texas-permanency-outcomes-project-txpop/
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-support/paternity
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/vs/%20
https://www.jcaptexas.org
https://www.jcaptexas.org/
mailto:info%40jcaptexas.org?subject=
https://www.ninds.nih.gov/

Sexual Violence

National Sexual Violence Resource Center

Substance Abuse

National Alliance for Drug Endangered Children
National Center for Substance Abuse and Child Welfare

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Texas HHSC Outreach, Screening , Assessment & Referral Facilities

Trauma Informed Information

American Bar Association Research on Separation and Removal

Judicial Trauma Institute

Statewide Collaborative on Trauma-Informed Care

Trauma Informed Legal Advocacy Project
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https://www.nsvrc.org/
https://www.nationaldec.org/
https://ncsacw.samhsa.gov/
https://www.samhsa.gov/
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/services/mental-health-substance-use/mental-health-substance-use-resources/outreach-screening-assessment-referral
https://www.americanbar.org/content/dam/aba/publications/litigation_committees/childrights/child-separation-memo/scientific-research-on-the-effects-of-removal-from-parents-generally.pdf
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/judicial-trauma-institute
http://texaschildrenscommission.gov/our-work/systems-improvement/sctic/
http://www.nationalcenterdvtraumamh.org/%20trainingta/trauma-informed-legal-advocacy-tila-%20project/







®. Children’s
)c Commission

SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS PERMANENT JUDICIAL
COMMISSION FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND FAMILIES

texaschildrenscommission.gov



	Contents
	Legal Essentials
	Overview: Child Welfare Case Flow Chart
	Duties of Parents' & Children's Attorneys
	Burden of Proof
	Best Interest of the Child
	Pleading Practice
	Motion Practice
	Termination Grounds
	Discovery
	Evidentiary Issues

	Alternatives to Removal
	Investigations & Alternatives to Removal
	Court-Ordered Services

	Statutory Hearings
	Hearings at a Glance
	Judicial Hearing Check Lists
	Adversary Hearing Checklist
	Status Hearing Checklist
	Permanency Hearing Before Final Order Checklist
	Final Hearing Checklist for Non-Jury Trial
	Permanency Hearing After Final Order Checklist

	Ex Parte Hearings
	Adversary Hearings
	Status Hearing
	Permanency Hearing Before Final Order
	Dismissal Date Issues
	Transition or Monitored Return Chart
	Final Hearing
	Permanency Hearing After Final Order

	Concurrent Issues
	Reasonable Efforts
	Placement
	Visitation
	Medical Abuse and Neglect Allegations

	Children's Attorney Issues
	Child Well-Being
	Interviewing the Child Client
	Normalcy
	Children Without Placement
	Children with Disabilities
	Dual Status Youth
	Psychotropic Medication Parameters for Children
	Older Youth in Foster Care
	Child Turns 18 While in PMC or TMC Chart

	Parents' Attorney Issues
	Paternity
	Child Support & Kinship Support
	Inability to Care & Parents with Disabilities
	Incarcerated Parents
	Parents with an Open Criminal Case
	Reinstatement of Parental Rights

	Trauma-Informed Advocacy
	Using a Trauma-Informed Lens for Interacting with Clients

	Federal Law
	Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA)
	Interstate Placements (ICPC)
	Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS)
	School Stability Under Federal & State Law
	Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA)

	Acronyms & Abbreviations
	Additional Resources



